We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Santi-Bungalows By The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Santi-Bungalows By The Beach to your Saves list
Bali Santi-Bungalows By The Beach
Jl. Raya Candidasa, Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali ., Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Candidasa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Room was quite clean. Though didn't like very much the smell of the bathroom and ants in there. Pool was great, beach was quite dirty sometimes. Breakfast was good (toast, eggs, fruitplate, coffee or tea) and restaurants clubsandwitch was awesome :) We used hotel driver couple of times and it went okay, but when we left to airport he asked us 100 000 idr more than we have agreed before. Overall the hotel is little dated but okay what u pay for.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is maybe the best in whole hotel. It's near the beach, pool and restaurant..There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
29
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wollongong
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Travelled to Candidasa with hubby and a group of family for 2 nights on 6 & 7 Oct 2012.
After reviewing many Candidasa properties we settled on Bali Santi, mainly because we needed 5 rooms and most of the other hotels couldn't accommodate us and the few reviews we found on the internet looked ok. We weren't quite sure what to expect, but boy were we pleasantly surprised!
At just $50 per night we were in for a treat. We all had Deluxe bungalows which have been refurbished and the standard is very high. The outdoor bathrooms were a lovely touch. We had a good sized fish pond in our bathroom which was pretty cool, until we noticed a bit of a bad smell only to discover a dead fish floating in the pond. This was rectified quickly, with the removal of the fish, and cleaning staff cleaned the pond so it wasn't a problem. Again, part of the fun of the experience.
Rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day, were roomy with comfy beds and nice modern Balinese decor. We each had a balcony with chairs/table but didn't really use them as the ocean front infinity pool and open air restaurant was so inviting. We spent most of our time lazing around the lovely infinity pool overlooking the ocean.
The staff were so friendly and willing to please, although English was fairly limited. There is an adjoining section of the resort next door to the new bungalows, however most of the bungalows in that section are still quite old and it looks like they're getting ready to refurb them. Make sure when you book that you ask for one of the new bungalows. In saying that, my sister and her husband spent a night in the Ocean Front villa in the adjoining section which was amazing (I think it's called the Courtney Love honeymoon suite) with a private plunge pool and lots of extra space. This was obviously one of the new villas in the old section. Sis and hubby renewed their wedding vows by the infinity pool and it was such a lovely setting with nobody else around. Staff were more than willing to take group pics after our informal ceremony (which we didn't give them advance notice about). They were also quick to accommodate our group orders of cocktails and beers for our celebration.
We ate lunch at the hotel restaurant on our first day, food was fine and some interpretation required with the menu, but that is half of the fun. Breakfast was included in room price and was adequate. You could order eggs, toast & juice with one very small slice of bacon. extra slices available at = 10cents per slice (we had a giggle about that). It was basic but good. I'm sure they weren't prepared for 10 of us to rock on up for breakfast at around the same time. This meant we had to wait a bit as the lovely local lady cooked each breakfast as it was ordered, but you couldn't want for a better view to wait for brekky. This didn't bother us as we were there to relax.
Cocktails at the restaurant bar were good and reasonably priced at AU$6 each. Bintang was approx AU$2 each. While the staff speak limited English they were very thorough with charging drinks to the room accounts and very honest, trusting and accommodating.
The Bali Santi is obviously in the process of upgrading the resort, they were doing a lot of work upgrading the reception area and on a new computer reservation system. They seem to be striving to offer upgraded service whilst maintaining the authenticity of the resort. I think it's important that guests are appreciative of this and of their culture as Candidasa isn't a huge touristy type destination (yet). It's really quite lovely and somewhat untouched, there seems to be a small close knit community of ex-pats from Oz and Europe but we didn't come across a lot of tourists.
We ate out at local restaurants on both nights. The food was good, however they seemed to struggle with large orders and were short on a lot of spirits when they had large orders of cocktails. Again, this is part of the fun of being in such a lovely location and we were all happy to be flexible, in fact we were just happy to be there.
I recommend having an outdoor massage in the resort, overlooking the ocean. AU$8 for 1 hour, a bargain and so relaxing.
A couple of us went snorkeling in the ocean in front of the resort but there wasn't much to see, even so it was pleasant to swim in the warm, unpolluted water.
I highly recommend Bali Santi Bungalows. My only regret is that we didn't stay an extra couple of nights. Candidasa was the highlight of my trip and I will visit again and stay at Bali Santi.
A big thanks to the staff at Bali Santi for providing us with a truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new bungalows near the pool with outdoor bathroom, great view and you can hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was surely a little gem of a resort. the bungalows were lovely all new and bathrooms great some indoor some outdoor, the pool was beautiful not big but the view was to die for. If you want to relax then I would highly recommend the Bali Santi. Ten of us stayed there and all said they would return. Breakfast basic but enough. staff lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

How lovely is this place?! The staff are super friendly, the rooms are cleaned and mopped everyday and the pool/restaurant are in such a lovely location. We payed 36AUD and stayed in the standard room (number 1) and had the pool on our doorstep. However the slight problem with our room was the noisy ocean outside. Therefore to avoid that just book a room slightly away from the sea. Breakfast was good and satisfying. We didn't eat in the restaurant other than then because the restaurants in town tempted us too much (Vincents, la Rouge etc). The television also didn't work but that wasn't a problem for us. We met some friends who stayed in the beach villa cost them around 80 AUD a night and their room was awesome and had a private pool. I would highly recommend this hotel as it comes with an ocean breeze and with rooms that look beautiful and lovely staff who wouldn't want to come here?

Room Tip: If you want a good night sleep, choose one of the deluxe rooms closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

After staying here on and off for the last month it feels like coming home every time :)
The staff are beautiful, always happy and talkative.. treating us like family. Breakfast is good, the area is nice and quiet.. we caught a giant trevally the other day & the staff gutted it and cooked it up for us.. I never want to leave! :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

we had a lovely time here, it is very quiet and is for just relaxing at the pool.

the restaurants that are in this area are quite a walk, but they will give you transport.

and the cost of food is more than kuta or sanua.

Room Tip: two bungalows over look the ocean and pool, these have wonderful views on their little veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I booked this Bungalows from hostelbookers. at $17/night. and when I check with this hotel for booking confirmation. they increased the price to $50/night. almost 200% up.. I don't want to make this an unhappy experience. agree to give $30/night to give their 80% price increase. they still do not agree! they treat contract as just a kidding. never serious about business. Please pay much attention to it!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Santi-Bungalows By The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Santi-Bungalows By The Beach

Address: Jl. Raya Candidasa, Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali ., Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bali Santi-Bungalows By The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Santi-Bungalows By The Beach Candidasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Santi-Bungalows By The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.