We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort Hotel in Goa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Arossim Beach | South Goa, Cansaulim 403712, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cansaulim
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Resort Hotel in Goa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Stayed at the property for 3 nights. Repeat visit as I fell in love with the property the first time.
Secluded location, expansive property and as exclusive a beach you can get in Goa.
Outstanding service, staff always attentive to needs and went above and beyond frequently to help.
The Italian and Goan restaurants were a gastronomic delight. Plenty of activities to ensure you are not bored. Three gigantic pools with water slides for children.
Beautiful canals dot the expansive property. ... some of the canals had stale water producing an odour...when the front desk was contacted, they treated it right away.
Dr Pramod and team from the spa were fabulous. Spa has probably the most comprehensive array of Indian treatments.
Negative - very far from the North of Goa where most of the action is located.

  • Liked — Ambience, decor, activities and outstanding service
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    448
    119
    50
    52
See reviews for
522
534
49
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of November after a few nights in the North.

The hotel itself is beautiful, with great surroundings and a fantastic pool which is separated into 3 sections each accessible via small slides which proved popular with both the children and the adults!

The rooms were great, fully stocked mini bar, large verandah and nice bathroom with sunken bath, indoor rain shower and an outdoor shower. Each day the rooms were serviced followed by a turn down service in the evening. Bottled water is left in your room each day and there was never a shortage, in fact we asked for an extra bottle and was left with a full box of 24! needless to say we didn't need to ask for anymore for the duration of our stay!

The downsides to this hotel has to be the Service/Management. We did have a few issues that had they been a one off ok we could have lived with but when theres something every day it gets a bit tiresome.

We were given the wine menu on the first evening, which were very over priced even for a 5*! never the less we ordered one only to be told, sorry we don't have this one. Ok fair enough re-select, no sorry we don't have that one either, then again and again and again. So 5 choices later we got fed up of been told its not available and advised the waiter we would go for a meal elsewhere. Amazingly after advising we would eat elsewhere the 1st bottle of wine we ordered appeared courtesy of a manager! Im guessing they just want you to buy the most expensive bottle and tell you the 'cheap' £55 bottles aren't available.

Next morning 4 out of the 6 juices weren't available at breakfast including the fresh orange juice and apple juice (which amazed me because they were quite happy to stock your mini bar daily with this) lunchtime they served cold food from the pool bar, we sent ours back. They also ran out of coke and served us diet coke, but we actually asked for a sprite. Amazes me once again that a 5* hotel can run out of coke yet your mini bar is replenished with this again daily.

I agree with previously comments about checking your bill, we did find extra soft drinks added that we hadn't had.

My final grumble has to be the taxi service, again agreeing with previous comments. What a rip off. On arrival we was advised that due to increased security the hotel had to ring if you wanted a taxi, you couldn't just go out and get one yourself. Joke. So the first day we ordered a taxi through the hotel - they didn't ring for one they walked out and called a driver over (would have been happy to do that myself had I had known) to do that they added about 500-1000 rupees onto the fare if not more (depending how long you was out for) My advise is walk the 2second walk out of the gate and book your own driver at a third of the fare. I would rather tip the drivers the extra 500rupees than give it to the hotel who are just ripping you off. Every driver we used from there on was fantastic and would wait for you all day/night.

Overall the staff themselves really did try and apologised time and time again. I feel personally that the problems were down to poor management and lack of staff training.

My advise is stay here on Room Only for a brilliant 5* surrounding, good location and great beach but head out to the local restaurants and beach shacks for meals. We had fantastic service even at the beach shacks, which puts the Hyatt to shame.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

A really nice location on the beach as well as if you want to see rest of the Goa. Beach is live with starfish and other sealife. It is also very clean and close to blue.

Biggest attraction is biggest swimming pool with few slides and water falls and other areas that offer some privacies to families. Excellent food, though a bit pricy by other resorts of same category. Property is looks a bit old, but is actually pretty nice.
Rooms are nice and offer big bathrooms and also big varandahs along the lagoon.

Overall definitely top 5 propertise in Goa with Leela and Taj Exotica.

  • Liked — location on the beach and near Panjim
  • Disliked — Too many people...Not Enough Exclusive even after having a suit
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

This is a Great and New Hotel.Rooms are quite huge and Luxurious.This Boasts of a SPA like Bathroom.Great and they provide complementary aroma's , Oils etc.Bar is well stocked.Service may be slightly slow as the rooms are located quite far off from main kitchen...20-25 mins for order to reach.Room service was good , managed to cleam rooms without us getting aware.Food is good ...but have got better sea food options in Goa, do not get god authentic goan sea food and fish.Breakfast is good , options for everyone, For Kids activities need to be lined up.This is far better in Hotels like Holiday Inn and Leela.Park needs to look at this aspect to make family stay more enjoyable.Overall good rating , would recommend this .

  • Liked — Great Bathrooms
  • Disliked — slow service
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Good luxury hotel ,well spread ,on beach

  • Liked — GOOD OVERALL EXPERIENCE
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We just returned home after staying at this property for 4 nights. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. We loved the large bathroom, specifically the bathtub. The beach on the property is fabulous, and they have a lovely restaurant and bar overlooking the beach which is romantic and a great place to sit and watch the sunset. The swimming pool is large and beautiful, although I found the water to be a bit too cold to actually swim in it. I would have liked if some sections of the pool, at least one, was kept at a higher temperature. There are at least 3 different pools sectioned off from one another. The hottub near the pool was not hot, but lukewarm. It would have been a most beautiful place to soak for a while had it been a hot hottub. We did not like that they do not allow use of the hottub or the pools after 8pm. My husband and I had a couples massage after the much raved about spa. Honestly, I am not sure what all the fuss is about, we found it to be just average.
I smoke, and there are limited areas to smoke at the resort. They lacked ashtrays on the property, so I would need to extinguish my cigarette and then carry it around with me until I found a trashcan, also scarce on the property. I was surprised that the outdoor restaurants also prohibited smoking. While sitting at the beach restaurant it would have been nice to have enjoyed a cigarette with my wine. They have 2 large outdoor sitting areas overlooking the ocean, one of which could easily be made a smoking section. Alternatively, we headed to the beach and walked left. There is a shack that serves drinks for a fraction of the price as you sit at a table right on the beach. They also had wonderful calamari! Great service and thanks to Tina, we bought all of our Christmas presents. Look for Tina who sells just about everything. She isn't intrusive or a bother and made the buying experience relaxed and fun.

A couple other things to point out. Two times during our stay I was short changed. Count your change at the beach bar! Also review your bills, several times we were charged for more drinks than we ordered and had to ask for them to be adjusted. This does not sit well with me as I felt it happened too often to not be intentional.

The hotel has a contract with the taxi drivers and charges a hefty price when you have them call a taxi for you. We simply walked out of the hotel gate and negotiated much better prices with all the drivers who are waiting there. I see no reason why the hotel should get 1000 rupees for simply making a phone call. The driver we used was wonderful, very polite, extremely safe, speaks near perfect English and is reliable. I was comfortable enough to doze off while he drove, and I am generally a very nervous passenger. He was the best driver we had throughout our travels in India. He drove us 2 times to the Casino Royal, a 40 minute drive away. He was a trooper and had a smile on his face when we emerged at 3am, right there waiting for us. We agreed on 1500 rupees round trip. The hotel will charge you about 2700 rupees for a round trip drive to the casino. An extra 20 dollars or so for making a call? And of course he was happy when we tipped him another 500 rupees. His name is Freddy Gomes and his # is 9923966005 alternate # is 9765843029. He has a wife and young child to support and will appreciate your patronage. Tell him that Erika and Franz sent you.

Lastly, I disliked that some items and prices were not on the menu. I unwittingly ordered a slice of New York cheesecake. When the bill came, I was surprised to see that it cost 500 rupees. So, a $10.00 slice of cheesecake, hmm. It wasn't even good, and definitely not NY style cheesecake. That will go down as the most expensive piece of cheesecake I have ever ordered, and it was very disappointing.
Despite my negative comments here, it is a gorgeous top notch clean pristine property. We would return and feel that the lessons we learned from our first visit will serve us well the next time around.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

It is an excellent property..the rooms are amazing with an even awesome bathroom..especially the rain shower in the open...
our room had a small private sit out as well where we enjoyed a morning cup of tea.. Now the pool is too good as well..its huge and has a hot whirlpool/jacuzzi sort of a thing..all in all a perfect place to stay in goa..the food the service everything is excellent..

  • Liked — The rooms and the pool area
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa

Address: Arossim Beach | South Goa, Cansaulim 403712, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Cansaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cansaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa is an award-winning hotel nestled along the pristine Arossim Beach and 15 minutes from Dabolim Airport. Set within 45 acres of landscaped gardens with glimmering waterways and lagoons, the resort combines elegance with distinctive regional character, perfectly reflecting the vivacious heritage of Goa. With its dramatic architecture, Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa was conceptualised as a charming Indo-Portuguese village housing 250 Pousada-style guestrooms and suites, each offering a surreal spa-inspired bathing experience. Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa showcases a selection of exquisite restaurants and superlative culinary experiences, including a signature fine-dining Goan restaurant, Casa Sarita, the award-winning Sereno Spa, one of the largest swimming pools in India, picturesque function spaces and a Camp Hyatt for younger guests. Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa creates the romance and aura of a luxury boutique hotel while having the amenities and vibrant attractions of a resort.  True to the Park Hyatt brand, the resort epitomises understated luxury and gracious service in an intimate sanctuary, offering guests an experience that is distinctively inspiring.Recent accolades include:Conde Nast Traveller India Readers’ Travel Awards 2013 - Favourite Destination Spa (#1, 2012 Favourite Leisure Hotel in India (#1) - Conde Nast Traveller India Readers’ Travel Awards 2012 Favourite Destination Spa (#2) - Conde Nast Traveller India Readers’ Travel Awards 2012 Asia’s Leading Resort (#1) - World Travel Awards 2011 Best Resort Spa (#1) - asiaSpa India Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Goa Hotel Cansaulim
Hyatt Cansaulim
Cansaulim Hyatt
Park Hyatt Goa Resort And Spa India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.