We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the laidback life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sodder's Renton Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sodder's Renton Manor to your Saves list
Sodder's Renton Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tambudki Village | Bardez, Arpora 403515, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Arpora
mumbai
1 review
“loved the laidback life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I make it a point to holiday here at least once a year ,especially in the rains-it is out of this world.One need not move out at all-just relax and enjoy the cool atmosphere and greenery from your balcony.The staff are quite courteous,the pool is clean,so is the linen and the food too,which is continental and Indian as they get many charter flights from different countries like Russia,Europe,etc.The karaoke bar is excellent too.And best of all are the tariff rates which are quite low.Services like laundry are good too.The transport is easily available as they all line up outside the hotel.The marketplace is quite close that is Mapusa-famous for its Friday Bazar.,so also is Baga ,Calangute and Candolim.The owner of this resort is a Bombay based Goan Mr. Jude Sodder who is well versed with the locals and has a chain of resorts like Gloria Ann,Svelton Manor,Tracycourt,Beach Classic,etc.There are a/c and non a/c rooms to suit all budgets.Safety is very good,I normally stay alone.The resort is located off the main road so is peaceful.The bus stop is also nearby,but you can get rickshaws,pilot scooters,etc.Moreover rates are lowest in the monsoons.Shops selling basic necessities and other hotels are close by. I would recommend anyone to visit any of the Sodder group of hotels for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.They also have beat groups playing music in the evenings.

  • Liked — it is clean,safe,dependable,enjoyable,quiet.
  • Disliked — far from airport,no organised tours
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    16
    5
    12
See reviews for
5
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
fife
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel many times, i love the location, food and the staff. It is brilliant value for money and although only 2* the facillities are great. Free shuttle bus to the beach, pool towels, rooms cleaned daily. The food in hotel is good and cheap, i have never had an upset tummy and they will try their very best to please (remember to tip as this always appreciated). There is a karoke bar which stays open so long as there are customers. Stay here if you want to really get to know the people and country of Goa!

  • Liked — Food, location and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

This was our 3rd time in India, love the place. We decided to stay at Renton Manor, briefly visited the hotel 2007 one evening. This hotel is dedicated to Russians 18 to 30. All they want to do is get drunk be abusive to locals consume their own food and alcohol and take drugs. My wife was attacked by one drunk, drugged up Russian just because she wanted to sleep. Security turn a blind eye to all the goings on as well as hotel management.

This hotel has 98% Russians and 1% to 2% Brits. After one week of this torchure our tour operator moved us to a hotel with British people in called the Somy in Calangute, highly recommend. Dont stay in Moscow Manor you will only have the same issues as our selves a family of 4 with 2 boys aged between 10and 11who witnessed all the goings on day and night.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Before we went to Goa I read several reviews of this Hotel. Most of them slagged it off, but in my opinion they were wrong. The hotel is cassified as 2 star, so I wasn't expecting much.However although the rooms were rather basic they were clean and comfortable the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful at all times. There was entertainment several times a week and quite a few bars, restaurants , shops etc within easy walking distance.The food and drink in the Hotel like everywhere in Goa were very cheap and good quality although some other places had better food. For some unknown reason the food always seemed to be better in the less well appointed restaurants. The worst meal we had in the two weeks was in the poshest Hotel in the area. So don't be put off by these othjer people we rnjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

This was our third stay at Renton Manor over the last five years. As always the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Our room was cleaned (fresh bedding and towels as well) every day. We keep choosing this hotel because of its location (quieter than noisy Calangute) BUT this time we discovered that the Russians have arrived! They are noisy, rude and arrogant - especially in the middle of the night and sorely tried the patience of the staff and especially the security night staff who tried to keep the noise contained for the comfort of other guests. This would not deter us from staying at the hotel again but I would advise other would-be guests to request a room at the back of the hotel instead of a room overlooking the pool because of the middle of the night noise from these inconsiderate guests.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The Russian guests
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

In this review...there cannot be any Pro's only Con's....Lets start...

NOT the Prime Location...NO Cabs around...NO beach even in miles of the resort...NO room service....NO options in breakfast....NO Travel Desk...NO advice on where to go in Goa...NO electricity backup....No Welcome Drinks...NO Hot water in bath rooms...

ONLY suitable when you have to use the room for sleeping only...and you own / rent a vehicle to move around...and don't fall for the "Near Baga Beach" line in the Hotel Description...Baga Beach has many more affordable resorts...DON'T FALL FOR THIS TRAP...Ruin your vacation at your own risk !!

  • Liked — "NOTHING"
  • Disliked — "EVERYTHING"
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

We stayed at the Renton Manor this year, having been to Goa 5 years running. Whilst staying there I wanted to buy a gold bangle, so we thought we would give our business to the chap who had a shop within the hotel, thinking that he should be trustworthy. So we agreed a price with him and he made the bangle for us. I was very happy with what he had made, until I got it home and thought it looked a bit dull one day so I gave it a polish only to find to my horror that the gold changed to silver!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I just wanted to post this information so that nobody else gets caught out like we did. I would also like to point out that we have had jewellery made in Goa before and it was fine infact worth more than we paid.
I would also like to say that the Renton Manor is one of the better hotels to stay in. We found it clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sodder's Renton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sodder's Renton Manor

Address: Tambudki Village | Bardez, Arpora 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sodder's Renton Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sodder's Renton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sodder`s Renton Manor Hotel Arpora
Sodder's Renton Manor Goa/Arpora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sodder's Renton Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.