We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this was the exellent resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resorte Marinha Dourada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Resorte Marinha Dourada to your Saves list
Resorte Marinha Dourada
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tambudki | Anjuna Beach, Arpora 403518, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Arpora
Hyderabad, India
1 review
“this was the exellent resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

hello, i have been first time to goa,this resort was the excellent one which i have seen ever, the receiveing includin the watchman,bell boy,room service,and the resturant all the people are very good.. they served with care treated like a family.

the breafast was included ,which was a very good service.

i blindly book the same resorte for my new year trip

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor pool side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    193
    59
    39
    21
See reviews for
105
249
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hi, I went on this trip with friends.. The resort is located at a very convenient location, which is very near to Baga beach.. Me and my friends, both like the place very much.. though they should improve the quality of their breakfast.. The food was OK.. but the resort is extremely beautiful.. I loved the place.. will recommend this place to all....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The access to the hotel is confusing but stay connected to Google-map to drive down to the exact location.

The location of the hotel and view from the rooms is excellent. We requested for the rooms on the higher floors and the lake view was superb. But they don't have the lifts so be prepared to climb the stairs (steeper than the normal one), if you prefer to stay on the higher floor (though they have on 2 floors up max.).

The room cleanliness is good and it was well oriented. The lunch serving stops at 02:30-03:00 PM. If you are a late eater be prepared to go out, you won't get a regular lunch except some snacks option.
If you plan to drink in the hotel bar, be prepared to pay 22% extra taxes on the drinks, which snatches your benefits of drinking in Goa.
While booking it was mentioned that the free tea-coffee maker in the room, but had to shell out Rs. 50/- extra for one day to get the same.

The room service for all your requirements is pathetic and had to wait really long and remind at least 3 times to get some stuffs delivered to the room and get the TV working.
There was a wall clock in the room, which was not working even after our reminder, they didn't bother to fix it or remove it.
They have 2 swimming pools but one of the pool was non-operational. The pool opens only at 09:00 AM, which was quite surprising. The health club has very minimal equipment for the work-out, it also opens at 09:00 AM, which is a waste.

No covered parking available.

The quality of the complementary break-fast was very average and you don't have many options.
Overall it was a value for money, if booked through travelguru. The walk in rates were almost double.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We loved this hotel on our first visit to India in 2005 so had no hesitation in returning during an extended birding trip to the subcontinent. First impressions were that it hadn't changed but the first breakfast proved to be disappointing now that it is more like a holiday camp cafeteria. If you are looking for a traditional indian vegetarian breakfast, you'll be disappointed. It is more suited to east European diets. We did not have any other meals there and often skipped breakfast. Nicks restaurant along the road served great food even for vegetarians although it was much the same price as you would pay in the UK. Trying to get a sunbed at the pool was difficult unless you claimed one by going down before first light. Rooms were clean and the staff helpful particularly at reception. The internet facility was erratic but you come to expect power cuts in India. Arpora/Baga/Calangute has changed being much more commercialised, much more traffic past the hotel making walking a bit more dangerous. The traffic seems to have reduced the numbers of birds on the nearby fields/paddies which also were another reson for staying at this hotel. Our stay was ok but spoiled the memories of our first trip there. For the money we paid, we expected a bit better and would probably go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our experience at this resort has been far from satisfactory . We chose the resort as it was the venue for a wedding we had to attend.
On the onset - The wedding party were given a discounted tariff for its guests at Rs2250/- per room per night , We got the same online for the same dates at Rs1434/-per room per night .The staff once they realised that we were wedding guests that were booking online at reduced rates became unfriendly and would not accept any changes or modifications to the booking. It was like - you booked at a cheaper price so you get cheaper service for the same standard room offered,
The room we recieved had a lovely view and the staff were friendly . The room was not too bad other than a few things - the fridge was not stocked except for a couple of cockroaches residing in it as well as a lot of fungus. The bathroom has no toiletries provided except for medimix soap and no bucket unless you ask for one.No mineral water provided in our room A bit surprising for a 3/4 star property
Our room was cleaned everyday and i found that our trash was put back in the room by the housekeeping staff !! I then took the garbage bag and dumped it in the passageway along with a whole ton of uncleared room service trays , buckets and empty mineral water bottles . This lay on landing for 4 days before it was cleared,
We asked for an extra bed , we got a bed for sure with a plywood piece that did not fit and the staff wanted us to use that bed, I figured better a mattress on the floor than a bed like the one we got , The staff were polite and helpful and tried getting alternate bed arrangements but finally i settled with the mattress on the floor. As for the extra bed charge , The wedding guests were apparently given a dscounted rate of Rs700/- whereas on calling the hotel they told me their standard charge for an extra bed is Rs600/-!!.
Lets get to breakfast . if you are a lover of boiled eggs and omelettes presented everyday by a different name you will love breakfast at Marinha Dourada. other than that you will get one of these items daily - , burnt idlis , aloo poha , upma (which was nice ) , kesari bhat , and rock hard aloo paratha the best was goan pav bhaji.After day 3 we ate out and never ventured to try out the food for lunch or dinner .
Coming to the pool - insufficient sunbeds even though the pool was full. The rules mention that people need to be properly attired to enter the pool. There was no one monitoring and people were jumping in fully clothed! and some even sent their kids in the pool without any clothes on!!The pool has timings - so it opens at around 9 am and closes at 6 . You cannot enjoy the warm water in the pool at sunset, a pity!!
On the positive side Edwin was very helpful in getting our driver a decent place to stay . The staff were polite and helpful. Would be a great property to stay in as they have a fab location and a fantastic property . Just needs to be have better management.

Room Tip: The old rooms are larger though a bit shabby. Our room had twin beds but we were told that there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beautiful resort.Rooms are neat and clean.Resort has 2 swimming pools and massive area to stroll.They provide you with spread of decent breakfast.Rooms close to restaurant on ground floor are very nice.Value for money.I have stayed 3 times at this place.Very close to baga beach.They provide free shuttle to the beach every hour till 6 pm.Restaurant food is pretty average and you can try brittos for candle light dinner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

An average hotel, yet quiet, near from the fun areas, beach, but far away from all the noisiness. No little shops to but the necessities, but a ready pool of motor bikes, scooters, taxis standby ready to take you anywhere in Goa.
The staffs are all friendly, and so are cab drivers, scooter wallas.
Food is not fantastic in the hotel, but there is the bar and the ready to serve you room service.
Room is not that fantastic but you have your towels, a fridge and television with enough channels.
No safe in the room, but there are ample lockers conveniently located by the reception at a modest cost of Rs100 per day.
I like the little swimming pool that serve to cool you down after a hot day at the beach..
All in all, if you are looking for a modest hotel, not far from Baga or Calangute Beach, yet not pay a bomb for it.. Choose Marinha Durada at Arpora.
If you are looking for quiet getaway.. this hotel is also fine.
Breakfast and food in general, could have been better...
Enjoy Goa.. be happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the reception or a room at lower floor,if you don't like climbing the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resorte Marinha Dourada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorte Marinha Dourada

Address: Tambudki | Anjuna Beach, Arpora 403518, India
Location: India > Goa > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arpora
#2 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resorte Marinha Dourada 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Resorte Marinha Dourada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorte Marinha Dourada Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Hotel Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Resort Arpora
Marinha Dourada Hotel
Resorte Marinha Dourada Goa/Arpora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorte Marinha Dourada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.