We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get worst....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pride Sun Village Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Pride Sun Village Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pride Sun Village Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saquwadi Baga-Arpora, Arpora 403518, India (Formerly Sun Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Arpora
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't get worst....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The place has a check in time of 14:00. We reach there at 08:00 and even after talking to the staff from Bombay they made us wait for hour & half.
Staff is PATHETIC, "customer service" is not defined to these guys. At 08:00 in the morning the guy at the front desk did an outstanding job of being rude and blunt. The only person who can take decision there is the Manager who does not answer his phone.
The place is opposite to the Saturday market so if you are there over the weekend be in or out of that place before the market starts. It's far from the prime place (beach).
It is ok for few bunch of guys to go and hang out in place like this.
Has a decent pool and good food.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We were four friends who went for a weekend and thought it would be a decent place to stay being in north goa but they have the Worst rooms, we were charges 7500 rs per night but not even worth 1000 rs per night. Staff very slow and unprofessional, except for Amit who was the duty manager during our stay. He tried to help and change our rooms but none of the rooms were worth it. Food is ok, but there was no water in the bathrooms, almost zero amenities. Grasshoppers and frogs roaming around everywhere and found inside the rooms. Security personals were rude outside. Wen we tried to ask for our refund so that we could change hotels we weren't given any and had to stay cause of money paid in advance. Over all very bad experience. Will never recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have just returned from the Sun Village hotel, at Baga, Arpora, in Goa. Location isn't really important in Goa as the taxi's are so cheap. I have been to the same hotel 3 times now and they have started to upgrade a bit now and I believe it's a perfect base. I was in a group of six and within the first week we had all been struck down with D&V but I will say this has never been a problem on previous visits. When we were ill, the staff were absolutely fantastic and they couldn't do enough to help, Papiou, a waiter was a star and made us all Lime & Soda, Sweet & Salty and it really helped settle our stomachs. The selection of food is not good unless you are a curry lover, however the Chef (Roque, AKA Rocky) will always cook up something off menu if you ask him and he is happy to take your comments (good or bad). They have really good nights up on the lawns but other than that the entertainment is a bit lacking. having said that I have been to that hotel 3 times and would go again because there is plenty to do outside, a big Saturday night market about 5 minutes walk up the road, make sure you take torches with you as power cuts tend to happen and street lighting is poor. there are some great restaurants, 3D's (Formally East meets West) at Baga town, For Goan and International foods, Jamies in Baga town, once again Goan and international food and then there's my favorite restaurant, 10 minutes walk from the Sun Village, called Nicks Place. It is co-owned by Nick, a Goan gentleman , Bob & Linda a couple who go out of the way to make you welcome whether your passing and just want some refreshment or having an evening out for a meal and some good music. The food there is spot on and they have specialist chefs for the different cultures of food, Steak and onion pie is gorgeous, Sunday lunch is to die for, they do a great range of British food, they also do traditional Goan dishes, Indian food (like we get at home) Chinese noodles in fact I think they could put up almost any meal you fancy. The beaches I would recommend are Morgim Beach = 4* Mandrem Beach = 4* and Ashevem Beach = 5* personal opinions will obviously vary. Taxi's to all 3 beaches will cost around Rs 1000 = Approx £10 for a return journey and the driver waits for you however long you decide to stay. Don't have ice at the beaches!!!!!!!! Outside the hotel is messy but the hotel itself is spotless.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool but the rooms above the reception area have been refurbished and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The trip was wonderful if I forget about the hotel disaster. The blunder began from cleartrip end which books my flight to Goa at 5.30 am and the hotel does not let me check in till 2 pm!!! What was I expected to do in those 6 hours? Just sit in the lobby with my luggage and waste my time? I was not allowed an early check in but was forced to check out on time as there was early check in by another group.
The hotel Sun village is a beautiful place and well maintained too. But the staff was non cooperative on many occasions.. They seemed like bonded by clock and nothing else. Did not have basic first aid box as well!!
The hotel is An ideal place only for people who cannot argue add just accept whatever is given.
And for recreation facility (table tennis), hotel should not ask for deposit.
I am not going there again for sure!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in sunvillage with may family in sep2013
1-manenger was no honest &truthful especialy aboud discount and spa gift for more than 3night stay
2-Resturant &Bar staff was very kindly BUT very very slow
3-food exellent
4-hotel has not LIFT
5-as a whole clean &nice BUt far from beach and street

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good service, clean rooms, nice swimming pool..
Anjuna & Vagator beech very close from the place. Specially visit currlies shack at anjuna. Nice place for a family. quick room service and really good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pride Sun Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pride Sun Village Resort and Spa

Address: Saquwadi Baga-Arpora, Arpora 403518, India (Formerly Sun Village)
Location: India > Goa > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
#4 Spa Hotel in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pride Sun Village Resort and Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Village Goa Resort and Spa is an award-winning 4-star botique hotel set uniquely over a luscious hill in Arpora North Goa. The hotel is conceptualized around the sun, and has been designed around both elegance and comfort.The entire façade and architecture of the hotel showcases Mediterranean design set in exposed Goan laterite stone. The hotel has a number of dining options within Sun Village ranging from our multi-cuisine indoor and outdoor restaurants to the tranquil settings of our lush village lawns. Cool off with a drink at a poolside bar or the sundowner pub after a lazy day by one of our swimming pools. We have an Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre where you can rejuvenate, or a PADI dive centre where you can snorkel.Location:Sun Village has now become the heart of the action as it surrounded by lively Baga and its beach, the night markets, nightclubs and other activities of Arpora and Anjuna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Pride Sun Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Arpora
Sun Village Goa
Sun Village Hotel Goa
Sun Village Resort Goa
Pride Sun Village Resort And Spa Goa/Arpora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pride Sun Village Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.