We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cool, comfortable and maybe a little Quirky,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Majeka House to your Saves list
Majeka House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 106 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Friendly, cool, comfortable and maybe a little Quirky,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times but somehow it seems that I have overlooked reviewing the Majeka House.

There are many good hotels in this part of The Cape but this small and friendly hotel offers something different.

The rooms are definitely well equipped and very comfortable. The style is best described as eclectic I think! But that's a good thing! I have always stayed in a "basic" room but there is not much basic about them. There are however some suites with large private terraces and views of the mountains.

The food here is excellent. Breakfast in the summer, sitting outside is a real pleasure with an extensive selection of healthy and not-so healthy options.

This is a well run hotel and this is reflected in excellent and friendly service.

The gardens are well maintained with plenty of seating. There is a pool but this is really an inside affair,albeit with large windows that open.

The hotel is right on the edge of a residential part of town and you will need wheels if you want to go and see more of Stellenbosh.

I will return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    30
    1
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
130
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The room we were given was both dirty and somewhat shabby, There were traces of faeces in the lavatory and the bath had hairs adhering to the sides. There was dirt in the corners of the room and bathroom, and dust in the cupboards and surfaces. The swimming pool and surrounds were full of leaves and dirt and had not been either swept nor cleaned. The room was overlooked on all sides, and some vital windows had absolutely no curtains nor blinds. I saw various naked people getting dressed in the morning, and they equally could see us. So no privacy at all. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was quite simply inedible as it was covered in flies on every item. There were flies on the yoghurt and the fruit, there was even a fly IN the bowl of plain yoghurt.The breads which had napkins folded over the middle of them were constantly covered with flies where they were exposed at either end. Only the cold meat and the cheese were covered with cloches and therefore did not have flies settling on them. It was disgusting and we could not eat the food. This was the only meal we had so cannot comment on the restaurant in general. Majeka House looks wonderful on the web site, but be warned. The reality is a rather ghetto like warren of rooms, some large, some small, photographed with a wide angle lens. We found the place pretentious but tatty and our room and bathroom was certainly not clean. Majeka House is expensive...save your money and stay in one of the really excellent, clean and comfortable alternatives which abound around Stellenbosch. We did, and we had wonderful luxurious accommodation and a superb breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear car w,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review Majeka House and pointing out some issues that happened during your stay.
Secondly, we apologise for the terrible experience you had with us. Cleanliness is something we take extremely seriously and as you might see in other reviews on this forum is hardly an issue. We have taken note of your remarks and will make sure that no other customers have a similar experience.
Lastly, we would like to emphasize that we are nothing of a “rather ghetto like warren of rooms” as we are located in one of the most sought after areas of Stellenbosch. Our rooms are situated in different buildings around the main house, all designed differently by a talented, renowned and respected designer.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Enjoyed three wonderful nights at the Majeka House earlier this month. We were greeted by the friendliest staff who were helpful during the entire stay. We stayed in a standard room with a small private patio and it was perfect. The room was spacious and clean, and the beds were so comfortable that getting up in the morning was a challenge. The complimentary still and sparkling water at the bedsides was especially handy after long days of wine tasting ;) The breakfast was downright luxiourious, and we also enjoyed a sampling of tapas by the pool one afternoon. Dinner at Makaron was also to die for. Definitely worth a trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Our Premiere room was very nice both in size and design. The bed was to die for! We loved to eat the tapas menu in our room with some of the wines we had bought during our days out in the Winelands.
The pool was a bit to warm but thats just me, I like it fresh (23 degees).
The restaurant Makaron was OK but we were not blown away. It felt like they were trying a bit to hard and lost the flavors on the way. The tapas menu was 5* we loved every bite.
Majeka we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Interesting modern decor. Stayed in Garden suite with semi private pool. Great restaurant. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wishing to explore the wine farms in the region of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek .

Room Tip: Garden suites all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We arrived for the first time in South Africa and our first stop was Majeka House. The hotel is in a very quiet location and when the gates open you find a lovely set of buildings with pretty flowers everywhere. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we were soon shown to our room, one of the Pool Suites. Wow it was a huge space with a lovely sitting area and the most comfiest bed ever! The pool is shared with the next door room. During one of the days there was a wedding party getting ready so there were a few people wandering around so it didn't feel that private but they soon left and it was nice and peaceful again! We ate in the restaurant twice during our three night stay and the food was excellent, innovative and upmarket with the emphasis on fresh produce. There is a separate bar area for an evening drink which was very groovy, the decor throughout being very tasteful and served good cocktails. The breakfast was also fantastic, a huge array of fruits, cheese, hams, salmon, lots of breads (including gluten free), pastries, juice, yogurts and of course cooked breakfast which we never tried because we were more than happy with the buffet! The hotel kindly booked the Tokara restaurant (on a nearby wine estate) for us which was also very good. We did not have a car at this point in our journey so had to rely on taxis although on one day we took a Tuk Tuk into town, this was great fun and much cheaper than a taxi. Having stayed in Cape Town at the end of our South African trip, we felt that the Stellenbosch taxis were rather expensive, it was probably about a 10 minute drive into town. All in all, we had a really lovely time at Majeka, great room, lovely gardens and grounds and fantastic food plus friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pool suite lovely large room, no noise to disturb sleep at night. Probably depends on who is in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Wow. This place was fantastic. Arriving at Majeka House was an experience. The short drive from Cape Town takes you through some spectacular scenery as you get into Stellenbosch so you wonder how any hotel is going to maintain the same level of impressiveness. This property does that. It’s set in a beautiful residential area and I was surprised to find such a large complex here. The first things I noticed were the interior design and the very well-heeled locals and tourists heading to lunch in the restaurant.

Check-in was great. We had a short wait until our room was ready so we jumped straight into the local sparkling wine – the bar here has a great selection. The gardens we sat outside in were wonderful and very peaceful. When our room was ready we headed straight up to room 506 which we say was a mountain facing suite. Wow again. This room was huge and incredibly well-equipped.

The massive bathroom didn’t have a tub in it but that didn’t matter. I loved the bathroom tiles and the grey-coloured floor. It was well-stocked with high-end South African toiletries which I liked – in glass bottles so they can be re-filled (very green – I like it).

The bedroom was huge and they obviously invested in good interior design. The bed was so comfortable and I slept like a baby. The room came with a nice little “honesty bar” which had loads of local snacks and drinks which you pay for. We were also given a jar of olives made onsite which was a nice touch. We had a huge balcony which faced the mountain next door – such a spectacular view. There were also two sun loungers on the private balcony which we tested out.

Breakfast was fantastic. The buffet was great and you can order hot options too. The eggs benedict was particularly good. We ate in the restaurant one of the evenings but I’ll write a separate review for that on the restaurant’s page (it was absolutely incredible – lived up to its reputation as one of the best restaurants in the region.) The bar area is also great for a night cap – such a cool setting to end the night in.

I was surprised to find a small gym on the property. It isn’t huge but has just the right amount of things in it to help you feel like you’re balancing out the food/wine calories with some exercise. It has a rowing machine which is quite rare in hotels – and (much to my delight) a basic but decent set of weights and a barbell. I used the pool briefly too which was great – although slightly too short to do laps in.

The hotel grounds are immaculate and very well-manicured. I’ve never seen so many roses – which also create a pleasant smell. In fact, everywhere you go at Majeka House you are hit with an array of floral smells from different sources. On that, I don’t think I’ve ever stayed in such a clean hotel.

In terms of location you can’t go wrong – it’s a quick drive anywhere and you’re just outside of the main town.

Price-wise, the British Pound gets you a long way in this country in general and Majeka House is no exception. It's incredibly good value at the current exchange rate and should be for some time provided this doesn't change dramatically. Put it this way, I could never afford to stay in a comparable place in most other wine producing hot-spots like this.

I’m trying to think if there was anything negative about this place. There wasn't. It was amazing. The only thing I regret is not staying longer. I’ll have to make it up by coming back next time…

Room Tip: The mountain view suite in 506 is definitely well worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Moaksey,
Wow - thank you so much for a great review.
We do try so hard to meet (and exceed) our guest expectations and your response does so much for staff morale..
We look forward to welcoming you back to Majeka House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majeka House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.