We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor and food to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Majeka House to your Saves list
Majeka House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 108 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great decor and food to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

What a fun stay this proved to be, loved the decor especially the bar area and the food and wine did not disappoint either. Great work. Aircons worked well too thank goodness and the room was stunning. Best breakfast ever!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    35
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
148
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here one night during December break 2013. The room was clean, spacious and trendy. We liked that there were universal outlets located throughout the room. The hallway to get to the room was narrow and a bit motel-ish, which is a big contrast to the room itself. The staff was willing to help guide us on which wineries to visit - from what we saw, their recommendations were accurate. The location of the hotel is not in the town, but with a car it is centrally located to many of the wineries in the area. I would definitely recommend staying here while in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Majeka marked the start of our 2 weeks in SA - their beds' are so comfy I kept dreaming about them for a fortnight! Lovely and very attentive staff: as soon as I mentioned I was gluten intolerant gluten-free bread made it onto the superbly presented breakfast table - try their freshly squeezed juices made to order and definitely go for their a la carte dinner. You will be rewarded with creative and sometimes unusual dishes that will make you crave for more...
Beauty treatments are definitely worth the while, too, especially at the beginning of a trip - not to mention the great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Excellent service, beautiful contemporary design coupled with traditional elements. Star cuisine. Great Spa quality! Nice room, fantastic bar. Great value for money. Very curtous people. Intimate boutique hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden facing deluxe room, which is the smaller categorie and this was absolutely fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

An impulsive Saturday decision after a tennis match turned into a wonderful stay at Majeka House. We were warmly welcomed and showed different options of rooms. Every single room is amazing and the attention to detail delightful. It was the perfect choice for relaxation and rest. The pools were very refreshing and the jacuzzi relaxing for sore muscles. The staff was always eager to help in any way possible. In retrospect I regret going out for dinner as the highlight of the stay must be the delicious breakfast (especially for a foodie like me!). You could pick and choose to your heart's content. Although we had to check out after breakfast, they were more than happy to allow us to stay for another hour or two to swim, tan and enjoy cocktails. This was definitely one of the better 5* experiences we have had. Leaving Majeka House I felt like I had a week-long holiday, even though being only one night. I will definitely recommend this to all of my family living in Europe as well as my friends in South Africa. We can only thank the staff for a wonderful experience and we hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: You can not go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our first visit but not the last!

A last minute change in plans had us deciding on where to stay up in the Winelands outside of Cape Town and through a friend of a friend, Majeka house was recommended, at first as a place to have a celebration dinner. When going on the website to reserve a table, I decided to just take the chance and book the hotel as well based on the reviews I had read. Best move I could have made!

From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel welcome by the entire staff and even the other guests. Everyone just smiles and is happy in this little oasis of fantasticness, close to but not in the center of, all that is Stellenbosch. The Majeka House team took care of everything start to finish for us, Tuk-Tuk wine tours, spa, lunches, dinners, shopping, transfers - and did it all with a smile on their face. You see that the people who work there are truly proud of their workplace and what they do for guests everyday.

The rooms are great and comfortable with great little design ascetics that add great character to each room. The public areas are always open, warm airy feeling.

Not to be missed for any visitor (to Stellenbosch in general) is Marakon Restaurant. We were celebrating a friends birthday and her comment posted on FB was "I think this is the best meal I have ever had" which is a TALL order for us since we are dedicated global nomads and travelers. I have to say, I would put it right up there with the other world class restaurants I have been to globally. The overall experience was just unreal, from small surprises during the dinner, like an extra course slipped in based on a treasure hunt map where you had to follow the instructions to create the extra course on your table, to the amazing paring that were provided based not only on your meal , but on your own personal preferences.

I can not recommend a stay here enough!

Thank you to the entire staff for a very very memorable stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We went for a spa treatment on Sunday at Majeka House. The staff were very friendly, from reception to the waiter. Our ladies at the spa were awesome and the treatment was top class!! Enjoyed tapas and drinks after our treatment in beautiful garden. Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majeka House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.