We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless Stayover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Majeka House to your Saves list
Majeka House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 107 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newlands, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless Stayover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just have come back from a wonderful one night stay-over kicked off with a superb dinner at Makaron Restaurant, together with friends, accompanied by perfectly chosen wines by professional sommeliere Josephine. Our suite had two (!) secluded balconies where we afterwords reviewed the evening on the loungers under the stars before finally diving into our king size bed.The area is dead quiet and so we slept deeply and undisturbed.The suite was faultlessly appointed, with a Lavazza espresso/coffee maker, a strong hairdryer, double shower (plus full bathtub!), even a laminated hang-around- your-neck jogging map of the area! All this was topped by the most sumptuous breakfast buffet (warm dishes at your order) including even a bowl of whipped cream for the smoked salmon or french pastries! Next time we will bring a little more time to enjoy the beautiful SPA as well. Thank you to all at Majeka House!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Horst,
Thank you very much for your extremely kind words. It is so appreciated.
We look forward to your next visit to Majeka House.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    35
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
148
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in early Janaury for 3 nights in a pool suite. It is located in a peaceful, tranquil setting just a few minutes from the centre of Stellenbosch. The owners are omnipresent and run a very friendly and luxurious hotel where every request and detail is attended to with applomb.

We loved the fresh, contemporary funishings which set it apart from many properties in the area. We ate twice in Makaron, which is a very special restaurant, the quality of cuisine from Chef Tanya would hold it's own with some of the very best from both South Africa and indeed the UK. The tapas lunch in the hotel bar was also a treat and quite different from the usual fayre.

Overall, a fantastic stay and we hope to visit again soon. Thank you Karine and the team for making this memorable.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, pool suite was very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Spireite65,
Your comments are very much appreciated.
It is so motivating to Karine and I and our whole team to get feedback like this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Majeka House on your next visit to South Africa.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsmonden
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Have been going in Majeka hs for a number of years now. The ambience is friendly and warm at the same time. All staff always have a smile for you.
The kitchen delivers tasty and surprising dishes. Chef's surprise appetiser took us all by surprise and was delicious. A sign of what was to come. Will not tell you what it was, to not spoil the surprise. The wines were a perfect match.Well done Josephine, a bubbly sommelier with a great taste and feel for what the guests like.
We were a group of 20 guests and all left the table excited and satisfied.
Many of us also stayed in the hotel. The variety of rooms enables you to choose for complete privacy with your own pool to cosy rooms with quirky deco. They are all very quiet. My hope is that the WiFi will work better when back in July....

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious in all categories. If you can, go for a suite. There are several to choose fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Henri L,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you decided that your group would have dinner with us.
Comments like yours regarding your dinner really does make all our efforts worthwhile.
Point taken regarding the WiFi. We do take this very seriously and are always looking for ways to improve the connectivity.
Warm regards and we look forward to seeing you in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We got married in this beautiful place and spent here a few fantastic days.(-:
Everything was perfect. Dinner of New Year's eve, 2013, was surprising and delicious. We strongly recommend people to come and feel the awesome service! Someday we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear J-Jets-Stranger75,
Thank you so much for your kind comments and we feel privileged that you chose Majeka House to get married.
We hope the 'someday' comes sooner rather than later.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

we stayed at Majeka House for 2 nights in a pool suite, it was a fantastic room in a beautiful setting. We met both owners who were delightful and helpful, and the hotel itself is decorated in a quirky unique way which appealed to me. The highlight of our experience was probably our dinner at Makaron, which was fantastic, and breakfast each morning was also fantastic. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Blondie82,
Thanks you so much for posting this review.
We appreciate you kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Majeka House in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

In a town full of wonderfull places to eat. Majeka house is an absoluut deligh. The food is fantastic, the decor is world class and the pastry chef must be one of the best in the country:) i took a group of five people there and the were all in awe. Thank you. Portchie

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Portchie,
I am sorry to have missed you but am thrilled that you enjoyed your breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our 5th year and every year we enjoy the hospitality and tranquility of the Majeka house.
The best breakfast and always helpful staff. Next year we will be back again for The Shoprite Awards Gala around the corner. The biscotti biscuit and the home made cordial are delicious.

Room Tip: The premier rooms have their own private pool and garden. The villa is excellent for a small group w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Ingrid N,
Thank you for your kind words - it really is very much appreciated. We of course looking forward to welcoming you back again for the Shoprite Awards Gala.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majeka House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.