We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a beautiful town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roosenwijn Guest House

Save Saved
You added Roosenwijn Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roosenwijn Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 van Riebeeck Street | P.O. Box 669, Stellenbosch 7500, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 101 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location in a beautiful town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Great location, very helpful service and one of the best breakfasts of our trip. Two suggestions for improvement - pillows/sheets were on the hard side and we would have liked a shower in our room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
29
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is a very nice guest house but I had the following problems with their reservation system:

I was asked to pay the deposit by bank transfer. Cisca sent me details of their bank, did not say that they accepted credit cards at this time. After several e-mails I got the Swift Code for their bank, and sent the deposit of 1000 rand. I had to send several e-mails before Cisca finally confirmed that the deposit had reached their bank.

I recommended that they should accept credit cards for UK customers because of the high cost of bank transfers. Cisca then told me they accepted credit cards!

I had a premonition about this place and took a copy of my bank statement with me.

When we arrived Cisca told me that our room had been given to somebody else, and seemed to infer that two lots of Peter and Jenny Douglas had arrived at the same time. We sat around while this was sorted out.

On departure we were checked out by the owner/ manager who said that he had no record of our deposit, and demanded proof. I showed him our bank statement and left feeling aggrieved.

To add insult injury I have received an e-mail today from Cisca asking me to send her proof that we had paid the deposit.

This has infuriated me which is why I am writing this review.

Room Tip: Impossible their reservation system is a shambles
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

The Roosenwijn staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They booked shuttles for us to and from Cape Town as well as the day wine tour (we used Camino Tours with Antoinette and she was outstanding!!!!). Our room was large and had a walk out to the shared deck. It was a great location if you are looking to walk to the city center. Everything was excellent! I'd highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Roosenwijn while visiting friends, and touring vineyards and museums. The guest house is conveniently located for walking to shops, museums, and the university. This 1904-built house is in excellent condition. Our room was very comfortable, roomy, and nicely appointed. Breakfasts were delicious. We especially enjoyed the peaceful, cool inner courtyard with pool. The managers were outstandingly helpful and cheerful. They made the visit special. We'll stay here next time and have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Holland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed for a night in Stellenbosch on our way to the airport in Cape Town, and were very sorry that we could not stay longer in this wonderful guesthouse. Fully renovated with a keen eye for detail and impeccable taste, it more than met our expectations. It has a large and secure, free of charge off-street parking, and the location is very good-just a few minutes walk from the charming centre of Stellenbosch. Rooms are very neat and tidy, with a good bed/mattress and a nice, spacious bathroom. Downstairs are the great common room (with a computer, though there is free and fast Wifi too) and the breakfast room. All in the same sober and elegant period style. There can be some noise from the Riebeeck street, but it never bothered us. Staff was very, very friendly indeed.They even let us keep the room till 18.00 because flights to Europe all leave very late. Thanks girls!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benn77
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed at Roosenwijn for two nights. The room we had was large and clean, service and breakfast was first class and the guest house could arrange wine tours for you if needed.

It is a really good location for the numerous restaurants and bars in the town centre. Stellenbosch is an upmarket student town and feels really safe to walk around at night. I preferred staying in town compared to out on a wine estate, many of which seem extremely expensive.

The only criticisms are that you may experience some traffic noise from the room, and the pool which looks useable on the website was too small and needed cleaning.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Having looked for many different bandbs i decided to pick this one!! The location is fantastic and its only about a 5min walk from all the nice bars and restaurants. The rooms are clean and well equipped and staff are really friendly!! Its great for wine tours as well!! We had a fantastic day!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roosenwijn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosenwijn Guest House

Address: 14 van Riebeeck Street | P.O. Box 669, Stellenbosch 7500, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Roosenwijn Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Roosenwijn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosenwijn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.