We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant closed his doors permanently” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UMAMI Restaurant - CLOSED

UMAMI Restaurant
Black Horse Centre, Cnr Mark and Dorp Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 (0)21 8875204
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant closed his doors permanently”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Umami doesn't exist anymore. Umami was a great business when it came to food, service and ambiance, but is wasn't busy enough. I wish you the best Toerie, the restaurant was fantastic and I really enjoyed every evening we spended there. Maybe again in the future?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The place is very simple and the environment is amazing. The food tastes very good (one of the best I had in my vacation trip in South Africa) and the waiter was very kind. He gave us lots of maps and suggestions about the winelands that helped a lot when exploring the place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gastronomic Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Umami offers a pleasant warm welcome on each visit. The menu changes seasonally and only the freshest ingredients are utilised in their preparation. A choice of either ala carte or a five course tasting menu makes Umami the perfect choice for any occasion. Special lunch menu for those quick business meetings at great prices. Save space for desert!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ate at Umami last weekend and was pleasantly surprised. Excellent food and good wines served by knowledgable staff. Small menu only downside. Cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Booked:yes - then no”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had booked a table for 9. Some days later we received an email that they did not have room for us anymore. Very disappointing as we liked umami from last time. We suspect they let us down since we had children with us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toerie, Owner at UMAMI Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Marta made the booking for the 1st of June via e-mail on the 22nd of May, to which I confirmed.
I only realized the next day that we previously made a booking for 27 guests a week prior to her booking, which meant that we were fully booked. The big group's booking was never written down because I know the guest well. Off course I made a mistake by not writing it down. (We are very quiet this time of the year and I didn't think it necessary.)

On the 24th of May I wrote Marta a sincere apology explaining my mistake. She replied "it is a pity, But I understand" and that Umami was her first choice. Marta also asked for other suggestions, and I replied with the names of 10 other restaurants in the area and more info about them.

Marta and her family were at Umami before and enjoyed it very much, but thought that we were not really catering for children.
This is not true. We have a small kiddies menu available, and often have kids at Umami. We do have white table cloths, wine glasses set at the tables, and is seen as a fine dining restaurant by the public. But I have always welcomed children, having a 1 and 3 year old daughter myself!
I think it completely unfair to rate 1 star on Tripadvisor if Marta assumed that we didn't want her group because of kids, and this after replying that she understood our situation.
And she didn't even have dinner at Umami on said evening.

My apologies again for double booking her a week before her dinner, but disappointed in her assumption, and rating us 1 star for an honest mistake.

Toerie
Umami Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UMAMI Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UMAMI Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.