We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, but nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UMAMI Restaurant - CLOSED

UMAMI Restaurant
Black Horse Centre, Cnr Mark and Dorp Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 (0)21 8875204
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not perfect, but nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was good. This is a small place with few tables. That is good. The atmosphere is nice. We brought with us small children one evening, and this is actually not a good place for that. And the children's menu is not to great.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

i'm delayed in writing this, but remember my meal perfectly - it was very memorable.
i had a tasting menu- each dish was amazing, absolutely brilliant! Wine pairings excellent.
I highly recommend the tasting menu, as Chef's always choose best. Everything we ordered was incredible, especially The Beet Risotto. The service was by far the Best we have experienced in many years, or many countries! Thank you for enhancing our journey through SA

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had lunch here today, but this is not the first time, but it is always excellent.
This hidden away gem is a real find. I think it's mostly locals only,
so you get good value for money. The service is good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not a place to make a Hit with Kids, but Thumbs up for Adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely ambiance, truly superb service and outstanding food and wine experience. Parking can be a bit of a bother, so go early.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pampering of the senses and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been a regular guest at Umami for several years and had become accustomed with the excellence and pleasure of an extraordinary culnary experience. Maybe i became complacent/spoilt and it was accepted as a norm,... However having returned from a business trip to europe and being exposed to some of the finest establishments, it hit me that we have something very special in UMAMi!!! to me its the best in the Cape, and value for money on top!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UMAMI Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UMAMI Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.