We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mistakes mistakes mistakes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wijnhuis

Wijnhuis
Corner of Church & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+2721 887 5844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 174 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mistakes mistakes mistakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Positives:

Good location, nice ambiance and extensive wine options.

Negatives:

We had a very nice waiter, unfortunately he wasn't trained very well. didn't know much about the wine or food, but thats more managements fault than the waiters. The kitchen made a mistake with our order and brought out the wrong dish for my wife. After 15 minutes when we received both plates my food was cold. they probably put it aside while the correct dish was being prepared for my wife. portions were small and very average in taste. To sum it all up, it was overpriced and not such a good experience. there are lots of better restaurant in Stellenbosch for a fraction of the price.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    86
    38
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“over priced and under portioned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

yes it has a good selection if wines, but do the tasting and move on to eat. the dishes do not warrant the prices and are disappointingly small.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Interesting place with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wijnhuis is in a great location in central Stellenbosch arranged around a central atrium courtyard. The decor reflects all the different wine farms in the area which makes for an interesting visit, even for a local. The food was very good although the menu was on the safe side offering the usual steaks, seafood and game. I opted for one of their pastas (linguine with salmon, vodka and avo) which was deliscious. The others had meat options which they were very happy with. The rocket salad tasted like it had just been picked from the garden it was so fresh! The service was pleasant and although the restaurant was busy, we didn't have to wait long for anything we ordered.
The menu is on the pricey side but there are cheaper options. The wine list is extensive and includes a number of speciality wines which are more expensive but there are also cheaper options. I couldn't work out why the carpaccio had to be so expensive though?
If I had to recommend 2 things to improve my experience it would be to either ditch the music or get a different selection. The choices didn't seem in keeping with an upmarket restaurant (High energy, yeahh - seriously?). We asked them to turn it down which they did. And why do we have to watch ourselves pee in the mirrors on the back of the bathroom doors???
Other than that, a great evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Brilliant food in lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Fabulous food wine and surroundings in central Stellenbosch. The restaurant is well aid out and the menu was varied and all of our party agreed it was excellent. The service was also excellent and I am surprised this is not rated more highly. There must be an incredible number of good restaurants in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Every couple of years we give Wijnhuis another try, just to give them the benefit of the doubt. But as before we left disappointed. The menu is expensive, the wines exhorbitant, the dishes uninspired, and the waiters lack training and pizzazz. Dear Wijnhuis, please invest a bit of thought into your staff. So thankful we did not foot the bill on this particular occasion. I would have felt even more done in.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wijnhuis also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Wijnhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wijnhuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.