We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic lodge with a very nice view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zorgvliet Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zorgvliet Country Lodge to your Saves list
Zorgvliet Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Helshoogte Pass | Banhoek, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic lodge with a very nice view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The lodge has a very nice design. The views from the lodge is fantastic. There is a small restaurant where you can have lunch or order a picknick. There a playground for the kids so it's perfect for families.
The wine tasting is also very nice, not to big and commercial.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for a wedding in December 2012 and as soon as we arrived we were wowed by the scenery. It was superb for the wedding - the small chapel was stunning, as was the dining hall for the reception. We stayed in the 3 bedroom family lodge which was lovely and spacious and a real treat. The views over the vineyards and mountains were superb. Our family completely loved the entire setting and couldn't recommend it more. We had lunches at other highly recommended estates in Stellenbosch but nothing came close to Zorgvliet for us.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom family cottage is really charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

just stayed here fo friends wedding. the location and overall area are lovely. we had room 1 which is nice and spacious but note at the back so quiet but no view. wedding organiser looked after us very well. food at the wedding was excellet as was both the picnic the day after and the wine tasting the day before.

only complaint? the owners might consider putting the randy shetland pony in a field with a fence that works. having to chase a shetland pony with a hard-on around the estate in a 3 piece suit to stop it shagging the horses pulling the bride and grooms carrige isnt my idea of a fun saturday afternoon...

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband booked a picnic at Zorgvliet for mothers day and we absolutely loved it. The setting was lovely - in the most beautiful Helshoogte pass mountains and in the vineyards. The kids had lots of room to play and each received their own picnic basket. The kids' picnic baskets were put together by someone who definitely knows what kids like: chicken nuggets, muffins, sweeties, strawberry milk... Our picnic basket was fantastic! It was more than we could ever eat. Everything was fresh. Lots of variety. Absolutely delicious! And there are several baskets that one can choose from depending on what you're in the mood for and what you want to spend. I can really recommend a Zorgvliet picnic!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Our wedding at Zorgvliet was wonderful! But the staff at Zorgvliet are everything but friendly. It was embarrassing to hear our guests (who stayed over at Zorgvliet) complain of staff not being friendly or helpful. Very expensive venue for a wedding since they provide no service or even linen or cutlery. However, it is a most beautiful venue for a wedding!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed for our friends wedding, stayed 3 nights at the end of two weeks in SA,
The Positives - really lovely looking site, totally fantastic beds, masses of hot water, big room, good laundry service/cost
The Negatives- all our interactions with staff were painful to say the least. The staff were unable to use their credit card machine, the whole booking process was painful, asked to pay up in advance the moment we walked into check in, housekeeping wanted to clean our room when we had a 'do not disturb' sign on the door and were somewhat put upset we wanted to keep them waiting for 10mins will we got ready to go out, the smell of sewage was everywhere, the smell of it from the shower was awful, half a bottle of bleach did not touch it, also the stench at breakfast made me want to gag, wi-fi was advertised on the website, but did not work in the room, you had to sit in the garden by reception, also painfully slow to do anything, breakfast a 300mm walk down the road, breakfast at very best acceptable, floor was a death trap, slippy wasn't the word,

As I said, we stayed for a wedding, had we just been guests, we would have moved out after a single night.....we did not want to create a fuss....... Find somewhere else to stay.....

Room Tip: One that does not smell too bad......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed for a wedding and although the location is stunning and the accommodation quite tasteful and nice looking, bed comfortable, good air con and well appointed, the service was non-existent and it felt, for the money, like things had been done somewhat on the cheap. No service at all after 5pm, concrete floor in the bedroom a bit grubby looking, quite a few bugs coming in from outside because doors and windows not that well fitted, pillows like bricks. room not restocked with glasses and mugs etc after cleaning, electrics a bit dubious with wires stuck together with gaffer tape. We had been somewhat spoilt by stunning villa with impeccable quality and service the week before which worked out the same price per night so were probably feeling a bit grumpy, having been treated like royalty all week.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zorgvliet Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorgvliet Country Lodge

Address: Helshoogte Pass | Banhoek, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zorgvliet Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Zorgvliet Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zorgvliet Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.