We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Grande Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Grande Guest House
Save
You added Villa Grande Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Keerom Stree, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 107 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly welcome, breakfasts excellent. Rooms comfortable and the complimentary glass of port welcoming me every night my room was a great touch! Very convenient for a 2 minute stroll into Stellenbosch. Can't fault it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
20
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bochum, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Villa Grande is located in the middle of historic Stellenbosch and is the perfect location for exploring Stellenbosch and its surroundings. The guest house is beautiful, the rooms are clean, breakfast is delicious and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights last months and really enjoyed it. beautiful and clean rooms in a great ambiente of an old fashioned villa, very kind and helpful staff. And great breakfast for a great price, would always stay here again. :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Let me start off by saying the only reason I have given this establishment an average rating is because I stayed in the standard room. If you have a choice, upgrade.

I stayed overnight for business at this cute guesthouse and overall everything was standard.

LOCATION: Excellent in a quiet cul de sac within walking distance to the University and town eateries.

SERVICE: Excellent I was greeted by a friendly front of house staff which showed me to my room and assisted with breakfast the next day. Smooth and efficient check-in and check out.

ROOM: The standard room is small and you can hear the people in the room next door. The room was clean but not very much room to move around in. The TV only had local channels which was quite surprising as all other guesthouses in South Africa normally have satellite. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in my room which is also usually pretty standard. The room is a bit dated.

WIFI: Free wi-fi was offered but did not work

BREAKFAST: Simple choice of cerels and juices, with fruit salad. English breakfast with choice of eggs, bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms. I requested a soft poached egg and got a hard one. Quick service.

OVERALL: Pleasant stay but the room and overall amenities let them down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosselbaai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Arrived just before 21h00 on a Friday without a prior booking. Top form friendly service. Clean, tidy, quality furnishing in colonial style. Affordable and value for money for a couple in beautiful surrounding. A few minute walk to the CBD where the food and buzz is of Stellenbosch. Easy decision to extend the stay with another night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Charming Grandeur in Stellenbosch. Rooms were luxurious with shower & spa. Port and chocolates each night and a generous breakfast in the morning. Staff friendly and service focussed. The lounge with open fireplace was the perfect spot for a late night drink with friends. A 2 minute walk to the CBD.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Third time staying at Villa Grande and we will definitely be going back in future! Such a lovely and warm stay with very friendly staff and excellent service.The accommodation is definitely worth the money and the breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Grande Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Grande Guest House

Address: 1 Keerom Stree, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Grande Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Grande Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.