We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel in wine lands!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Cities Kleine Zalze Lodge

Save Saved
You added Three Cities Kleine Zalze Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Three Cities Kleine Zalze Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Strand Road R44, Stellenbosch 7613, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great small hotel in wine lands!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay very nice room priced fairly and a great pool! We toon a 3 year old and he loved it though its not a typical family hotel! Would defiantly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in stelenbosch.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
56
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and reviewed this a 9 on a 10 scale.

The location is marvelous: on one side you see the grapevines and on the other side the golf course and overlooking the mountains.
The facilities are very good: the swimming pool is excellent, but has to be cleaned in the night (and not during the day, because that lacks in comfort). Also it was closed a few times (lawnmowing, wedding). The WiFi works good, but works only for 24h, what is not very efficient.
The room itself is ok: it has an acceptable size, the shower and beds are good, but it is not a cheap place, so you expect a little bit more for the amount paid.
The breakfast is very good: there is enough choice and the terrace where the breakfast is being served has a lovely view.
The service is excellent: all the people working on De Kleine Zalze, do there utmost best to give you a perfect holiday.

We liked it so much, that we want to book De Kleine Zalze for next year. It surprised us a bit, that we couldn't book the same packages for next year yet.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A truly novel setting! Bang in the middle of a vinyard, overlooking the stunning golf course, and overlooked by the imposing Stellenbosch mountains. The rooms are named after grape types, so improving your wine knowledge. We stayed in Pinotage, with great vistas towards the golf course, ho;e no. 1 and the mountains. Room was excellent, large fridge (for wine bought on site) plus some snacks we bought to take on course. small balcony, roome just for two chairs and a card table. Bed really confortable, bathroom spacious and clean with good shower and bath.
We booked 3 rounds of golf, teamed up with other couples for 2 days, but played as a 2 ball on last day. Course is truly wonderful, water, rough, river smallish greens on some holes , so accuracy helps. Clubhouse serves food only until 16:00 so late tee offs later than11:00 will finish without food at the end. Play early at 09:00 and relax with a decent snack, calimari is is good.

The lodge breakfast and evening meals are very good. The Terrior Restaurant is exceptional, young Jacob (fron New York) made very good wine selections for us on two nights. Stellenbosch is close by and worth a look. As is Gordons Bay. We hired a car from Avis, in with the accomodation cost, which was delivered to the Lodge and we drove back to Cape Town airport. Our holiday was arranged through Pin High Travel in the Nederlands, without a hitch.
All staff were really pleasant, bringing drinks to the immaculate rim flow pool.

Room Tip: Rooms in Merlot, Pinotage, Cinsault are great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

the lodge was very spacious with lovely linen, no tv in the bedroom, but a great bath tub in the bathroom. The reception staff, especially Wiena, , is a lovely lady. She was very helpful even after hours when our lights went of. In no 9 was no porridge spoons but I am sure that will be fixed very soon. The leather couch was terrible. Something was missing so the 2 seats keep on slipping out underneath you, it was very irritating. We did report it and asked management to advise the owner of the problem.

Room Tip: the single rooms 6 and 9 is next to the golf club, a very short walk to go and enjoy a lovely meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The lodges sit between the Kleine Zalze vines and a beautifully appointed golf course so great views are guaranteed. The lodges are all well equipped with a kitchen area, dining/sitting room and en suite bedrooms. One small criticism is that my room did not have a TV in the bedroom so if relaxing in bed whilst watching TV is youyr thing you will be out of luck. Breakfast is served in a functional dining room. The staff throughout were helpful and attentive. I stayed in a one bedroom lodge but much larger facilities are available. I would thoroughly recommend the lodges to any family who plan to stay in the Stellenbosch region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Great room, spacious, wonderful views. Recommend golf course facing if you can get it. Sumptuous breakfast and the onsite terroir restaurant is very special.

Only downside is a tiny shower which I can never understand, and the in room fireplace seemed to choke up a little, leaving a musty smell.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

The lodge and service was excellent, the staff was very helpful and accomadive to us.Our plan included breakfast at the logde restaurant. Each morning the hostess remembered what we liked drank and brought our drinks to our table. The buffet breakfast was delicious, offered hot and cold entrees! The restaurant served a very good spiced pumpkin soup!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Three Cities Kleine Zalze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Kleine Zalze Lodge

Address: Strand Road R44, Stellenbosch 7613, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Cities Kleine Zalze Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, with its stylishly decorated rooms and suites, is set alongside the first fairway of the championship De Zalze Golf Course. The clubhouse is just on the other side of the Blaauwklippen river and within walking distance. The rooms enjoy breath-taking views of the Stellenbosch Mountains and are surrounded by 120 hectares of vineyards.Accommodation is available in a variety of units: 6 x Two Bedroom Family Suites, 11 x Luxury One Bedroom Suites, 15 x Superior Rooms and 9 x Standard Rooms.Although the Lodge offers all the comforts associated with a four star facility, our Two Bedroom Family Suites and Luxury One Bedroom Suites are available with kitchens or kitchenettes, complete with microwave, cutlery and crockery for those who prefer to self-cater. Our Superior Rooms are equipped with a small bar fridge as well as tea and coffee making facilities.There’s a rim-flow swimming pool, a range of vineyard trails for hiking or running, mountain bike trails, as well as wine tastings on the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Three Cities Kleine Zalze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kleine Zalze Hotel Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Cities Kleine Zalze Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.