We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Wine Estate

Warwick Wine Estate
On the R44 | Between Elsenburg & Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7607, South Africa
27 21 884 4410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 105 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The #1 winery on Trip Advisor in the Stellenbosch region for almost 3 years. Warwick has become known as one of the most welcoming destinations with a truly authentic experience & friendly ambience. Open 365 days a year, join us for our famed 'Gourmet Picnic', delicious 'Vineyard Tapas' and a tutored wine tasting. Bring your friends & family for a 'BIG 5 WINE SAFARI' or just laze around on our magnificent lawns under the trees. This kid-friendly historic property will wow you.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Is a place to seat outside and degust the lovely wines looking for the beautiful garden. For couples in honeymoon, ask to know the legend and use the warwick cup, it has a very interesting legend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeratCapeTown, Owner at Warwick Wine Estate, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Clara
Thank you so much for your kind comments - we really appreciate it.
I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes,
Mike Ratcliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    45
    5
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous vineyard tour with 4-wheel drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We've visited many wineries over the year and this was one of the most enjoyable experiences. We took the 4-wheel-drive tour from the winery through the vineyards, going through areas with different varietals and finishing at the top of the hill with a nice and chilled bottled of Sauvignon Blanc. It was fun even for our boys who don't drink! When we later settled down in the outdoor area for a picnic like tasting of Warwick's different wines, it was very relaxing and comfortable. While a few of us were engrossed in the wines, the ladies were sitting around on the lawn chatting or reading a book and the kids were having fun running around. It was a perfect wine outing for the whole family!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeratCapeTown, Owner at Warwick Wine Estate, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear BeijingHonkie,
Wow! What kind words. Thank you.
I have circulated your positive comments to my team and there are a lot of smiling faces around Warwick. We try everything to find the balance between fun and relaxation, while at the same time making the sure that the food and wine experience is really serious. It seems we found the right mix.
Thanks for taking the time to visit and to share your comments - we really ppreciate it.
See you soon.
All the best,
Mike Ratcliffe
Warwick Owner
@Mike Ratcliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Make your visit here a longer relaxing one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Warwick created a warm atmosphere inside the old Gable House. The dam outside makes it ideal for tasting on the wood deck. iTSuTravel clients enjoy the 'marriage story' and little shop. It is a Great Wine Estate, good wine, peaceful view and well selected picnic basket.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a lovely wine tasting at the beautiful Warwick Wine Estate while touring the Cape wine region. We tasted delicious wines, and our server was very knowledgable. The grounds were gorgeous, and I would love to spend more time here on a future visit to South Africa! We also loved their gift shop - they had lovely souvenirs to bring home to family and friends!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeratCapeTown, Owner at Warwick Wine Estate, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Marietta
Thank you so much for your kind review and for taking the time to share your comments.
We are a small family-owned winery and every positive comment gets shared with the whole team. So you can be sure that your kind words gave us a few smiles.
Thanks for telling your friends.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
regards
Mike Ratcliffe
@Mike Ratcliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Tapas is totally over priced. Service is very slow for only 5 tables that had guest at. Halve the menu was sold out, even for booked tables, not very good!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warwick Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Warwick Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Wine Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.