We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic picnic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Wine Estate

Warwick Wine Estate
On the R44 | Between Elsenburg & Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7607, South Africa
27 21 884 4410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 116 Activities in Stellenbosch
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The #1 winery on Trip Advisor in the Stellenbosch region for almost 3 years. Warwick has become known as one of the most welcoming destinations with a truly authentic experience & friendly ambience. Open 365 days a year, join us for our famed 'Gourmet Picnic', delicious 'Vineyard Tapas' and a tutored wine tasting. Bring your friends & family for a 'BIG 5 WINE SAFARI' or just laze around on our magnificent lawns under the trees. This kid-friendly historic property will wow you.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Romantic picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visited Warwick Wine Estate for a picnic and wine tasting. The picnic basket prepared was really tasty and enjoyable. We were lucky that they were not too busy and were told that we could do our wine tasting during our picnic. The wines were very good. The service was excellent. We also did the "Big 5 Drive" - Thoroughly enjoyed it...

Visited April 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    37
    4
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chilled quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

a fantastic venue to spend time with the family, kids can play outside, while you taste some fantastic wines. A superb picnic basket on offer with quality fresh food and in my opinion value for money.

Visited April 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Once again a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely picnic beautiful wine washed down by a game of Boules .Highly recommended. This was our 4 th visit over many years and its great to see a place whose standards never change.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway if you have kids...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited this place with our 2 young childeren and had a great time.
Nice lawn with umbrella's and large cushions for lounging , I really had a 5 star expierence here.
My kids were off to the play rack straight away and made friends instantly with the other kids.
There is also a some fountain with a water stream of 20 meters or so.
Very undeep water, only few cm or so but great for the kids to play in on a sunny day.
I did not drink any wine as I had to drive but just enjoyed the picnic basket.
Only minus point was that I had to pick up some bird poop around us when we arrived, but after I told the waitress she quickly arranged somebody to do this for us.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeratCapeTown, Owner at Warwick Wine Estate, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for your kind comments about Warwick. We are very pleased that you had a true South African Winelands experience and that your kids enjoyed it too. We take pride in making our guests feel light at home. By the way, did you see the huge Chinese flag at our entrance?
We would love to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Mike Ratcliffe
Owner
Warwick Wine Estate
@WarwickWine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warwick wine estate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Gourmet picnic poor value for money and not freshly prepared. Goat Cheese had mould and salad old. {cucumber was old and obviously from previous day(s) } R18 for 3 teaspoons of chutney...etc. Plus...Nice wine

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warwick Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Warwick Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Wine Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.