We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely winefarm but very rushed experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delheim

Delheim
Knorhoek Road | Off R44, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
+27 21 888 4600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 116 Activities in Stellenbosch
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delheim's Cellar Stellenbosch, offers internationally acclaimed wines, wine tasting tours, and a restaurant in a beautiful garden.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely winefarm but very rushed experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went to Delheim for a wine tasting and were lucky to see that we had about 40 minutes left before they close that day. The lady who helped us was a bit rushed and semi rude. One could clearly see that she was not happy that another group of people came in for a tasting as she clearly just wanted to go home. It made the tasting a bit unpleasant and very rushed. She literally forced us to down the glass or throw it out so that she could pour another wine.

Overall, it is a beautifull farm, with a restaurant (we didnt go there) and lovely wines. I would just advise you not to visit this wine farm after 16:00. Thats when the staff wants to go home it seems even though it closes at 5.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delheim, Public Relations Manager at Delheim, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Nic ~ we apologise for you having had such a rushed experience at Delheim - this is certainly not the Delheim way and please be assured the matter will be addressed with the lady concerned. Please contact Juliet at pr@delheim.com with your details so that we may arrange for you to have a complementary wine tasting and cellar tour in a way that is more in keeping with our ethos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“wine tasting in the cellar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Delheim wine estate in Stellenbosch is definately worth the visit. There is a levely restaurant in the garden and the wine tasting in the cellar is definately a must on a warm day. You can also have a lovely cheese or meat and sausage board served in the cellar with your wine tasting. Its one of our favourite places to visit on the Stellenbosch wine route.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still one of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013


Delheim, its slogan “Worth the Journey”, has always been one of our favorite wine estates over the years and it was good to return this last trip. It has excellent wine and is in a lovely setting, with views of the vineyards and right up to the Simonsberg mountains. Vines are clearly labeled right next to the car park to give people an idea of the grape types. It’s at the end of a road, past Muratie Estate, so it doesn’t seem to get quite as busy (as Spier or Fairview, for example). This is one of the original Stellenbosch wine route estates. In April 1971, the Stellenbosch Wine Route was founded

Delheim today is owned and run by Spatz Sperling, his wife Vera, and a large Sperling clan. Delheim is a large complex of lovely rambling old buildings, nowadays connected with brick paving, softened with many trees and greenery. Here too is a small kids play structure.
The tasting takes place in an old-looking cellar, with people sitting at individual tables and benches mostly, and the servers/hosts bringing the wines to taste. They are knowledgeable, and do a great job of talking about the wines in a quiet, low-key way. Wine tasting is R25 for any 6 wines and juice is available for kids. We enjoyed the wines, as always, as well as pottering around in the shop.
There’s a great garden restaurant here as well---on a clear day there is a view all the way to Table Mountain in the distance. It serves breakfast, lunch and snacks, with a variety of dishes, from cheese platters, to traditional German or South Africa fare.
Delheim is on Knorhoek Road, a little north of Stellenbosch on the main road to Paarl.
Open daily 9am-5pm, except New Year’s Day, Good Friday and Easter Sunday, Christmas Day.
For more information see www.delheim.com (English, but German available).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been visiting Delheim for the best part of 15 years and it never fails to please. The restaurant in the garden is such a relaxing place with beautifully maintained gardens and such a sense of peace. The food is very good value and of a high qualityy and their wines also. I personally like the Spatzendreck and their Sauvignon Chenin Blanc. If you haven't been do your yourself a favour, turn off the R44 and pay a visit to Delheim you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Wines in a Spectacular Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our wine tasting at Delheim. For 25 ZAR, you get to try 6 different wines of your choice. It is not required that the entire party make the same selections, so you can try more than 6 if you are with someone willing to share. Our sommelier was highly knowledgeable about the different wines and expertly guided us in our choices and the order of our tastings. They are able to ship to Europe however there was no pressure to buy. The surrounding views are amazing, be sure to save some time to stroll about and snap a few photos.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delheim also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Delheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.