We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eendracht Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Eendracht Hotel to your Saves list
Eendracht Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
December-on-sale
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Horsham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I spent a lot of time looking up hotels before committing to travel. This hotel was the best option for what I was here for. A meeting so not wanting ultimate luxury and watching costs, but also wanting comfort. The hotel was charming comfortable and well located in town. The staff, friendly and accommodating. The breakfast, just what i needed to set up the day. The wifi did not work initially but they bought a new router and now fine. So why 4 not 5 stars. Little things really. The window was single glazed so road noise was an issue. Not busy but you did hear it. Also the room i was in had a great black out curtain but then a blind that let in loads of light. Why? Those little things let it down. Would I come again. Absolutely.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Raja Mukherjee
I am very glad that you chose us after you studied all of the options! I am sorry about the Wi-Fi. It proves to be quite a slippery bugger to keep up and running all the time but we always strive for better. Eendracht was the first privately owned hotel in the RSA to have Wi-Fi internet in all the rooms and was one of the first hotels to offer this service for free. We have recently also installed internet TV’s in our luxury rooms! I am very anxious to see how the guests will experience it. Then I have to apologize that we neglected to show you the blackout roller blind behind the decorative slatted blind installed just for that purpose to keep the light out and serve as an extra noise barrier. I can see that you are a discerning traveler and would like to have all your inputs so that we can better our product. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    34
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
45
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

very exquisitely nice little boutique hotel. centrally located. nicely decorated in a classical (british/european?) style. love the backyard garden, love the dining hall, anyway,, loved everything I saw.
i booked a small room for one person, the room is very cozy and nicely decorated, despite the fact that it's small. i checked in real late, key was left to the doorman, who doesn't know quite well about the situation, however it worked out fine after all. i checked out really early in the morning, when the reception was still closed. so i settled the payment afterwards online through email. the staff was very helpful. didn't have time to have breakfast there, but the dining room was BEAUTIFUL! anyway, couldn't complain about anything. and will definitely book it again next time when i'm in Stellenbosch.

超级无敌可爱的小酒店哦!中心位置(周围都是餐厅和商店),古典式装潢。订的单人房小小的确非常舒适和漂亮。后院的小花园即使在夜里看起来也美得很~ 餐厅没用到,但是看那漂亮的餐厅,早餐毋庸置疑会是很享受的!
入住和退房都在接待台的工作时间之外(是的,早上7点到晚上10点?自己查查哈~),但都没问题,被信任的感觉真好~ (虽然在预定的时候有信用卡抵押,当然~)。钥匙在入住的时候被留给了门卫;退房时我就把钥匙留房间,还留了张字条,最后费用通过邮件往来用网上支付了。
虽然待了极短的时间,但印象好到绝对是下次在stellenbosch待的首选呢!价格也相当不错~~~
总之,去住吧!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good day viento 19!
We are very happy that you stayed with us! We hope to see you again soon, and this time I hope for a bit longer! (We will see about the doorman!)
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

One of my most favourite stays in Stellenbosch. Great central position for surrounding restaurants and historical attractions.
The hotel rooms are clean and beautifully appointed. Cozy and warm on a cold winters night. I found the front desk staff very efficient and friendly.
I can confidently recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear 1959Peter
Thank you very much for your kind review. Did you know that this week we are installing internet enabled TV's in our luxury rooms! When you come again, be sure to book one of those!
Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was my second visit to Eendracht. The hotel is as lovely as ever and the staff happy and helpful. My room was big and spacious with a separate bath and shower which is great. The bed very comfortable, linen and pillows of a very high quality. The mini bar is well stocked at VERY reasonable prices. My room was on the ground floor overlooking the pool so nice to have the door open for fresh air. Eendracht is within walking distance to many, many restuarants and shops and is perfectly located. Just a pity I could not have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Travelbabe40
Thank you very much for your top review. We love it especially because it’s coming from a Top contributor like yourself! Any suggestions for improvements would be greatly appreciated. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I had been in Cape Town for a conference and at the last minute organized our trip to Stellenbosch over Easter. It was an ideal spot, the price was very reasonable, the rooms clean and well set up with fresh flowers around. All the staff were helpful and obliging, the bar was well stocked when we needed (? We didnt really need anything after the fine wining and dining in the area) a nightcap.We would easily walk to the variety of charming local cafes and restaurants and it was an ideal base to explore the surrounding region. Looking forward to the next time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Manager at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Fiona S. Al I can say is a big thank you and hope to see you soon! (Is that Carcassonne in your profile pic?)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from this hotel. It is such a nice hotel, looking at value for money, quality and central located in Stellenbosch. The rooms are nice, some fitted with spa baths, the service excellent and the breakfasts very good. Sleep here at least twice a year and returns every year.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you sir!!! Our high season is quite busy this year and my staff got an adrenalin rush when I told them about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a most suitable, quaint and quality hotel, well located. It's become our standard venue when traveling to Stellenbosch, which we do 2 to 4 times per year. It is clean, with good rooms, good staff, with uniqueness of a smaller establishment, which providesa better experience than the (respectfully) predictable experience of larger hotel groups. Danie J

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Good day Daniel J
Your quote: “…which provides a better experience than the (respectfully) predictable experience of larger hotel groups”, confirms exactly that which we are striving to provide for our guests.
Thank you! Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eendracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eendracht Hotel

Address: 161 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eendracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning (perfectly located) Village hotel - ambiance of a Stellenbosch house - consist of 13 rooms and 3 fully serviced semi self-catering units in a nearby 1928 listed house in the historic centre-Stellenbosch. Walk to 60+ restaurants, antique shops, museums, art galleries and the University. At the Minserie Str House we have 3 semi self-catering units. In keeping with the established standards which you would expect from Eendracht, we have added another building 5 minutes’ walk from Eendracht. The same - but totally different. The building is a 1928 listed house that was restored in its original Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eendracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eendracht Hotel Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eendracht Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.