We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Stellenbosch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rusthuiz Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rusthuiz Guest House to your Saves list
Rusthuiz Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   13 Piet Retief Street | Krigeville, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER @ RUSTHUIZ
Ranked #12 of 106 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best in Stellenbosch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent Guest house, superb location, very friendly and helpful staff. Furnished to a high standard throughout. Large sumptuous bedrooms with very fluffy white towels. Breakfast to set you up for the day. The only place to stay in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Joyce

Thank you for your review of Rusthuiz. It was a pleasure to have met you and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and share a glass of wine on the patio..

Kind regards from us all at Rusthuiz

Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    19
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
59
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our first stop after Cape Town and we were absolutely delighted to see the standard of this guest house. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and were upgraded to a superior room which was really lovely, very spacious and very efficient air con. The grounds are very peaceful in spite of being next a road, and there is also a small pool area which we made use of.
We only stayed one night but we would thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Jenny

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Rusthuiz. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I must say that the "double glazing" windows that we had put in last year, blocks out any noise from the street.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards from the friendly team at Rusthuiz

René Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We returned to Rusthuiz one year on, to our same room, leading onto the garden and delightful pool area. Proper pool loungers, with decent cushions - excellent! Ruisthouse rooms are either large or very large, and are well equipped, with comfy beds and good bedding (duvets). Downside (minor) is that most rooms have singles, not king beds. Bathrooms are clean and bright, but towels not so fluffy.

Staff are excellent, always cheerful and willing. Breakfasts are good, taken on garden terrace in summer.

Big plus about this B+B is it's proximity to shopping and eating in central Stellenbosch. Everything is a 10-15 minute (safe) stroll away. Not the cheapest place to stay in Stellenbosch, but it has a lot going for it. We will, undoubtedly, return next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Grahamee

I was thrilled to see that you came back to South Africa, Stellenbosch and Rusthuiz a year later! Thank you for your detailed feedback. It is much appreciated.

We are looking into the towels and all the non "fluffy" ones are out!

All our beds are singles, but we can make them into King size beds with the help of a "matress converter" Hopefully you can try that out next time.

Kindest

René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our first stay here was eight years ago, we hope it will not be so long before our next. Just as we remembered, Rusthuiz is an excellent guest house. It is in a good location for walking into town, our room was very spacious, with ample storage space, and everything is of the highest standard. The owner and all the staff are so pleasant and helpful, and the freshly cooked delicious breakfasts are delicious.
Definitely the place to stay in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear TAMember1234

What a pleasure to welcome you back to Rusthuiz after 8 years! Thank you for coming back and spending time here in beautiful Stellenbosch.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest

René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

warm welcoming, very peacefull, quiet, this guest house is 600M far from city center. It has also a swimming pool and a bloom garden. Internet free,TV , mini bar, the bedrooms are very cosy. This is a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Emma

Thank you for your feedback and recommendation of Rusthuiz! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here!

I must agree that the 600m walk to the town centre is a perfect distance. Close enough for a relaxing walk to and

Warm regards from a sunny Stellenbosch.

René Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in October of 2012. Rene and her staff were professional,
courteous and helpful in any way possible. The proximity to the city's business and restaurant
hub is an added advantage and one can walk to that area. Breakfast was of a great variety and all individual wishes were gladly met. The room, we were in the "Honeymoon Room", was very nice, comfortable and separate bath and shower rooms were welcomed. The bed was "heavenly".
All in all a treat to stay and we recommend it highly.

Room Tip: A room in the Main House would be our preferance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear ErnstSarasota

What a joy it was to accommodate you here at Rusthuiz last month! It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and loved your bed!
We love summer and I agree that all the fresh Summer Fruits are a plus on the breakfast buffet.
Everyone here hope to welcome you back to Rusthuiz in the future.

Kindest

René Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed only one night at Rusthuiz in Stellenbosch before we went home.

The guesthouse is situated outside the centre of Stellenbosch (about 600m walking) and also a convenient location to Cape Town Airport (about 30 minutes by car).

We had a friendly welcome and our room was great. Spacious with two bathrooms: one with a bath and toilet and the other one with a great shower. There are also magazines in the room. Internet is free. You can use Wi-Fi or use the PC in the living-room. The room and bathrooms were clean and everything you need is at hand. In the room you will find a map with all kinds of restaurants and things to do in the area. The staff is friendly and seems always willing to help.

There is secured parking. Only the parking area is narrow. Because of that guests are asked to leave the car keys in a safety locker. This in case they have to move cars to let somebody out the parking area.

Breakfast was very good and we almost regretted our choice to stay here only one night. This guesthouse is absolutely recommendable !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Dutch Travel

What a pleasure to read your review of Rusthuiz! Thank you for your detailed feedback, it is much appreciated by us all. I am sure it would be of great value to future Tripadvisor readers.

We look forward to welcome you back to Rusthuiz and beautiful Stellenbosch in the future..

Kindest

René, Hannelise, Marelize and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rusthuiz Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusthuiz Guest House

Address: 13 Piet Retief Street | Krigeville, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusthuiz Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from the centre of historical Stellenbosch. Awake to enjoy a leisurely breakfast on the sunny patio, then stroll through oak-tree lined avenues into town. You'll have your pick of restaurants, cafes and pubs for a bite to eat and something to drink. Your helpful hosts will advise you on the best wine estates to visit. In the afternoon relax at our sparkling pool.(air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, FREE WiFi, secure parking, and child friendly) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rusthuiz Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusthuiz Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.