We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating on a budget in Stellenbosch!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ginos in Stellenbosch

Ginos in Stellenbosch
Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600 , South Africa
021 887 9786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 175 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eating on a budget in Stellenbosch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Good food and a large variety of pizza and pasta in true Italian style, at an affordable price. Even the drinks are reasonably priced.
Great setting tucked away in secluded treed area but loads of activity with TV's all over to watch whatever sport is on.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best pizza around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I return to Ginos over and over. The pizza is the best in Stellenbosch in my opinion and extremely affordable.

It is very busy and very popular so if you go at peak times expect to wait for your food. The service is good and the venue is lovely with indoor being more formal and then an outside covered area which is more a bar vibe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Secret TripAdvisor Gem in Stellenbosch ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This restaurant is probably the most popular venue on a Friday night in Stellenbosch. But it is a hidden treasure that few TripAdvisor members have ever experienced!

Once you have visited Gino's, you will always return: provided that you are not homophobic, love a buzz and Italian food.
Although predominantly a pizza and pasta restaurant, I had excellent steak and other food before, but for that there are other great restaurants in Stellenbosch.

Here you'll find a jovial atmosphere and amazing gathering of families, friends, the rich, the poor (students), the who's who and the unknown. All having one thing in common: A Good Time!

The setting of this restaurant is stunning. It is located in a beautiful Cape Dutch national monument, in the heart of Stellenbosch's historic (lower) Dorp Street.

But the real secret (which only the residents of Stellenbosch know) is this restaurant is extremely affordable, great pizzas and a very good wine list. With a humble $2.00 corkage fee you are also welcome to bring your own wine.

But, Beware! This place may be very busy and, if you don't have good wine and company before the food is served, you may be very frustrated and disappointed...
I can definitely recommend this gem to our TripAdvisor friends!


Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Feel like a student !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had to be in Stellenbosch for a function later in the day and since we did not want to miss the rugby, we decided to have breakfast at Ginos and watch the rugby at the same time. Place was filled with students and we were pleasantly surprised by the prompt and friendly service of our waiter. We were 6 in the group and shared 4 "breakfast" pizzas....and they were good! They have their own parking, which is great, since you always battle to get parking in Stellenbosch. Great place to hang out, especially if you're a student.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Amazing ambiance. One of the best Italian restaurants I have been to. Friendly people and good service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginos in Stellenbosch also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Ginos in Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginos in Stellenbosch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.