We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally positioned and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stellenbosch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stellenbosch Hotel to your Saves list
Stellenbosch Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Exeter
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ideally positioned and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is ideally positioned for exploration around Stellenbosch.

It is in a typical Stellenbosch style building, with some extra bits. The courtyard area is a bonus and a nice place to sit out.

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome, despite being in a big group. We found the rooms to be clean and functional, though showers occasionally lacked power. Tea and coffee in the rooms was ample, and space was particularly good in the apartment style rooms.

Breakfast was plentiful, tasty and varied, with something for everybody.

On the same road there were several nice eateries, with the Culinary Art restaurant a particular highlight.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    75
    29
    9
    9
See reviews for
18
70
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is very well located in Stellenbosch and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in need of some updating and care which will bring it back up to where it should be. This should not be taken as a "don'd stay there" comment more just be aware. For what we paid it was very good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Based on other reviews, I had low expectations. However, it was quite the opposite. Staff were very friendly, the room was clean and well furnished. Breakfast was good, variety and quality of food was above average. The location of the hotel in Stellenbosch is excellent, there are many shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a very nice stay. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The hotel is great value for money, excellently located, and certainly worth a re-visit. We found the staff very eager to help and assist

Room Tip: We were on the top level, with a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is okay - just. It is very well situated in the town, pretty close to lots of restaurants etc. Glad I was there for only a couple of nights. The room was pretty cramped as was the bathroom. The bed was fixed to the wall or in my case not fixed to the wall! Breakfast was pretty ordinary and I cannot say the service was great. Doubt if I would go back there given a choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel is a dump. We stayed here on Tuesday 29th May 2012. We got a free upgrade. This must be some sort of joke!!!! Room was outdated. Musty spell, bed was a brass four poster and the top bar on the right hand side kept slipping out, so mind you're head if you are unfortunate enough to be staying here. The bathroom is so dated...... Its a long time since same has been done up. Furniture is stink. Carpet was stink. It all smells like moth balls......TV , an old thing that should be in a skip.Breakfast was burnt. Breakfast room could do with a good clean....... Does anyone do anything here at all........ Parking requires someone to come with you to open electronic gate. Why we couldnt have our own fob is a joke. Room keys are a riduculous size. Could they not update system to electronic cards? When you go to book this hotel, you are totally misled as they show you a beautiful room. Dont be fooled...... I dread to think what our other room would have been like if we did not get the free upgrade!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here is my best advice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Front Office Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to offer us your feedback and I wish to apologise for not meeting your expectations. I can assure you that we take all our guest’s comments very seriously as we strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

Part of the hotel is situated in a historic building which is also declared a National Monument.
Rooms in that part of the building have an antique flair to keep with the Cape Dutch theme.
That is also the reason why we have keys for the rooms instead of an electronic key card system.
We regret that you didn't inform us about your dissatisfaction with the room whilst at the hotel.
This would have given us the opportunity to offer you an alternative room in the new wing of the hotel.

The key tags are larger in size to prevent the keys from getting lost easily. Most of our guests leave their keys at the hotels 24 hour reception desk.
As a security measurement, no individual remote controls are issued to guests but the entrance to our car park is always operated by one of our staff members.

Once again, please accept my sincerest apology for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hotel is excellent value for money - especially since accommodation in Stellenbosch tends to be high. It is extremely well located in the best area of Stellenbosch town with excellent restaurants and shops within walking distance. Safe to walk around in the area at night and the area has lively but not noisy entertainment . The standard rooms are very small and would recommend upgrading to the bigger rooms

Room Tip: The standard rooms are very small and would recommend upgrading to the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Front Office Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We constantly strive to offer great service and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stellenbosch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stellenbosch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.