We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Never Return !!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Neethlingshof Estate

Neethlingshof Estate
P.O. Box 104, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
+ 27. (0)21. 883 8988
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 105 things to do in Stellenbosch
Attraction details
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will Never Return !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Along with family and international guests, I visited the Restaurant after we failed to get a reservation at a nearby restaurant at such short notice. I was expecting great food and atmosphere after reading previous reviews here on trip advisor but the food my company and I ordered was, to say the least, poor. The service was acceptable and the setting was amazing but the food we ordered was not up to standard, I ordered the Sirloin Steak with Pepper Sauce cooked medium-rare but when it arrived it was close to well-done, the potato wedges it was served with were soggy and tasted like they were bought frozen from a supermarket and then cooked in a microwave and then there was the pepper sauce which was absolutely disgusting,I must add that it was served cold and tasted watered down ( Spur Steakranch's sauce is 100% better) A few guests ordered from the Sunday Buffett which they found to be acceptable. I must say that I will never return to Neetlingshof Estate and I will most certainly not recommend it as a place for people to go to for a meal.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“One of the worst service experiences we had in a very long time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We arrived for their live music wednesdays, the lady informed us that there was no tables available even though we did phone earlier and she said we don't have to book! She said she will see if she can move a table from the inside to the outside section for us...after about 15min standing around she mentioned very abruptly that there are no tables, turned around and left us standing there...she continued with what she was busy with and ignored us. Very confused we decided to leave. This experience left me with a very bad impression of the place, and we will probably never return!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“What a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

You cannot go to the wine regions of SA without going to the vineyards. Excellent choice for the simple fact that they produce the wine of SA, Pinotage!. Spent a couple of hours with a trip round the process plant including a full expert presentation. Finishing off with a wine tasting session of over 5 wines, red, white and dessert. Thank you for a great experience and a new learning curve. Nice day in a wonderful region.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited this winery during a day trip from Cape Town. The grounds are absolutely stunning and worthy of a visit on their own. Because the winery knew we were coming we were shown to a beautifully set out table inclusive of matching wine glasses applicable to the wines, bread sticks to cleanse the palate, of course water and everybody had their own personal "slops" bucket. The young man attending us was very knowledgeable with his wines and more than generous with additional tastings. A lovely day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Impressive driveway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Driving down the tree lined avenue of stone pines to the old manor house which is stunning prepares you for an afternoon, or morning, of wine extravaganza. Several areas to wine and dine all very lovely. Some stunning gardens to admire and lots of outside seating as well as indoors. The wine tasting was a little slow and although the weather was gorgeous and we were enjoying the sunshine the tasting needed to be a little more fluid - pardon the pun! Very knowledgeable wine waiter and very pleasant. Wine wasn't bad either.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neethlingshof Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Neethlingshof Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neethlingshof Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.