We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great support staff, old rooms are larger, modern rooms are contemporary.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oude Werf Hotel to your Saves list
Oude Werf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
mumbai
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great support staff, old rooms are larger, modern rooms are contemporary.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Choice of room has to be asked, its not offered. Pool area is quiet for those with kids n wud like splash some water around. Ample car parking and welcome sweet wine option is a good change to the regular juices offered at most other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    78
    37
    19
    15
See reviews for
22
131
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed just for a few days, last december. It was our best hotel-experience of the 2 weeks we travelled in the Western Cape.
The mix of history with the modern rooms was great. We loved the swimmingpool area. It was quiet en beautiful.
Breakfast was served outside, very cosy and they had everything you could wish for.
The location was perfect. Staff very friendly.
The only thing i would change is the internet acces. This was only possible at the reception.

Room Tip: If you like modern. Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and found that it was a great base for exploring the South African wine country. The hotel is reported to be the oldest in South Africa, and the lobby is true to its historical roots. Our room was the opposite, with ultra-modern fixtures and design worthy of an HGTV makeover. The room was very comfortable, with a great large shower and nice view of the quiet courtyard and pool. The location is great, as it is a short walk (2-3 blocks) from great restaurants and cute shops. There are also a couple of nice wineries in Stellenbosch, which we enjoyed visiting on our tasting tour. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in the Oude Werf last September 2012, I have finally got round to writing this, as I promised the hotel I would!

We spent a few nights in the hotel whilst visitng the beautiful wine district of Stellenbosch. The hotel is just fantastic, although it is old it is so full of character.

The manager could not do enough for us and was just so helpful. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom was amazing, a free standing bath and a walkin shower that was enormous! The hotel was quiet and the food exceptional. The breakfast had everything to choose from, fresh fruit, cooked eggs, delicious home made banana bread and more!

The manager booked a few trips for us one of which was a walk around Stellenbosch with a guide, trying local produce and visiitng places we would never have found, it was a very worthwhile morning.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area, you could not ask for a better location, nicer accommodation, polite and helpful staff or value for money!

Room Tip: They all looked amazing, ours was at the front of the hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Dear Oude Werf Hotel Management

PLEASE CAN YOU READ THIS LETTER TO ALL THE STAFF WITHIN YOUR BUSSINESS:

I would like to send a personal note of thanks for the outstanding service level of the Hotel. The hospitality standard are world class. The difference your people make within your business are beyond words. I always believe that standard of employment determine success within the business and would like to thank each and everyone for the outstanding service level and smiles that made our stay such a pleasant experience.

The morning we left our hearts remain at your Hotel and staff.
We’ve recommended your Hotel all our family and friends.

Kind Regards

ADRIAAN KEARNEY & ELIZABETH WALTON
BAKERY GENERAL MANAGER

Room Tip: Ask Tanya Larke to get a clear indication on your specific needs. She is a wonderful person and woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Oude Werf Hotel mid December. It is in the centre of Stellenbosch and is surrounded with lovely shops and restaurant. Every staff member we encountered was great - friendly, nothing was ever too much trouble and always willing to help. Our bedroom was large and comfortable and the breakfast offered is fantastic. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great location in the centre of Stellenbosch, with parking available. We stayed 2 nights and were very happy with our stay. The staff were very helpful and our room was quiet. The pool area is perhaps a little small for a hotel of this size, but it probably couldn't be any bigger due to underground parking garage. Breakfast was a buffet with a great selection and very nice. We would stay here again if in Stellenbosch due to its location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel landmark in the heart of its second-oldest town of Stellenbosch, a stroll from the rich experiences of this capital of the Cape Winelands. The recently renovated national monument blends period features with intimate contemporary luxury. A Georgian manor house flows to a vine-covered courtyard, the hotel's signature new restaurant, and a lounge and bar overlooking shady gardens and pooldeck. The Hotel's 63 superb accommodations include 33 chic en suite Superior rooms, 5 multi-room self-cater apartments and 24 spaciously stylish Deluxe en suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oude Werf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.