We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel - outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 107 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel - outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent two nights in this excellent small hotel in the pretty town of Stellenbosch. Our room in the old house was elegant, spacious and beautifully furnished and our bathroom was equally spacious and luxurious. The grounds with the two pools were delightful and the staff were extremely helpful and courteous especially Justin who was a fount of knowledge about the local area and keen for us to have an outstanding stay. Breakfast was excellent and could be taken indoors or in the beautiful garden. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the old house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    119
    38
    16
    5
See reviews for
29
266
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds, yorkshire england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

stayed here for a couple of night on route to Cape Town. Very Pleasant hotel with friendly staff. Rooms were a nice size..and breakfast was good.

a couple of mins stroll into town.....with plenty of places to eat/drink.

the four of us in our party, booked a wine tasting full day tour through the hotel,,,with a lady called Eillen, very pleasant day out and informative.

pool area nice to relax around....would definitely go again....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

On a quiet avenue but a mere stroll into Stellenbosch provides you with an enjoyable short stay facility.
Although the facilities are limited, less is definitely more in this delightful boutique residence.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
Not a place to stay more than 3 days - in my opinion.
Well worth a visit if you plan to stay in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for one night on honeymoon , but wished we could have stayed longer,room was beautiful , staff v friendly , Justin was so helpful , gave us great tips on lots to see and do, would highly recommend it , hope yo return some time
E&J

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon recently at River Manor. We've been familiar with the hotel since it opened in 1997 and can only say that their success is well-deserved. From the one house they had then to the two adjacent properties with combined gardens and two pools, the guesthouse exudes a calm comfort with a lot of local Stellenbosch flavour. I was impressed by the warm welcome we received from Marieke and by the professionalism and friendliness of the General Manager Justin. He has a very good manner with the guests and obviously enjoys helping to plan their days with good tips on local wine farms and tours around the region. He certainly gave us some lovely ideas for the upmarket but small wine estates that we wanted to visit on this trip. Room number 5 upstairs is very comfortable with a balcony to the front and a huge bathroom with both bath and shower. The breakfast is very good quality and the hot items are cooked to order. One comment I made to Marieke on departure is that I missed a coffee plunger in the room. A huge asset for River Manor is its very central but not loud location. This makes walking to all the attractions, shops and restaurants in this charming university town so easy. Definitely a great address in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BS-Salmunster
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the River Manor in Stellenbosch, and as an FT I can only say one of the most relaxing places I have stayed in a long time. The staff are top of the line and really make you feel at home. Breakfast at the pool or have a finish up drink in the garden, an easy walk into town with excellent restaurants, bars and shops, I will be back a.s.a.p.

Room Tip: don't take 20/17 unless you need the exercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed 5 nights and from the moment we arrived the staff and Justin made the second stop on our tour a absolute delight our room at the top of the house was huge with a large bathroom and breakfast was poolside every morning with plenty of staff and Justin always around helping to make visit.Restarants and wine tasting recommendations were first class Will defiantly return to finish the other 400 wine estates we missed and stay at river manor.
Rick and Ness

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor is nestled in the heart of Stellenboch and the Western Cape Winelands. Set across from the Eerste River, in a peaceful avenue of Oak trees, just a short stroll from the village centre, with its museums, street cafés, and galleries, allowing guests to delight in a truly unique Stellenbosch experience.Elegantly furnished in a Contemporary Colonial Style, with personal service and attention to detail - the, wrap-around verandas, two swimming pools, a Studio Spa and secluded gardens, exude an atmosphere of luxury and privacy allowing for relaxation and comfort. A light and seasonal menu is offered at “Taste” enjoyed in the shade of the garden or in the Conservatory, complimented by a charming “Garden Bar”.Stylish rooms combine the conveniences of home with superior comforts, fruit details, bathrobes, Port and Sherry trays and evening turndowns, an experience of a bygone era. Not forgetting necessary modern conveniences of minibars, in room safes, tea and coffee trays, Wifi, overhead ceiling fans and air-conditioning.After leisurely poolside breakfasts, guests may enjoy guided Wine Tours departing daily from River Manor, or take a self drive through the majestic countryside to nearby golf courses, Franschhoek, Cape Town or Hermanus - to return to the sunny terrace to view a beautiful African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.