We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small intimate hotel - loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 106 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small intimate hotel - loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was the priciest hotel we stayed in during our 2 weeks in South Africa, although we did get a buy one night get one free when we booked with Trail Finders.

Pros
Excellent service - the staff have been trained to a high standard. We arrived before the official check in time and was given access to our room shortly afterwards
Lovely room with large comfortable bed and beautifully decorated
2 outdoor pools
Beautiful garden area where you can eat your breakfast
Good location - lovely shops and restaurants about a 5 or 10 minutes stroll away

Cons
None from us

I would just like to say a special thanks to Justin and his team for helping me when I left a much loved and expensive dress behind when we checked out. Justin arranged for this to be couriered to our next location and it arrived promptly. THANK YOU SO MUCH JUSTIN & THE RIVER MANOR TEAM

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    105
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
27
233
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our 3rd trip to SA and each time we have booked a 1st night stop to acclimatise - on both previous occasions we have stayed at the Spier Resort. The contrast could not have been any more obvious:-

1st impressions - the reception staff were really cheerful, positive and most importantly helpful recommending a selection of restaurants for an evening meal including the wonderful Oppi Dorp (see separate review). Oh yes, and the room was available without the customary 2 hour wait.

The room was spacious and really comfortable, the balcony with the seating area was a bonus. At breakfast Justin the GM was very visible dispensing good advice to holiday makers.

Stellenbosch is a lovely place and has a great campus town feel about it.

Will we come back to SA for a 4th trip - certainly. Will we stay at River Manor again - you bet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in 6 other hotels on our Garden Route holiday, this was the most expensive, poorest value and fell well short of its billing. Location is great but the property is is need of some serious TLC. The breakfast was adequate but well below the standard we experienced in less expensive accommodation, and when you are aware there is an extra charge for cappuccino at breakfast, the word pennypinching comes to mind. It may be that all accommodation in Stellenbosch is more expensive that other parts of SA, but in the long term it needs to be justified with quality and service to match the price otherwise people will stay elsewhere. Justin was very helpful with things to do, but so were the staff in the hotels we stayed in. The River Manor will definitely not be on our itinery when we return to SA.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at River Manor. We actually value the constructive criticism more than the wonderful glowing reviews which always helps us to improve our level of service. If you would be so kind as to send us an email with some detail as to why you find our property in desperate need of some "TLC", we would be most grateful.

We are sorry that you did not see the breakfast menu available in the conservatory which clearly states that all special coffees other than our fresh filter coffee,is an additional charge.

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe aux Canonniers
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very well located, we appreciate the rooms around the pools. This old fashioned place offers charming bedrooms, just enough space for a short stay. Breakfast in the garden is great. We enjoyed the bar service until 11pm. The management is devoted to customers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brief but honest review of your experience at River Manor.

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is my second time in beautiful South Africa and the only hotel I wanted to stay again at was this one. The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff are helpful but not intrusive, at breakfast the management will wander through the tables making sure all is ok with your stay and making helpful suggestions as to places to visit, also booking transport or tables at one of the fantastic restaurants in the area for that evening’s meal. The rooms are spacious and clean and the two pools are not heated but clean and large enough for a quick swim so not to feel to guilty about indulging in the fabulous food. When I think of South Africa my mind always drifts back to River Manor. Thank you for my lovely memories.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights of our honeymoon. Nice boutique hotel. Breakfast was satisfactory. One down side bed very soft not good for people with back problems. Staff very friendly and helpful.lovely garden with two swimming pools.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham sussex
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were given the honeymoon suite which was a really huge room with a massive bathroom. The owners were really helpful with where to eat and booked us on a great wine tasting day. Hotel is well situated and has 2 small pools. Breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor is nestled in the heart of Stellenboch and the Western Cape Winelands. Set across from the Eerste River, in a peaceful avenue of Oak trees, just a short stroll from the village centre, with its museums, street cafés, and galleries, allowing guests to delight in a truly unique Stellenbosch experience.Elegantly furnished in a Contemporary Colonial Style, with personal service and attention to detail - the, wrap-around verandas, two swimming pools, a Studio Spa and secluded gardens, exude an atmosphere of luxury and privacy allowing for relaxation and comfort. A light and seasonal menu is offered at “Taste” enjoyed in the shade of the garden or in the Conservatory, complimented by a charming “Garden Bar”.Stylish rooms combine the conveniences of home with superior comforts, fruit details, bathrobes, Port and Sherry trays and evening turndowns, an experience of a bygone era. Not forgetting necessary modern conveniences of minibars, in room safes, tea and coffee trays, Wifi, overhead ceiling fans and air-conditioning.After leisurely poolside breakfasts, guests may enjoy guided Wine Tours departing daily from River Manor, or take a self drive through the majestic countryside to nearby golf courses, Franschhoek, Cape Town or Hermanus - to return to the sunny terrace to view a beautiful African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.