We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would certainly return again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 106 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would certainly return again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We had 3 very enjoyable nights at River Manor. Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet with a very large bathroom. Being so centrally located makes it easy to walk everywhere in Stellenbosh so you can leave the car at the hotel ! All the staff were very helpfull and Justin , the Manager would not have been more helpful helping us to select wonderful places to eat and to visit. Breakfast in the pretty garden made for a relaxing way to start the day. We shall certainly return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    104
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
27
232
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Arrived not feeling too good, but were made to feel welcome. Our room was large, and clean and the bathroom was enormous!
Lovely garden and pool area, where breakfast is served. Justin (the manager) likes to check with every guest in the morning that all is well and that they have plans for the day, or need help! Very hands on, and attentive staff all round.
The hotel is central to the main tourist area and there are lots of wine estates nearby. Tours can be arranged by the hotel - good idea if no one wants to be designated driver!
Stellenbosch itself is lovely a real mix of tourists and students.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Last week I stayed in River Manor, which was above all expectations. If you want to enjoy Stellenbosch, want to be close to the centre of town, but still want to have the feeling you are not, I can really recommend the place! The place has a lovely setting, with a beautifull and peacefull garden. The 2 buildings are national monuments, which really ads to the entire atmosphere. The service is also excellent,so really nothing to complain about at all.

Thanks Justin (the manager) for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stay in the River Manor Hotel with my partner in early January 2011. The manager, Justin and his staff did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and memorable, The hotel is amazing. It is in a beautiful setting with lush gardens and a small outdoor swimming pool. The building are colonial in style, characterful, well maintained and interesting. The food is brilliant and the service is the best I've ever had and I travel a lot all over the world. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Situated within walking distance of everthing in the historic town of Stellenbosch. River Manor was just the friendliest place, with well appointed rooms for us to kick back and feel pampered. An "out out of Africa" theme makes you feel like you are part of history of this great town! XX

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Our stay in River Manor has been a real pleasant one. The location is great, quite near the centre of the unexpectedly quite busy Stellenbosch, but you have absolutely no notice when inside the property! You really can relax here.

The atmosphere is very peaceful, the garden is very tastefully decorated, as is the manor itsself and the owner and the staff are really friendly and courteous.

Although the room and bathroom are maybe a bit small for this price range, I can really recommend the place!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Great couple of days here, excellent location for exploring the winelands around Stellenbosch.

The general manager, Justin offers a truely special level of service.

The rooms are pleasant although there was no mini bar and the bathroom was a little tired, could be updated, however if you required any beverages the service was excellent.

Staff were forthcoming with recommendations to help you during your stay, all of which were superb (both for restaurants and wine tours. Incidentally make sure you book a wine tour with Irena through them, she is outstanding, also visit Ernie Ells Big Easy Restaurant if you enjoy your steak!!!)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for a wonderful review of our property, River Manor. We take great pride in offering our guests the very best service and hospitality. We would however appreciate it if other businesses were not mentioned or rated in reviweing our properties as your experiences with these various activities or suppliers might unfairly affect our rating as a Boutique Hotel.

Sincerely,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor is nestled in the heart of Stellenboch and the Western Cape Winelands. Set across from the Eerste River, in a peaceful avenue of Oak trees, just a short stroll from the village centre, with its museums, street cafés, and galleries, allowing guests to delight in a truly unique Stellenbosch experience.Elegantly furnished in a Contemporary Colonial Style, with personal service and attention to detail - the, wrap-around verandas, two swimming pools, a Studio Spa and secluded gardens, exude an atmosphere of luxury and privacy allowing for relaxation and comfort. A light and seasonal menu is offered at “Taste” enjoyed in the shade of the garden or in the Conservatory, complimented by a charming “Garden Bar”.Stylish rooms combine the conveniences of home with superior comforts, fruit details, bathrobes, Port and Sherry trays and evening turndowns, an experience of a bygone era. Not forgetting necessary modern conveniences of minibars, in room safes, tea and coffee trays, Wifi, overhead ceiling fans and air-conditioning.After leisurely poolside breakfasts, guests may enjoy guided Wine Tours departing daily from River Manor, or take a self drive through the majestic countryside to nearby golf courses, Franschhoek, Cape Town or Hermanus - to return to the sunny terrace to view a beautiful African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.