We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe, food and service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oppie Dorp

Oppie Dorp
137 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
021 8833889
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 181 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great vibe, food and service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was so impressed by everything at this restaurant. The location is so convenient and it is nice sitting outside. The food was reasonably priced, especially when you see the presentation, quality, and portions!! I was sooo impressed!!! The service was absolutely fine here and you feel so welcome and at home. It really is relaxing. Best of all, there is free corkage!!! I will go again and again to this restaurant!! They change the menu weekly which is great for those who eat here often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    87
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
river forest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We really enjoyed this lovely little Bistro in Stellenbosch. The food was excellent. I had the lamb shoulder -yummy! My daughter had the sirloin which was equally as good. The sauces on our meats were wonderful. The service was knowledgeable, helpful and very accommodating. We had a very enjoyable time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro, fabulous service and setting .... even the background music is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Funky little restaurant in the heart of Stellenbosch.

This extremely well priced and appointed bistro is a new addition to Stellenbosch and they are already having to service waiting lists on week days. With service like this is it not hard to guess why. Extremely attentive and knowledgeable staff make this a fantastic dining experience. The food certainly punches above it's weight for the price point with a great local wine list (starting at 80 ZAR), with plenty to choose from by the glass (at 25 ZAR)

I have to admit that my Chicken dish was over cooked (very dry) and the food presentation is indicative of the price point, but over all the whole experience makes up for this.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, professional service, delicious food (try the lamb shoulder!) and good prices. What more do you want?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

How refreshing it is to have a restaurant in town where owners are always on hand to provide good service and attend to special requests from guests. Waiters are very well trained and friendly. Located against a relatively busy street, with a nice big tree and strategically placed "Oppiedorp" barriers, has a Paris street cafe feel to it. Menu is small, but only half the story, always some nice specials available. Menu is diverse to suit all needs, from lovely Pizzas to great seafood (especially the Calamari) and all sorts of red meats, salads etc. Spacious private room for larger groups (8-10) inside the restaurant. Have been there 5 times now, and will definitely go back. You know what they say, eat where the locals eat!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oppie Dorp also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Oppie Dorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oppie Dorp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.