We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible setting for wine tasting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stark-Conde Wines

Stark-Conde Wines
Jonkershoek Valley | Oude Nektar Farm, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
+27 21 861 7700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 116 Activities in Stellenbosch
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This boutique winery is picturesquely nestled in the Jonkershoek Valley, just 3 kilometres outside town in Stellenbosch. The setting is simply overwhelmingly beautiful - hence, the name of the Postcard Cafe. What was intended to attract more feet to the tasting room; a little cafe linked to the winery, has now become the winery linked to the Cafe instead. The winery is intensively family-run; German father, Japanese-German daughter and Cuban-American husband co-own the winery with their two daughters working weekends to help in the fully booked cafe. Winemaker and co-owner, Jose Conde hand-crafted his first-ever Cabernet Sauvignon vintage in a store room of the winery at the time in 1998. The four barrels aged gracefully and received five stars by John Platter -evidently Jose had been destined to be a winemaker and not a graphic designer. Adding to the talent, the farm's higher elevations and finely textured soils (perfect for Cabernet Sauvignon), made it a painless career change. 2013 celebrated Jose's fifteenth vintage with Old Mutual (South Africa) and won Stark-Conde the acclaimed trophy for Most Successful Producer in South Africa, Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon and Trophy for Best Shiraz. Steep alterations in vineyard elevation make for a range of sites with distinct characteristics. Combined with the tremendous winter rainfall in Jonkershoek, (3 times more rain than Stellenbosch) these qualities ensure a more than suitable terrain for growing Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Merlot, Petit Verdot, Cabernet Franc, Malbec, Petit Syrah and Pinotage. Jose firmly believes in traditional winemaking - hand-picking, careful hand selection of the grapes, manual punch-downs, open-tank fermentation, basket pressing, and patient maturation for 22 months in French oak barrels. With only 6000 cases produced annually, wines are not sold commercially and the proverbial 'word of mouth' is solely relied upon for advertising. Not that the scenery should not be enough of a reason to visit - a charming, small Balinese tasting room floats on its own little island in the middle of the dam surrounded by mountain peaks, vineyards and tranquil valley vegetation. Tastings are personal and intimate, with attention paid to the finer details of each wine. Stark-Conde has three different brands. The Three Pines range is a single-vineyard, flagship estate selection while the Stellenbosch wines are blends from different vineyard blocks on the estate. Stark-Conde Field Blend is the only estate white wine produced and is compiled from a single block of three different cultivars grown together namely Roussanne, Chenin Blanc, Viognier and Verdelho. This wine is elegantly balanced with richness and aromatics from the Roussanne and Viognier, combined with fruit and acidity from the Chenin Blanc and Verdelho components. Stark-Conde Postcard Series are from selected vineyards outside the farm.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible setting for wine tasting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Truly a wonderful setting to experience a delightful range of wines. The staff was gracious and knowledgeable. I found the upper range of reds to be of great value. Although busy at the time of our visit we never felt rushed. Post card perfect views with food and wines to do it justice.

Visited March 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stark-Conde, Public Relations Manager at Stark-Conde Wines, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. Always a pleasure to know our wines are appreciated. Regardless of high season being very busy, we value our customer's experience and do not wish to make haste with our tastings. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“a must wine tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Range of good wines and excellent wine tasting facility in the middle of the dam with a beautiful scenery amongst nature. Unfortunately no restaurant facility.

Visited December 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stark-Conde, Public Relations Manager at Stark-Conde Wines, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. Stark-Condé Wines does indeed have a restaurant on our premises, Postcard Café serving fine home baked pastries and light lunches. The Café has become extremely popular and booking is essential over weekends. We do hope to have you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Understated, all-weather elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

You know you are at the right address when you always feel like not going back home. The cuisine, the wine, the picturesque surrounds make for a perfect setting - whatever the occasion! A must-do for any discerning wine lover.

Visited May 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stark-Conde, Public Relations Manager at Stark-Conde Wines, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Always a pleasure to hear of happy guests who appreciated our setting and offering. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited Stark-Conde as part of a winery tour. We enjoyed wine tasting and lunch,and we're not disappointed. The views from the wine tasting room are absolutely stunning! My tomato soup was the best I have had, and myboyfriends prawn curry was good also. Excellent wine. Thoroughly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stark-Conde, Public Relations Manager at Stark-Conde Wines, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Always a pleasure to know our guests had a pleasant visit to our farm. We love this time of year as Stark-Condé when the Autumn leaves colour our landscape. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were looking forward to a nice tasting at SC, but on arrival at the tasting room, we were kept waiting for 15+- minutes without so much as a greeting or an offer to help. Then the next people who arrived got greeted and offered a tasting, which prompted us to leave. Needless to say, this was an extremely disappointing experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stark-Conde, Public Relations Manager at Stark-Conde Wines, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
On behalf of Stark-Condé I would like to apologise for your unwelcoming experience. This is not the way we run our tasting room and the incident has been discussed with relevant staff members. We trust that this would not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stark-Conde Wines also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Stark-Conde Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stark-Conde Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.