We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly holiday in a perfect hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lanzerac Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lanzerac Road | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly holiday in a perfect hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

In january, we've spent 3 weeks at the Lanzerac Hotel, like we do every year.
The Lanzerac has stolen our hearts. It is situated in a beautiful region, in the middle of vineyards, which ensures a quiet & peaceful surrounding, even so close to the town of Stellenbosch. The historic colonial buildings are decorated with passion & respect for that history, which results in a luxurious splendor.
But what gives the hotel that extra, is the service and kindness the hotel provides for its guests. The hotel staff is so friendly, no effort is spared to accomodate every wish ! Especially the reception desk ladies and their front office manager are an example of professionality - nothing a guest asks is impossible, and everything is done with a smile !
When it comes to the restaurant, amazing !! In our 3 weeks of stay, we've dined almost every night at the Lanzerac, for the simple reason that the food was perfect : always fresh produce, variety, with attention to detail. Michelin-star quality. A flamboyant young chef who has passion for food - and that you could see in évery plate coming out of the kitchen !
In short - as close to perfection as one can get in a hotel !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    51
    27
    19
    9
See reviews for
23
106
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Lanzerac. On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of wine while checking in. It all occurred nice and quickly without any problems. We were escorted to our room, which was hidden at the back, providing a nice peaceful location. The room was perfect and spacious with a magnificent bathroom and a great view from the french-doors of the mountains and some of the vineyards.

We explored the grounds and were amazed how wonderful the scenery was. The hotel was preparing for a wedding and it was clear why the couple had chosen it as a venue. With the blue sky, green grass, white buildings and lovely gardens it was ideal.

Meal wise we were not disappointed. We only enjoyed one night's dinner in the restaurant, my fiance enjoying a nice steak and I the wildebeast. The food was delicious, the service was quick, although the dinning room was a bit hot. Breakfast the two days were great, with a good cold selection from the buffet and some nice hot options from the menu.

A cellar tour and wine tasting was included with the stay, however we had to pay to use the spa facilities. The only part of the stay that I can really criticise, is the farm's wine. It was above average for South African wine, with the red better than the white.

Definitely recommended!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We spent Christmas Day at Lanzerac Manor and it was a really disappointing experience! This hotel has no atmosphere or "warmness" and stands like an old dusty lady! We checked in early afternoon and were only offered the remains of a 150 persons buffet, totally disgusting presentation and products not fresh anymore. It was our Christmas day. Service was not good at all, no pool attendant, no pool towels, terrace chairs had no cushions and table was covered with dust.... Cellar was closed because Christmas Day, no wine tasting either for the same reason... All the staff looked very unhappy to be there on that day!!! I would not recommend to stay in this hotel till they considerably improved their service/decoration or change their price... The price they are charging is far from reflecting the standard of service of the hotel (1400 rd/person!!!). We have been expats for the last 20 years and we do travel A LOT. That's our worst hotel of the whole trip in South Africa and maybe price/service the worst of all we tried. Definitely avoid!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

We stayed 2 nights after flying all night from London. We had arrived at Cape Town in the morning and as we felt so ragged after the flight, we checked in hoping we could have our room. We were told it would be ready in 30 mins which we thought acceptable as we were so early. In fact, they had our room ready after just 10 mins. The service was exemplorary. Our room was very large with its own private balcony and truly spectacular views of the mountains. It was just the perfect place to recover from the flight.
I don't recognise some of the restaurant reviews as the food and service was great. There was a conference going on while we were there which rather spoiled the romantic atmosphere but it wasn't too bad. Indeed, initially, we were told that there was no room in the restaurant and we'd have to eat at the bar. But when we arrived, they apologised that there had been an error and we would eat in the restaurant after all.
The tour of the wine cellars is short and sweet to say the least (lasted 15 mins), but as residents, we were given a free wine tasting session. The breakfast buffet is a good standard but not spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western cape
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Lanzerac Manor is a collection of historic Cape Dutch buildings in a glorious setting. Our 1-night stay was a birthday treat for a spa-lover (me!), so it was disappointing to arrive mid afternoon looking forward to a swim and sauna to be told that the spa closes at 1pm on Sundays. Our room was quite nice but not 'wow' as it should have been for such a high quality hotel. And niggly things caught the eye like scuffed furniture and biscuit wrappers in flower beds on our terrace. Hot water ran out after one bath, at which point husband rang reception. To their great credit, they moved us to an extremely smart suite. Sadly, Lanzerac continued to fall short though. Our evening meal was pretty ordinary, though service very attentive. Breakfast buffet only OK, and no fresh orange juice and foul coffee. Service fell by the wayside a bit at breakfast.
The spa treatments were fun and staff very nice, but as the pool heating had broken down we never did get that swim ...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We've stayed at Lanzerac twice before our recent visit in February and absolutely loved it. I was a little disappointed this time however. Not with the hotel but the restaurant actually.

Lanzerac is a five star establishment. It's the Grand Dame of Stellenbosch. And it still has plenty of its old world charm, the porters, the reception. Everyone was amazingly attentive and friendly. Our room was wonderful, next to the pool. When I think back now I have to say that this was five star through and through.

However, the restaurant was really a big let down. I don't know if we were just unlucky, but both meals we had was unacceptable.

February is a hot month, so we sat outside on the terrace for lunch and I ordered a salad, which in retrospect I should have sent back when it was placed in front of me, but I thought maybe it was just the heat. The leaves were all wilted and droopy. Bad salad can make you really ill, trust me on this. I found that out later that afternoon.

The next evening we had dinner in the restaurant and this is how it went:
The sommelier was great. He advised on just the right wine for the meal and we had a taste before we decided. We placed our order and settled back with our wine and waited... and waited... and waited. People who sat down after us were finished with their main meals and we still waited. Eventually we flagged a waiter down and his first words were, are you ready for dessert? To their credit they apologised profusely and rushed to get our meal out. But by then it was already very late and we didn't enjoy it. I'd also have expected at least a coffee on the house for the mix up but nothing.

The restaurant really spoiled things for us. I would definitely NOT recommend it. Which is a pity as it is in such a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Lovely place, great service and fantastic food. Only disappointment while we were there was the weather...!

I notice a few reviews with shakey service, however, while we were there we received nothing but excellent service. Only stayed the 1 night but wish we stayed longer.

I was not in the best of shapes upon arrival after a pretty rough night with food poisoning in Cape Town. Nevertheless I wanted to try the food and we went for the 3 course meal. We ordered and after receiving the starter I knew there was no way I was going to be able to eat anymore. As a result I asked if I could cancel my order and just order a drink instead while my girlfriend ate her meal. The waiter said no problem at all and promptly cancelled the order. The manager then asked if I was ok and asked if there was anything he could do, he then arranged for a complementary freshly squeezed orange juice with compliments and told me not to worry about the meal cancellation. I have to say the service was first rate and I was fully expecting them to charge me for the main course as they must have made a start on it. Not the case at all and the fresh OJ certainly helped.

Would love to visit again one day to fully experience the food and fine wine. It was in a beautiful location and 1 night was simply not enough. I would have no hesitation in returning back there one day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Address: Lanzerac Road | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.