We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old worlde charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lanzerac Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lanzerac Road | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Old worlde charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Lanzerac Hotel and Spa really is a special place to stay! The majestic manor house, magnificent grounds, fabulous wellness spa and superb food - not to mention their lovely wines - really made for an excellent two day stay. I must say however, that as a five star establishment - their service doesn't quite make the grade. Some attention to detail was certainly missing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    62
    32
    24
    9
See reviews for
26
126
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at Lanzerac at the beginning of the year for a friends wedding. We only stayed 2 nights and both were brilliant! Having never heard of the hotel before we were a bit skeptical but on arrival we knew we had arrived somewhere special.

The room and bathroom were very spacious, tastefully appointed and clean. There is a lovely deck in the main courtyard where you can sample cheeses and wines from the area.

With us being there for the wedding we didnt get up to many activities but i don think you need to too. If you want a quiet weekend away from the hustle of Cape Town this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Lanzerac at the end of a 3 week wedding/honeymoon trip to South Africa. The setting is beautiful, a wonderful building with the back-drop of mountains. The staff were charming, especially the reception staff who were delightful, helpful and thoughtful. The staff were aware we were on honeymoon and made our stay very special. Petals in our room, wine, home-made cakes, fruit platters, all left with a lovely card from the staff.

We arranged a meal in the hotel restaurant and, as it was cold and just into winter, the Receptionist asked if we'd like to eat in the old bar area in front of a huge open fire. It looked lovely there so we asked if we could. The table looked an absolute picture, covered in petals, leaves etc and we had champagne "on the house" bought to us. The evening menu is not huge but everything on there looked wonderful and those meals we had were all excellent. The lunch menu is much larger and again, everything was perfect. Although a moderate sized hotel, it feels much smaller and more intimate. The bar is amazingly well stocked and the local Lanzerac wines delightful. We did the trip around the cellars and a wine tasting and yes, of course we ordered some wine to be sent home which arrived just 2 days after we were back in the UK - Yum!

Most of the rooms appear to be outside of the main hotel building with their own front door and terrace (with a table and chairs) overlooking the immaculate central grassed area. There are umbrellas in the rooms and at every exit from the main building so you needn't worry about getting wet on the very short walk to your room. The rooms are huge! We had already upgraded to a luxury room but am sure they gave us a junior suite. There was a lounge, bedroom (connected by a large archway), dressing room and large bathroom. The style was sleek, simple and stylish. In general, the rooms were in excellent condition with just a few minor flaws like sockets being a bit loose on the wall etc. With regards to the room, there is only one criticism, the hot water pressure was awful! It took 15 minutes to fill the bath and no other hot tap delivered a drop of water whilst the bath ran. We had plenty of time and were never in a hurry as we were on holiday so it was no great drama but could have been frustrating if in a hurry.

The spa area in truth looks a little "tired" and in need of a revamp. However, there are huge bi-folding doors which open straight onto a vineyard and up the side of the mountain, a fabulous view from a jacuzzi! The staff in the spa were lovely and it was very quiet, peaceful and relaxing.

One point worth of note, we had a day wandering around Stellenbosch. The hotel arranged their driver to take us into town. We had assumed that it would be easy to get a taxi back but whilst in Stellenbosch we didnt see a single taxi. Thankfully, we had the hotel number and just rang them for a ride home, make sure you take their number and a mobile phone with you if head into town!

All in all a really good hotel with fabulous staff who make your stay very special indeed.

Room Tip: All looked good, lovely to get one with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My self and a friend visited Capetown and the Western Cape in May 13. We decided to end our holiday with a stay at the Lanzerac a hotel and Spa which was suggested to me by a friend who has stayed there previously. What a lovely weekend!

The location was beautiful and standard excellent. Food was superb. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough. We spent a day in the Spa and the treatments were excellent I had a whole body deep tissue massage and a reflexology and they were as good if not better than I have had elsewhere.
The location is great 45 mins from the airport and about an hour from Capetown. I'll certainly be making a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kroonstad
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely late afternoon tea in the court yard. Exceptional beautiful old Cape Dutch building anf furnishes. Very good staff: a wad of notes fell from my pocket and a staff member drew my attention to it - commendable. We can recommend the Lanzerac.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a lazy Friday afternoon restaurant and as we have stayed at Lanzerac before we thought we'd take a trip down memory lane, after all it is 5 stars. We sat in the courtyard of the Terrace Restaurant and it is a magnificent setting, well kept gardens etc. The staff were OK although we had three different people tending to us. I orderdered the chicken roulade which ended up being a dry baby chicken breast on top of some aubergine and a raw pastry-ish thing (I have no idea what it was) and what seemed a teaspoon of an olive tapenade on top. My husband ordered the linefish of the day, Kingklip and mash but this was the size of the palm of my hand and drenched in a cheese sauce. presentation was poor and I believe my chicken was warmed up in a microwave as the one corner of the chicken was rock hard. I sent mine back and it was still on the bill! I complained and many apoligies were given that she forgot to tell the cashier to remove it. Very very disappointing indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had lunch with 13 colleagues at Lanzerac Terrace on a beautiful sunny Friday afternoon. Stunning afternoon filled with friendly efficient service accompanied by excellent wine and hearty meal. Lovely wine Estate full of history in brilliant setting.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Address: Lanzerac Road | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#8 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.