We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lanzerac Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lanzerac Road | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Kroonstad
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely late afternoon tea in the court yard. Exceptional beautiful old Cape Dutch building anf furnishes. Very good staff: a wad of notes fell from my pocket and a staff member drew my attention to it - commendable. We can recommend the Lanzerac.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    55
    29
    20
    9
See reviews for
23
112
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a lazy Friday afternoon restaurant and as we have stayed at Lanzerac before we thought we'd take a trip down memory lane, after all it is 5 stars. We sat in the courtyard of the Terrace Restaurant and it is a magnificent setting, well kept gardens etc. The staff were OK although we had three different people tending to us. I orderdered the chicken roulade which ended up being a dry baby chicken breast on top of some aubergine and a raw pastry-ish thing (I have no idea what it was) and what seemed a teaspoon of an olive tapenade on top. My husband ordered the linefish of the day, Kingklip and mash but this was the size of the palm of my hand and drenched in a cheese sauce. presentation was poor and I believe my chicken was warmed up in a microwave as the one corner of the chicken was rock hard. I sent mine back and it was still on the bill! I complained and many apoligies were given that she forgot to tell the cashier to remove it. Very very disappointing indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had lunch with 13 colleagues at Lanzerac Terrace on a beautiful sunny Friday afternoon. Stunning afternoon filled with friendly efficient service accompanied by excellent wine and hearty meal. Lovely wine Estate full of history in brilliant setting.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Everything a stay in the Cape winelands should be. Set at the foot of the Jonkershoek valley, this hotel just doesn't disappoint. Stunning setting, generous rooms and great service.

We stayed in Stellenbosch in preference to Cape Town for my wife's 1st visit to South Africa and she was simply blown away. Right on the wine route and with the Stellenbosch village just a short drive away, there is more than enough to do.

And, if the weather turns a little damp, the old pub at the Lanzerac is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days at the end of March. The staff is so friendly and notices you whenever you come or go. The lunch on the terrace is a must, weather permitting, but the food at dinner is also gorgeous and delicious. The lamb shank comes without the bone and melts in your mouth and the pork belly is tender, tasty and not fatty at all.
Basil is particularly very articulate and an excellent waiter.
I also enjoyed the spa with my girl friends and we all had a lovely time.
The rooms are so spacious, you will appreciate it.
The swimming pool just outside our room (7) we could not use as it was too cold, but you can use the spa swimming pool when you stay in the hotel. The rooms are outside of the main building.
It was quite expensive at the time of booking compared to other places, but we thoroughly enjoyed it and would not mind going there again, although we are not people of habit.
Just go for lunch or dinner if you don't stay, it is well worth it; an old character traditional estate in a leafy residential side of Stellenbosch and close to many wine farms and town centre.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 outside the main manor and it was on a corner and quiet. Not sure about others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for just one night in December 2012 and wished we could have stayed for longer. The Manor is old and creaky and just full of character, breakfast and dinner were served in the Governors lounge, again a grand olde worlde setting, lots of wood and oil paintings, portraits of military looking types. The grounds are gorgeous with a lovely swimming pool, tried the spa too and had a fish pedicure (interesting experience). We stayed in one of the standard rooms, very spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and seemed to be happy in their work. There was an air of slight disorganisation about the place but in a good way, I would definitely come here again and would recommend it. Almost forgot........ we tasted some of the wines, would recommend the reds in particular.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room out of the main building, was quiet and spacious, table and chairs on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After a lovely morning of touring 4 vineyards - Bilton, Rust En Vrede, Dornier, Waterford, we arrived at Lanzerac for lunch. The restaurant wasn't busy, but we waited awhile in the Govenor's Lounge (very old world feeling) before being seated. My friend saw a wonderful book of a school friend's pottery - Ardmore - so we spent a fairly long time enjoying the book. I will say we did not have reservations, but it didn't seem like it would have been needed for a late afternoon, mid-week. I think my husband's linen napkin was re-used from another table (lipstick stain). We were w/friends (who selected Lanzerac). He didn't want to complian so he just turned it inside/out. The lunch was magnificent - fresh, tasty and perfectly priced with a glass of wine. Took a tour of the property. We took a self tour of all the property. We did not see a room, but I think I would certainly stay at the inn for a longer tour of the Stellenbosch area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Address: Lanzerac Road | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#8 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.