We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lanzerac Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lanzerac Road | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we spent there only one night and enjoyed every single minute, great property, nice room, friendly service, good value for money. Would suggest to improve the restaurant that is on a good level but compared to the rest of the einvoirenment need an extra step.

Room Tip: we stayed in the cottage, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    45
    27
    18
    8
See reviews for
22
91
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Without a shadow of a doubt, we can say that the Lanzerac has a unique feature which makes it different from any other 5 star hotel, and that is : the staff. Never have we seen a hotel where éverybody is so friendly, and makes so much efforts to make the guest's stay as comfortable as possible. And when we say everybody, we really mean éverybody. Housekeeping, kitchen, restaurant staff, reception, maintenance, gardeners, managers, well, éverybody at the hotel works with passion and loyalty for "their" hotel and "their" guests. This results in an excellent and personalised service which you can rarely find, even in the most luxurious hotels in the world. We just felt "at home" during our 3-week stay. And, not to be forgotten, our compliments to chef Stephen Fraser and his fantastic team, who succeeded in surprising us every night for 3 weeks in a row, with the most exquisite dishes !! Thanks, Stephen, Archie & the kitchen gang :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A good location for spending a weekend exploring the region, not really up to five star rating, or the price. The views are fantastic, but the rooms are now getting a little tired. Although the service at he restaurant was great the fish my friend had was overcooked, perhaps to hide hat it was not so fresh. My porkbelly was tasty but dry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here there are much better properties that I would try this place is very tired but when upgraded it will be back on. The rooms are old and musty very clean though I felt as if I was sleeping in someone's attic with a bed that was lumpy and had seen better days. The wine is good and the restaurant was great for lunch but avoid dinner this area has fantastic restaurants at surrounding wineries that should not be missed.
The grounds at this hotel are not kept up u can tell as the grass is all dead the pool lounges were filthy this hotel I would say would be for a budget traveller
Its to bad they should call the four seasons hotel chain to come and resue them!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed for just one night as part of our tour.The setting is beautiful and the accommodation excellent.We did not have an evening meal but I'm sure it would have have been excellent as the breakfast certainly was.It is certainly an ideal venue for business meetings and weddings as the grounds are superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at The Lanzerac in Feb 2012, A really luxurious Boutique hotel and very intimate, the wine tour is a must and the Spa is definitely an experience, I particularly liked all the quirky stuff you could do like there is an Art Gallery at the property, with beautiful outdoor areas great for children to run around and just sit, The mountain views are spectacular . There was a wedding at this venue also and the white chairs and white setting on lush green grounds was so romantic and beautiful to behold. Staff is brilliant and unfortunately I had to change my room 3 times as the Deluxe suite was nice but had water marks on the wall, the 2nd suite which was one of the older rooms with your own swimming pool was lovely also, but very dated and there was a lingering noise coming from the bathroom which was rather scary, I told staff I would like to leave the next day and they went all out , upgrading us to the Presidential suite which was magnificent and I could not fault....All in all, Lanzerac is a lovely hotel with a lot of character , a bit dated hence the few negatives here and there ...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We chose Lanzerac by its reputation. Its an absolutely wonderful estate. The furnishings and the setting are incredible. The room was great, very spacious. When we were show around, the kitchen chef was laying on the couch in the Cigar Lounge with his feet up on the table watching TV. He was not bothered by our presence either! The food was very very average. Not bad food by any means, but by far not up to the standard one would expect from such resort. From dinner time onwards the service was horrible. Complete lack of management. Would not advice anybody to go there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch
Address: Lanzerac Road | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.