We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location that needs updating.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lanzerac Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lanzerac Road | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location that needs updating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A good location for spending a weekend exploring the region, not really up to five star rating, or the price. The views are fantastic, but the rooms are now getting a little tired. Although the service at he restaurant was great the fish my friend had was overcooked, perhaps to hide hat it was not so fresh. My porkbelly was tasty but dry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    49
    26
    19
    9
See reviews for
23
101
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here there are much better properties that I would try this place is very tired but when upgraded it will be back on. The rooms are old and musty very clean though I felt as if I was sleeping in someone's attic with a bed that was lumpy and had seen better days. The wine is good and the restaurant was great for lunch but avoid dinner this area has fantastic restaurants at surrounding wineries that should not be missed.
The grounds at this hotel are not kept up u can tell as the grass is all dead the pool lounges were filthy this hotel I would say would be for a budget traveller
Its to bad they should call the four seasons hotel chain to come and resue them!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed for just one night as part of our tour.The setting is beautiful and the accommodation excellent.We did not have an evening meal but I'm sure it would have have been excellent as the breakfast certainly was.It is certainly an ideal venue for business meetings and weddings as the grounds are superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at The Lanzerac in Feb 2012, A really luxurious Boutique hotel and very intimate, the wine tour is a must and the Spa is definitely an experience, I particularly liked all the quirky stuff you could do like there is an Art Gallery at the property, with beautiful outdoor areas great for children to run around and just sit, The mountain views are spectacular . There was a wedding at this venue also and the white chairs and white setting on lush green grounds was so romantic and beautiful to behold. Staff is brilliant and unfortunately I had to change my room 3 times as the Deluxe suite was nice but had water marks on the wall, the 2nd suite which was one of the older rooms with your own swimming pool was lovely also, but very dated and there was a lingering noise coming from the bathroom which was rather scary, I told staff I would like to leave the next day and they went all out , upgrading us to the Presidential suite which was magnificent and I could not fault....All in all, Lanzerac is a lovely hotel with a lot of character , a bit dated hence the few negatives here and there ...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We chose Lanzerac by its reputation. Its an absolutely wonderful estate. The furnishings and the setting are incredible. The room was great, very spacious. When we were show around, the kitchen chef was laying on the couch in the Cigar Lounge with his feet up on the table watching TV. He was not bothered by our presence either! The food was very very average. Not bad food by any means, but by far not up to the standard one would expect from such resort. From dinner time onwards the service was horrible. Complete lack of management. Would not advice anybody to go there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we had booked a night June 21, 2012 at the Lanzerac Hotel, by paying in advance the deposit provided by the hotel.

June 19th we were informed that there were no more 'rooms available: they chose to accommodate a large group that had occupied the entire hotel.
believe that we have returned the money of the deposit, despite our many emails and requests?
Not respond even more 'our mail.
That dishonest!!
Away!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hi Joanna

Hope you are doing well.

I know this is a rather delayed response but better late then never!

We had a fantastic time at your hotel (21st Sept) & thanks so much for the lovely room that was allocated do us.
The staff were so friendly & everyone knew it was my husbands birthday so he felt very special!

They had a lovely table for us at the fireplace for our evening dinner & it was decorated beautifully with flowers & petals. They provided us each with a glass of champers which was a lovely gesture.

The food was outstanding, probably one of the best meals we have had in a while & we do tend to eat out alot! The breakfast the next morning was delicious & so much to choose from.

We also had some treatments in the Spa which were amazing & the staff were very professional in their work.

Once again, thanks to you & your team for making our stay & my husbands birthday so special, we had a wonderful time & will definitely be back in the near future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Address: Lanzerac Road | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.