We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a self-catering appartment than a hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Stellenbosch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Stellenbosch to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 12450, Stellenbosch 7613, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
468 helpful votes 468 helpful votes
“More like a self-catering appartment than a hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We reserved the Protea hotel as our last night destination in South Africa prior to flying home from Cape Town early the next day. We were well aware the hotel was not in the centre of Stellenbosch, but it is further out than we thought: around 10-15 minutes drive. Having said that, we managed to find the hotel in the car without real problems.

We were pleased to be given an upgrade on arrival to a suite, which had a large living room (with kitchenette concealed behind a cupboard) and a separate bedroom and bathroom, which were very nicely decorated and clean. The suite had 2 large TVs with a good selection on international channels, including the UK's Sky News - I just mention this small point because all other hotels/B&B's we stayed at in South Africa had very limited number of TV channels.

We arrived at the hotel early eveing after a very long drive from Oudtshoorn and were salivating over the prospect of a nice dinner! Originally we'd planned to drop the bags at the hotel and drive into town, but it was getting late and we were really too tired to do this. We naturally assumed that a hotel of the Protea's size would provide a decent on-site restaurant or two but were really disappointed to see what (limited) options were available. The main restaurant was only doing a buffet (which we try to avoid at all costs), and the bar area we were directed to as an alternative was more like a nightclub with extremely loud music, hardly a pleasant atmosphere for a nice dinner. Very irritated about this, we went back to the room and ordered room service. This was actually pretty good when it turned up, but I would not stay in this hotel again due to the lack of restaurant facilities and slightly inconvenient location out of town, with no restaurants within walking distance.

  • Liked — Large, spacious suite
  • Disliked — No full service restaurant on-site
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    71
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
28
51
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

I stayed here for a conference, based on the recommendation of the conference organisers. The good news first. The rooms are fantastic. I had a lounge, kitchenette and a bedroom, with great views of nearby mountains and vineyards.

The hotel, however, felt like a prison. If you don't have your own transport, which I didn't, then you are basically stuck on a concrete business park with NO access to amenities, services or shops outside of the hotel. What is the point of a kitchenette with a toaster, for example, if you can't buy a loaf of bread within walking distance of the hotel?

The biggest complaint I have is this - I tried to organise a taxi to nearby-ish (not walkable!) Stellenbosch. The reception staff could only point me to the hotel's 'transport service' (read one man and his very expensive, rip-ff van). I paid something like 150 rand EACH WAY. The driver basically discouraged me from looking for an alternative transport option back to the hotel (though I did see a couple of taxis around town). I also had to give him a definitive time to be picked up from the town centre, as he was busy elsewhere on that day.

Ridiculous service. Why doesn't or can't the hotel provide an inexpensive shuttle service into town?

  • Liked — Very little.
  • Disliked — The transport rip off.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Staying over new year, we had a ball in this hotel. We had a hire car, however, the hotel were able to organise a very friendly taxi for wine tours and journeys into town for the evening.
Hotel is surrounded by vineyards and several tours can be taken on foot.
Main restaurant does a good breakfast in a very pretty dining room, window seats are magic!
Black bull? bar also does excellent snacks and BBQ food in the evenings, music sometimes a bit loud, but maybe I'm too old.
Pool area is quite small, and got very busy, wasn't really a downside for us, as we were not really there on a pool type holiday, but I could see how it would be a problem if you were.
Staff were all brilliant, happy for us to move for a room with evening sun, and fantastic for helping with all our little queries.
Rooms are laid out in a motel type layout away from the central building. This suited us as there was no noise. Room was spotless and had large living room and nice large bedroom and bathroom.
Great great holiday.

  • Liked — Views and helpful staff
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

stayed here a few times now and cant fault it except the shutting of the bar,when you've been out all day and you want a nice drink especially the designated driver you get back and the bar shuts at ten.
not sure what this is all about as its not a young revellers place to stay and drink to the early hours just a decent time maybe an hour longer,come on protea this is 2008

  • Liked — great breakfast and rooms spotless
  • Disliked — bar shuts early
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

This is a lovely hotel, very smart, and when we were there, quite new I think. Here comes the "but" and it is not the hotel's fault and they did give us a discount. We think the vines surrounding the hotel had recently been sprayed so all the caterpillars had escaped and were everywhere in the hotel, on the curtains, all over the floor in the bathroom, on the outside of the walls and in the pool - quite harmless but rather unnerving! The weather may have had something to do with it too, it was April and had been quite stormy. It was such a shame as in all other respects the hotel was lovely and served a very good breakfast too. Lovely views from the dining room.

Hopefully they have resolved the problem, it was a few years ago and yes, I would stay there again. In fact, I have stayed in a few Protea Hotels and think they are very good.

  • Liked — view from dining room
  • Disliked — caterpillars
  • Stayed April 2004, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

It is located just outside of Stellenbosch, so you do need a car (you will probably be exploring the winelands anyway!) The hotel is set right at the edge of a vineyard, spread over a large park-like area. It is clean, modern, well appointed with huge comfortable rooms and good security. Great breakfast and the restaurant can be recommended for dinner.

If you are looking for a sense of history, graceful period furniture & all that jazz, rather stay at one of the guest houses in town, but I prefer this purpose-built hotel with none of the creaking wooden floors and awkward plumbing arrangements common to the older buildings in this beautiful historic town.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

We have stayed there twice in 2006 and it was great! Both stays were for a week. (September and December)

We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children under 5 years. We got the one bedroomed unit, it had a king size bed in the bedroom and 2 beds were placed in the living area. They put a cot in the bedroom for the baby at no extra charge.

Two nights we had work functions to attend, and we asked for the babysitting service, the lady they sent was professional and competant and about 40 years old. We were very happy with the care she provided.

During the days the children played by the jungle gym, swimming pool and sand pit (volleyball court) the reception also changed one of the channels so our kids could watch cartoon network.
They also gave good directions for the nearest shopping malls, wine routes, beaches. There was lots of brochures available with information.

The rooms were clean and spacious, cleaned daily, and in our unit we had a small kitchen area which was great for making bottles.

What was amazing for me was that a few of the staff members remembered us and went out of their way to greet us and our children, they really tried hard to make us feel welcome.

  • Liked — the staff, clean rooms, room size and location
  • Disliked — its so good that sometimes its fully booked and we cant get a room!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Stellenbosch

Address: PO Box 12450, Stellenbosch 7613, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Stellenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Winelands, in one of the most beautiful and heritage conscious towns, Stellenbosch is the second-oldest town in South Africa and affectionately referred to as the "Eikestad". Nestled between two international golf courses, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch offers all GUESTS the best of the Winelands. Accommodation is available in Executive, Deluxe and Standard Twin rooms, where Deluxe and Standard rooms configure to a two-bedroom apartment ideal for families and groups. Executive rooms have the best view in the house and are designed with the executive traveller in mind. Whether it’s the magnificent backdrop of mountain ranges you seek, perhaps just a scenic drive or wine tasting at the many surrounding wine farms, you will never run out of things to see and do. The hotel boasts two restaurants, two swimming pools, braai facilities, wireless internet access and the largest conference venue in Stellenbosch. If that’s not enough, why not gaze at the 270° view of the Helderberg mountain range, Blaauwklippen vineyards and the De Zalze Golf Estate. Whether it’s a family holiday or a team building activity you are looking for, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch is just the venue for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stellenbosch Protea Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.