We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in stellenbosch!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Stellenbosch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Stellenbosch to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 12450, Stellenbosch 7613, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
1 review
“Sleepless in stellenbosch!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is great but as I write this on at 1am on a Monday morning I can not sleep due to the drunken ruckus that has come from the restaurant all evening. Reception have promised the restaurant is closing for the past hour but clearly nothing has been done. Surely it is not unreasonable to want a good night sleep on a Sunday night - our one night away from the baby and toddler. Supposed to be a treat. I sleep better at home!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Good morning

Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor. This is the only true way for us to meassure our service and standards we are normally proud to offer. I would like to apologize for the noise that accured during your stay over with us. This is really not happening often at our property and we are truly sorry about this.

I hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    61
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
38
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Protea hotel recently during a Limmud conference. The rooms were excellent with views and doors opening onto the wonderful mountain scenery. The hotel sits on higher ground and the views are wonderful all around. In the winter the unheated pool is ice cold, a sort of thrill to jump in and then go into the heated one. There are sweet white ducks that wonder around the premises. Since our food consisted of a kosher buffet for the conference it may not be fair to comment on what the normal food consists of. Suffice to say the food we had for the conference was decent and consisted of Boerewors, fried fish and meatballs, all decent, but not exactly fancy fair. As a conference venue this place was a joy, it doesn't make the attendees feel all strung out from place to place, rather they are forced to mingle. The venue is beautifully attended and the staff are helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Good Day

Thank you for your kind words you posted on Tripadvisor. This is the only true way for us to meassure our service and standards we are so proud to offer. It was so great to have the group with us again this year and we hope to see you next year again.

Have a great day.
Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I have just returned from South Africa and we used the Protea Hotel Stellenbosch at Techno Park which is an outstanding property in a great location. If you are looking for 5 STAR treatment and hospitality; then look no further as they know how to welcome and take care of their guest. The General Manager, Mr. Sebastiaan Victor and the Rooms Manager, Ms. Sanell lead the way in showing top notch customer service and it is reflected in all of their staff members from check-in to check-out.

Therefore, if you are ever in the Stellenbosch or Cape Town area, I highly recommend that you select this property as they have everything that you will need on location to make your vacation even better. Yes, there is a great gym just down the street with all that you need and there are two pools and a braai area as well. What more do you need to enjoy a lovely vacation in a beautiful country but the Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, RSA.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that has the full size fridge and stove top for cooking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Good day

Thank you thank you for your nice comments. You and you're family are always welcome at our hotel. To be of service to such a wonderful family is just a privelage.

Looking forward to welcome you back.
Regards
Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, extremely friendly staff, decent restaurants and very good breakfast spread. I had problems with my room when I checked in initially, but my issues were dealt with swiftly and more than adequately by the reception personnel. The location of the hotel is nice and central to reach any points in Stellenbosch or surrounding areas quickly. It has a bit of an isolated feeling though, as techno park is out of the busy town area, but this is ideal for people who prefer to be away from student noise and general town business.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Good day

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the Tripadvisor website that you posted after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Stellenbosch and to hearing from you again!

Regards
Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel situated in the heart of the Stellenbosch vineyards and the village. The amenities are excellent, good restaurant, good pub and good service. Its close to excellent restaurants, the Stellenbosch wine route and golf courses.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your words of appreciation on the Tripadvisor website that you posted after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Stellenbosch and to hearing from you again!

Regards
Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have been to this hotel on a number of occasions and it is indeed good value for money for a 3 star hotel. The rooms are good and clean and views of the vineyards charming. The breakfasts are above average and the staff very helpful. Kenneth & Petra Fisher.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Good day Kenneth

Thank you for your kind words you've posted on Tripadvisor. It is always nice to see what we are doing we are doing right. I am really looking forward in welcoming you back.

Have a great day.

Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this protea hotel just one night but my wife and I enjoyed the stay. We had the buffet dinner in the cultivar resturant and the food was absolutely top class!!! The breakfast the next morning was also awesome. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculate and the bed very comfortable. Our verandah outside the lounge overlooked the vineyard and mountains. Such a beautiful view to wake up to. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to other people touring the cape or on business.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi there

Thank you for the kind words you posted on Tripadvisor. It is truly a pleassure to assist and accomodate all our GUESTS to the best of our abilities. Our service and standards are the only way for us to meassure how good we are.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Stellenbosch

Address: PO Box 12450, Stellenbosch 7613, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Stellenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Winelands, in one of the most beautiful and heritage conscious towns, Stellenbosch is the second-oldest town in South Africa and affectionately referred to as the "Eikestad". Nestled between two international golf courses, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch offers all GUESTS the best of the Winelands. Accommodation is available in Executive, Deluxe and Standard Twin rooms, where Deluxe and Standard rooms configure to a two-bedroom apartment ideal for families and groups. Executive rooms have the best view in the house and are designed with the executive traveller in mind. Whether it’s the magnificent backdrop of mountain ranges you seek, perhaps just a scenic drive or wine tasting at the many surrounding wine farms, you will never run out of things to see and do. The hotel boasts two restaurants, two swimming pools, braai facilities, wireless internet access and the largest conference venue in Stellenbosch. If that’s not enough, why not gaze at the 270° view of the Helderberg mountain range, Blaauwklippen vineyards and the De Zalze Golf Estate. Whether it’s a family holiday or a team building activity you are looking for, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch is just the venue for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stellenbosch Protea Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.