We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school ambience offers a pleasing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Devon Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Devon Valley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old school ambience offers a pleasing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is nicely situated on a hill overlooking the Devon Valley, with very convenient access to nearby estates, and Stellenbosch a few minutes away.
The Devon has loads of charm, in an old school sort of way. It is one of the older hotels, and it has a solid, honest feel about it.
The standard rooms are well appointed, but a little small, and we upgraded to a suite, which was great.
Service is friendly, breakfast above average, and the restaurant offers pleasant fare.
Several walking and cycling trails begin at the hotel., and if you like that sort of thing, it is well worth including this in your plans for the day. All in all, one of the nice places....

Room Tip: Standard rooms seemed a little small...but are very nicely appointed. Suites are significantly large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Kevin A

Thank you for your review and we glad you enjoyed the bigger upgrade room.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    98
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
37
180
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights from the 23rd October 2013 and we had Room 29. The Reception through to the Room service and staffing were just excellent. Beautiful rooms with great facilities alongside an outstanding dining experience. They have a truly comprehensive wine list accompanying great food and fantastic service. The views out from the hotel can be an experience in themselves and around the Hotel there are some great walks to be experienced with the staff making sure that you have routes and plans. There is Wi Fi provision but reception can be an issue in some areas but overall it meets travellers needs adequately. When travelling in this area, you can be reassured with the service and quality at this Hotel. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms away from the Hotel with a more modern feel, but the ones in the Hotel itself have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear TheRetiredTraveller

Many thanks fro your wonderful review. From a "Top Contributor", it means a lot to my team to get such a great review.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Second visit here and it surpassed everything I had remembered! Staff are absolutely amazing, nothing is too much trouble and everyone so happy and welcoming! This on top of the wonderful smell of lavendar and fabulous views means I will definitely be returning!!
Andrea

Room Tip: The vineyard rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear andrea m

I am delighted to read your review and know my fantastic team created a memorable experience for you!

We do hope to see you again soon

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a 4-star hotel with several pros and cons.
Plus points: The staff are all pleasant, efficient and helpful - especially one of the Managers, Andrew. The location gives super views across the valley to the far hills. The rooms in the Annex are large and the whole establishment is quite quiet. There is a good restaurant with well cooked and presented food and an excellent wine list including some outstanding wines at remarkably low prices from the local Devon Valley Sylvanvale Winery.
Minus points: It's slightly soulless, possibly in part because it caters for tour parties. There are neither fridges nor tissues in the bedrooms. The free wifi is limited to 1 hr and even then it's patchy. [Why do ostensibly high class hotels charge for what is rapidly becoming a universally free provision?]
Overall, it's a very good hotel with plenty to see and do within easy striking distance eg the Stellenbosch vineyard tours or the three local walks of varied lengths for which hotel provides maps - and then charges for the privilege. Sigh! It's things like that that irritate and bring it down from its potentially excellent grading.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear JohnL

Thank you for your review. I really do appreciate your comments as a senior contributor who is so well travelled.

It is a pity we had a the “minor irritations”

The tissues is a stupid mistake on my part and has been resolved.

I am saddened by the fact you felt our hotel is “Soulless”; my team strives to create memorable experiences through service excellence and building relationships with our guests. Although we do accommodate group and tour business, we always want to take special care of our individuals. We always have at least one manager on duty who is responsible for the individuals to ensure they are well looked after. We obviously did not get this right during your stay and will focus more on our individuals going forward.

The Wifi is a real challenge in our Valley. We have 3 sources of Wifi. ADSL and 2 routers (point to point). Both our Routers are supposed to be 4mb. We have a server that keeps the linkage with the strongest source. With regards the charge for wifi of course we are doing our best to keep up with international trends of providing this service for free. In South Africa our service provider’s fees are still relatively high. AT Devon Valley we do provide the first hour free and if you join our Iprefer program for free, one of the many advantages is free wifi during your stay.


Again thank you for the time taken to give a comprehensive review and we hope that you will visit us again when you come back to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Then you will love the bath in this hotel and getting out of it is another experience !!!
The rooms are very clean, large and with beautiful views, one of the best beds out we slept in. The staff and service was excellent with the managers also helping when busy and the best breakfast in SA, also the evening meals where 1st class. The hotel will arrange wine tasting visits for you and they supply their own wine which is very good. Can not comment on the pool as it was in the process of being cleaned and the garden surrounding it was under construction to a new lay out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Philips52

Thank you for your review.

We have recently revised the landscaping around the pool as we value the comments made by our guests and over the past few years we have noted that guests felt the pool was too shaded and not to their satisfaction so we have removed excessive foliage to open up the incredible vistas of the mountains and increased the grassed area to provide a sense of space and additional sunbathing area.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

loved my stay here had wine tasting and the hotel manager was very friendly and helped clear plates with his serving staff. My room was lush and had a veranda and a roll top bath very luxurious. The meals were amazing in the restaurant too and the staff were very friendly it was one of my friends birthdays and they sang to him and gave him a free desert.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear helenglann7

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We only stayed here for one night en-route from Cape Town to Swellendam. We arrived early, but were given a complimentary coffee by the receptionist. We drank on the sun terrace looking at the beautiful vista of Devon Valley vineyards. Our room was soon made ready and we were very pleased with it. The only problem was the shower, a large walk-in area. After the two of us had showered separately, the bathroom floor was flooded. We went to Stellenbosch for a light lunch and found a delightful restaurant called 'The Big Easy', owned by Ernie Els. In the evening, we had an enjoyable dinner in the hotel dining room. Later that evening I had a call from hotel security informing me that I had left the inside light of the car on. Flat battery avoided - thank you. All in all an enjoyable short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear 125Victor

Thank you fro your review. We will certainly look at your rooms drain as it should never flood!

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ion: The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’.ACCOMMODATIONThe Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat.Comprehensive OverviewClassic RoomsThe Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves.Manor HouseThe Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devon Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.