We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spier Hotel to your Saves list
Spier Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We visited the wine estate here and decided to stay after checking out the rooms. We anticipated a very corporate, charmless experience due to the size of the operation, but very pleasantly surprised to find a large, well-designed room with a welcome gas flame fire. We were too tired for the restaurant so ordered room service, which was very prompt and also pretty good value. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant also excellent, with a wide choice and good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We would like to thank you sincerely for posting a review about your recent visit to Spier on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We greatly appreciate your compliments about the size and design of our rooms and the excellent service delivered by our Room Service department.

We look forward to hosting you again at Spier.

Warm regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    249
    82
    22
    10
See reviews for
163
332
9
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
504 helpful votes 504 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Spier used to be in the countryside but there has been so much development in the area it now feels like the suburbs. The grounds are still lovely and once you are in the hotel, if you ignore the sounds of the road and the occasional train, it can still feel rural. The areas of the hotel facing the river and the mountains look out over fields and are quite peaceful. The rooms are huge and pleasant, the fireplace is nice and beds comfortable. The bathroom is large with a nice tub but mine has mould growing on the ceiling. Definately go for an upstairs room or you will hear your neighbour clip-clopping around above you all night. The food was ok but not great but the service staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The resort as a whole feels bit like a winelands amusement park with lots of things to do to distract you from the otherwise rather mediocre country experience. Next time I want to get out of Cape Town I'll go a bit further.

Room Tip: Upstairs as close to the river as possible to get away from road and train and neighbour noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, Guest Relations Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We sincerely thank you for commenting about your visit to Spier on the Trip Advisor. We are particularly pleased at your compliments regarding our grounds, the rural feel of the estate, the natural views, the size and design of our rooms and service excellence. We would be delighted to accommodate you again at the Spier Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at spier. The rooms are huge and the fireplace is a plus. The views over the vineyards are beautiful. We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner and it was excellent! Spier wine tasting is very nice and Moyo had a great dinner! This was a great base for us to explore Stellenbosch wine country.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Many thanks for taking time to post a review of your visit to Spier on the Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to know that you had a fabulous stay at Spier. We appreciate your compliments about the huge size and design of our rooms, the fire place, the beautiful views and an outstanding dinner service.

We look forward to hosting you again at Spier.

Warm regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights. The standard room I stayed in was lovely. Olde style colonial architecture. Very grand and relaxing. Breakfasts and other meals were good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We greatly appreciate your comments about the Spier Hotel on the Trip Advisor. We are particularly pleased to know that you found the rooms lovely and the food very delicious. We would be happy to host you again at the Spier Hotel.

Warm regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We visited Spier in February 2007 (although this site doesn't let you choose to highlight any dates older than Oct 2010)! and found it to be a lovely oasis in the wine region of South Africa. A particular highlight was the cheetah sanctuary and the birds of prey. Loved the Moyo restaurant too - what an experience!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, Guest Relations Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you so much for your review about the Spier Hotel on the Trip Advisor. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay and also found Moyo Restaurant, the Cheetahs and the birds of prey very interesting. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at the Spier.

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Me in Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel near enough ruined our holiday.
We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September and I am not even sure I know where to start with my complaints.

Firstly, there was a massive conference going on at the same time as our stay, so we ended up with no bar to sit it as it was all set up for the conference participants. Then we had to listen to the intense noise they generated all night whilst we tried to enjoy a quiet meal. If I'd wanted to listen to two-bit cabaret, I'd have gone to Benidorm for my holidays. This noise went on until nearly midnight.

We had been recommended the Moyo restaurant, so tried gave it a shot and were disappointed again. The food was cold and the choice limited. If you go, dont bother ordering cocktails, it takes over an hour to get one.

The rooms are dated and in dire need of a refubishment (though the bar and reception areas are nice).

The wine is not good either- suggest you head to Waterford or Rustenberg if you want to do decent wine sampling, and they dont charge you for the priveledge either!

Finally, the service is shocking... we got asked four times during our starter if we were enjoying our meal- give me chance to eat it and then I will be able to tell you. Similarly, bad service at breakfast when our plates where cleared when I still had food in my mouth and in my hand!?! It beggars belief!

Room Tip: Pick somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Many thanks for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you at the Spier hotel. We equally appreciate the time taken to post a review of your experiences. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the poor quality of the food and service during what should have been a fun and memorable visit to Spier. I can fully appreciate your disappointment especially as your expectations of receiving superior quality at our hotel have not been met. I would like to assure you that this is not the general level of quality delivered. At Spier, we take guest complaints very seriously as they offer us a platform to review our services and products and also to establish measures to improve on the concerns of our guests. The following measures have been adopted to avoid a repeat of the issues you have highlighted:
• We would ensure that conference delegates do not impact on the experience of individual guests where possible by allocating a separate venue to them for dinner.
• Measures have also been taken to improve the food quality and service standards are Moyo Restaurant.
• Measures have also been taken to improve the service levels at the hotel restaurant. This includes ongoing staff training and service evaluation.

Once again, many thanks for expressing your views, and for giving us the opportunity to respond to your concerns. We hope that you will grant us another opportunity to host you at Spier.

Kind regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA USA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent one night at the Spier in a standard double room. The room was luxuriously large with a gas fireplace -- a big plus since it was cold out and it was pouring.

The hotel's village concept works well when it's not raining but when it is you either must call for someone to get you in a golf cart and drive you back to the main building (front desk, gift shop, conference center and restaurant) or walk and get soaked.

We gave up waiting for a ride to the restaurant, so after getting soaked, we arrived for dinner and were seated next to a raucous group of 35 conference attendees who were supposed to have had a private function room for their dinner but didn't. It was awful. We asked to be moved to the bar where we had to listen to sports on the TVs but that was quieter than what was going on in the restaurant.

I wish we had had a sunny day at the Spier; perhaps we would have enjoyed it more than we did.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, Guest Relations Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Many thanks for your patronage of our business and for expressing your experiences on Trip Advisor. We sincerely regret the fact that your stay was dented by unavailability of a golf cart to transport you to the restaurant from the room; hence you got soaked by rain. We have established the following measures to avoid a similar occurrence in future.
• We would increase the number of golf carts in circulation during peak business periods.
• Receptionists and Switchboard operators have been trained to make courtesy calls to find out whether guests’ requests have been handled.

Once again we thank you for your review on the Trip Advisor. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you at the Spier Hotel as we shall endeavor to ensure that your stay is memorable.

Warm regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.