We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday find...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmers Kitchen

The Farmers Kitchen
Cnr R44 and Annandale Rd, Mooiberge Farmstall, Stellenbosch 7603, South Africa
(021) 8813444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 181 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Sunday find...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Looking for a nearby easy tasty 'fuss free' breakfast, found even more at The Farmers Kitchen. Lovely morning outside with wonderful attentive service and really fresh tasty breakfast!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zettiberry, Owner at The Farmers Kitchen, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi JDM, thank you so much for taking the time to review our establishment. Glad to hear you enjoyed your morning. We look forward to seeing you again. Warm regards Kelly Zetler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Stopped Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have used this place as a stopping off point between Capetown & Stellenbosch several times..... the area is an eclectic mix..... with a kind of country/wine store where they have some great end of stock bargains as well as good quality vintage bottles.. etc they there is also a new area since our last visit for those that prefer a modern boutique up market bar area with views over the PYO strawberry fields whilst you sip your cold beer or wine. .... but per normal we ate in The Farmers Market part.....I had a lamb shank pie which was to die for & the steak strip wrap was fantastic....not to mention the french fries omg they are too good ! We have always found the staff here very good & very friendly...will drop in again soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zettiberry, Owner at The Farmers Kitchen, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi WishIWasSailing, thank you so much for taking the time to review our establishment. Glad to hear you loved the food especially our hand-cut fries :) We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Warm regards Kelly Zetler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordons Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Something went Wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are regulars at this restaurant, but lately the food is going downhill. Bacon so hard you can hold it up like a stick, toast burned, food cold and to top that service was bad. The second time now that we had breakfast there and realized something is seriously wrong. Gone are the ambience and the good food, several customers returned their food, between a selection of farmer's breakfasts to plates of waffles. Waiters have no ethic or skills, will lean over you to pass coffee to the other person, laid back and not interested in serving. Did speak to the owner, he was very upset and said he would deal with it immediately, but still best to avoid until they fixed the problems.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zettiberry, Owner at The Farmers Kitchen, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi there,

I am sorry to hear about your last experience. We strive to do our very best and provide the best service possible. I do hope you will come back for a meal on the house and give us another try. Unfortunately this situation was not reported directly to me Kelly zetler (the owner), so I am not sure who the problem was reported to. We hope you will visit soon. Warm regards. Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a completely surprise on my visit to Stellenbosch. The place is beautiful with an amazing view. The food - no words to describe the taste, the plate setup and the great service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“French Toast with waffle substitute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The first time back at the farmers kitchen in a while. Kelly is doing a fantastic job, and we wish her all the best on the new extensions to her business.

When I arrived on Saturday, I was greeted with a plethora of smiles and happy people. I asked the waiter what was good and she called Kelly who convinced me to have the french toast with the newly added Belgium waffle's toppings - a substitute I will recommend. To my delight it was a win from the very first mouth full! These guys can cook!

With out a doubt one of the best meals in a long while.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmers Kitchen also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to The Farmers Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmers Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.