We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the journey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delheim Winery Restaurant

Delheim Winery Restaurant
Knorhoek Road | Off the R44, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
21 888 4600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 181 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Worth the journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Delheim winery and restaurant is about 50km from Cape Town and lunch at the restaurant is certainly 'worth the journey'. Make a reservation for an outside table in the garden and enjoy stunning views towards Cape Town and Table Mountain. My biltong salad was superb and their Sauvignon Blanc, chilled and delightfully refreshing. Save room for their red wine ice cream dessert, which is simply wonderful. Service super friendly too. Looking forward to the next time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a pleasant vista with added great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I often travel to the different wine estates and there is no shortage of excellent food on the wine route but I discovered Delheim wines and on visiting the estate I discovered the restaurant. What a pleasant discovery. The location is awesome with Table Mountain in the distance, perfect gardens a the wonderful food. Although a little hidden away, I will go the extra mile overtime just to have a great meal there. A truly wonderful visit. The wine tasting is also well organised with excellent white wines. I also enjoy their Merlot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Service failure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our waiter attempted to remember our selection without making a note, consequently we were offered the wrong dishes and wine choices each time. He was good natured and corrected them each time but it seems an unnecessary e straight step

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Delheim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We celebrated an 80th birthday luncheon at the Delheim restaurant. What a fantastic experience. We had exclusive use of the upstairs patio. Exquisite views and brilliant service. Wilma was a star as far as organizing the event and suggestions. We had our own dedicated waiters, Hilary and Cedric, who were really friendly and efficient and made sure that everyone was well looked after. Thanks to the Delheim team for making it an unforgettable experience for the birthday girl!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Rows upon rows of grapevines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Coming from Cape town, I did not think finding the wineries was an easy task; so I drove to the tourist information in centre town and they were very helpful.
I only visited this winery 'Dilheim" and was not disappointed.
The vineyards where just amazing to see from a distance.
I was lucky that grape was just picked and is being processed. Interesting tour.
Staff are pleasant and helpful. The restaurant is set up nicely. They even served me a little something even though I arrived after the kitchen was closed.
I only did this winery, so I can't compare.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delheim Winery Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Delheim Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delheim Winery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.