We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Masseria

La Masseria
R44 | Between Somerset West and Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 175 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Port Elizabeth
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was a very disappointing evening after having heard excellent reports about this restaurant in it's previous premises. The service was very slow and you are seated on a patio with no atmosphere.We were a big group and came away not having enjoyed the evening's experience at all .I will not be returning nor recommending to others

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiki C, Manager at La Masseria, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Buongiorno! We are so sad to hear your about your bad experience..was it on April 28th 2031, when the review was posted? (Just want to make sure because the restaurant was closed for 5 months of renovations from 7 April to 6 Aug 2013).
We would love to have you back to see us in our " better shape" - the premises have been renovated and our service upped, to welcome back our patrons who have followed us from Stellenbosch to Durbanville and back again, since 1999!
Hope to "wow" you next time xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great, affordable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are after authentic, affordable Italian food, this is the place to go to. On the downside, the cutlery was dirty, and you sit on plastic chairs (epic fail).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Always enjoyed this restaurant in the past but our first visit to the new venue was so disappointing! The food was okay but the service was shocking! We waited about 2 hours for our meal and when we complained to the owner he didn't give a damn! There are other "branches" of this restaurant and I have only had a good experience in the past so this was very unfortunate but my friends and I will not return there!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordons Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Saturday night was a real pleasure in La Masseria. My partner had a seafood linguine, apparently the best he has ever had, with generous amounts of prawn and mussel and a fantastic sauce.

I had a pizza (the last item on the pizza menu) with a delicious crispy thin base, a really good quality mozarella, and home-made sausage, salami and ham as topping. I saw they had vegetarian options too.

The atmosphere was great, with both couples and families with children being accommodated as the acoustics are really good. The building that houses La Masseria is from 1948 and very quaint, definitely worth a visit. The one ladies toilet sports an ancient Chubbs safe - I guess they'd have to take the roof off the house to get that out. La Masseria is a real find with great service and pleasant attitude.

I see they do cooking classes too... perhaps I'll try that out some day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible authentic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

The food was outstanding. The restaurant is part of an authentic Agriturismo farm run by an Italian family. All the pasta is hand made, they produce their own selection of meats, their cheeses are also made on the farm.
This is the real Italian deal. Great cosy atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Masseria also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to La Masseria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Masseria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.