We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longridge Restaurant

Longridge Restaurant
Eikendal Road | off R44 between Somerset West and Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 855 4082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 176 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Fusion, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: GOURMET WITH A VIEWEnjoy fabulous country cuisine inspired by the freshest seasonal produce from our organic kitchen garden. Culinary consultant Marilou Marais and our chef Bruce von Pressentin work closely together to create a culinary journey through each season. Each culinary master piece can be perfectly paired with the elegant wines from the Longridge cellar. The relaxed and informal atmosphere is the perfect showcase for the incredible panoramic views sweeping over False Bay with glorious sunsets over Table Mountain.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food,well presented,balanced wines to match,amazing views,a gem of a Restaraunt stuck away on the slopes of the Helderberg,try it out,you will be very surprised.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had lunch at Longridge. The Chilli beef fusion starter was really good...almost too much for a starter..in fact, next time I may ask for that as a main course. The Venison pie was sublime...very light pastry and tender cuts of meat, really tasty. Beer battered Haloumi just doesn't work...the cheese is simply not strong enough to overcome the batter. The pear and chocolate tart for dessert was a little too dry but still pleasant. Overall the food was good but could be better. The wine was outstanding. Staff were attentive and very good and conveyed our observations to the chef.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Visited on recommendation of a very good Chef.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We used to buy wine from this farm before it reinvented it's self as a restaurant as well as a wine farm. We have been to the restaurant twice in the last week. Although they do not have an extensive menu what they produce is excellent. They are open for lunch and dinner and will be a regular stop for us from now on.
On our first visit we were able to enjoy a meal on the Stoep on a beautiful sunny and warm winter's day. Today, there is no doubting that it is winter, however, we were place in front of a log fire on an outstanding rustic, wooden table which must be five metres long and a metre wide. Very comfortable upholstered chairs and very pleasant background music.
Service is excellent and the views over the wine lands, particularly on a sunny day, are stunning.
Their wines are very good, certainly they suite our taste, and they are very well priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exciting food - wonderful for your palate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently visited this restaurant again as a family and enjoyed every minute. I always enjoy going here and the creativity of the chef! Wonderful food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing views and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

2nd Visit here. 1st Visit as a gropa dn had great time. 2nd visit as a couple and hed even better time.


food fresh, tastey and good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longridge Restaurant also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Longridge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longridge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.