We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great winery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dornier Wine Estate

Dornier Wine Estate
Blaauwklippen Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 880 0557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 99 activities in Stellenbosch
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

With great food and very nice wines, this winery is really worth visiting.
The views are stunning and there is a nice kids playground.
It is set up in a small way, allowing one to keep an eye on the kids, while enjoying the wine (what is not possible in every winery).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Free wine with purchase”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our group was quickly seated and served by the attendant, with wines being adequately - if a little perfunctorily - described before choice. A pleasant variety of tasting options was available, with the wines all satisfactory, although none overwhelmingly memorable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We used Dornier as an overnight stay during a recent walking trip in the area. We stayed in the manor house and were the only guests that night. The accommodation is very nice but the ambience we found a little "cold". The estate itself is very attractive and the contrast between the old buildings and the ultra modern winery is interesting. We only learnt on arrival that overnight guests are not offered dinner, and the only meal available was the tappas menue which was offered from 4 to 6pm. Fortunately it was excellent and if you order the platter it comes with a free bottle of wine. We then learnt, for the first time after the evening meal, that the estate does not offer breakfast!! As we had been booked by our agent on a bed and breakfast basis, they made a special plan and produced a very nice breakfast for us. In conclusion, a good place to visit for some wine and tappas, but move on somewhere else if you want a place to stay?

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice chenin blancs - reds a bit underwhelming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband, friends and I enjoyed a tasting here. The young women was polite and pleasant, but certainly not as professional with insight into the winery as some of the other vineyard's staff.
We bought the Cocoa Hill and Dornier chenin blancs so I believe the tasting was free. The grounds are lovely and most interesting is the wine cellar is chilled by an above-ground pool. The winery production structure is contemporary building (looks like an adult and baby fish) set against the ragged mountains behind. I think the restaurant was fully booked and had a some delish sounding daily specials.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Check your bill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Dornier vinyard for a night and had a wine tasting with our dinner on the first evening. The food is great nd when you purchase a bottle of vine you get the vine tasting for freel. Good deal.. so far.
1) We ordered a 2 course menu and the waiter told us that you can top it up with a small crayfish (can't find the english term, but it wasn't a regular sire crayfish for sure) not mentioning at all the redicoulous R200 it would cost per person.

2) Next morning we went to have breakfast and settled the bill afterwards. Surprisingly the breakfast was not included as it was stated on their website. Only after showing them their website they took the breakfast off the bill.

3) The accomodation is not really what we imagined either. One of the rooms had a shared bathroom which we were not told before, no towels in room and a dirty and disgusting toothbrush tumbler on the sink in the room. For that money you expect a lot more.

Don't stay on the vinyard over night and if you decide to have lunch or dinner make sure you check the bill. Friends of us just did the same trip last week and told us they had to correct the bill as well. NOT COOL!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwine123, Owner at Dornier Wine Estate, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Triptrop13
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. You suggest that people must check their bill, but the matter with the breakfast was just a inconsistency between our website and the booking system at the time.
1) We offer our patrons what we call reef and beef. It is a Langoustine (not crayfish) that we add to the beef fillet. Langoustines are not cheap. But we assure you that R100 is a good price for a good size langoustine. I assume that you have not been made aware of this considerable cost of that item, for which I apologise.
2) We have decided to exclude breakfast from the offer as many guests don't want to stay for breakfast and rather explore the region. We prefer not to charge guests for breakfast if they are not going to have it. However, I forgot to make the changes on our website. We made the changes after your visit. We would never try to take advantage of a customer and we accepted our mistake and refunded the breakfast saving you R300.
3) The Homestead has three bathrooms and we will only rent out three bedrooms at a time as we would never expect guests to share a bathroom. Whereas it is correct that one of the bathrooms is not en-suite, no one else will use it as the other rooms will stay unoccupied. The only time the bathroom gets shared is when the additional rooms are used as annex rooms at a much lower rate. The dirty toothbrush tumbler is an unpleasant negligence for which we apologise.
I assume your friends also relied on the information on the website which, as I said, was not up to date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dornier Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Dornier Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dornier Wine Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dornier Wine Estate to your Saves list