We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome on a rainy night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Hoek Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added De Hoek Manor to your Saves list
De Hoek Manor
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7-9 Drostdy Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 106 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A warm welcome on a rainy night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We enjoy visiting the towns around Cape Town. We sleep over for a night, explore the town on foot and hope to find a good local restaurant before heading home the next day. We know Stellenbosch well. I was a student there years ago. I have walked past this house just across the road from the Dutch Reformed Moederkerk which dates from 1722, may times as a student. But on this wet, wintry night we would be guests! We had a hearty welcome from the staff. The house was beautifully and sensitively restored and altered. We had a very friendly reception and were really impressed with our room on the first floor overlooking the church. The room was spacious and warm. We appreciated the complimentary sherry before heading out for our stroll in the rain. The location is really perfect. We could return to the room to freshen up before going out to have dinner. We decided to return with friends in summer. We had an excellent breakfast before our last stroll through the little shops in town before heading home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
66
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very nice guesthouse in Stellenbosch. Management ensured that special need were catered for. Service was quick and efficient. Within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. Being close to the centre of town exit traffic was a bit heavy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

From check in till check out everything was just above and beyond. The rooms were gorgeous, spacious and nothing was too much trouble. My friend arrange a surprise for me and the manager was played along so well in order to keep the surprise. The hotel is situated close to the hub of restaurants and for those looking for a bit of night life. Museums are also near by should you wish to go explore historic sites. Breakfast is casual, but the spread they lay out is enough to fit any taste bud. De Hoek my choice in accommodation when staying in Stellenbosch. Dankie tannie and all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had high expectations before going to De Hoek Manor, which is supposed to "offer luxury accommodation at great value" and "unrivalled hospitality" (according to their website).
My room looked perfect at first, but you have to be in the dark if you want some privacy since most of the windows open to a public pathway. And unfortunately for me there was a very noisy family next door...
Breakfast was a disaster with a colony of ants invading the buffet table. And nobody seemed to care among the staff!
Since the place is quite pricey, this is definitively not luxury accommodation at great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world wide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very comfortable room and bed. Very clean facility. Nicely prepared breakfast. Good location in Stellenbosch-walking distance to restaurants etc. The church bell is evident but adds to the character of the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great place to stay when you want to explore Stellenbosch, no problems with parking and everything in walking distance!
Ilse and Liana gave us good advise where to eat and the restaurants are very close and good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon trip in SA. Staff were really friendly, room was large, high ceilings, and clean. Lots of good restaurants near by, and lots of good wine! Would definitely recommend this place, good value for money compared to other options in the area. The area itself felt fairly safe to walk around at night and the hotel is located quite centrally.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Hoek Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoek Manor

Address: 7-9 Drostdy Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Hoek Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of the university town of Stellenbosch, De Hoek Manor is surrounded by National Heritage buildings and arguably boasts the best address in town. We offer luxury accommodation at great value and pride ourselves in our unrivalled hospitality and friendly yet discreet service. De Hoek Manor consists of five luxurious en-suite bedrooms, two conference venues, large verandas and two private courtyards. Our stylishly decorated bedrooms feature views over the oaks, mountains and Stellenbosch's most iconic landmark, the Dutch Reformed 'Moederkerk' ('Mother Church'). Cafes, restaurants, cinemas, designer boutiques, museums, curio shops, the Eerste River, Stellenbosch University and Boland College are all within easy walking distance. De Hoek Manor is the ideal base for tourists and corporate executives to enjoy and experience the captivating beauty of Stellenbosch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your De Hoek Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Hoek Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.