We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 5 Ryneveld

5 Ryneveld
5 Ryneveld Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 176 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Definitely not listed under Stellenbosch yet...
Stellenbosch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Unexpectedly ended up having dinner. Food is always good and service is even better. Very good value for money!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    45
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the place to go when you want good value for money in Stellenbosch! You know you will get good food in a relaxed atmosphere. Sometimes even see some famous people!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Cool vibe, tasty no frills food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ate here once and also returned for drinks on a couple of occasions. Really cool vibe. The restaurant is set up like someones house with each room themed accordingly.

We ate in the library. Our server was charming and friendly but ultimately absent minded. We ordered a platter to share for appetizer and a burger each for main.

After a longish wait the burgers came out first and upon seeing the puzzled look on our faces it dawned on our server that he had forgotten about our starter to share.

These things happen and I guess it saved us a few Rand and a few calories. That unfortunate episode aside, the burgers were tasty and well presented as was desert.

I'd go back because if the unusual setting and because the thought of that sharing platter has stayed with me and I'd like to actually try it :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

5 Ryneveld is the place to be for a good burger. They have some great varieties and they are served with ok chunky chips (I'm Belgian and have very high standards for chips) and nice condiments. The décor is not that special nor is the service that great, but it is situated in one of the prettiest streets in Stellenbosch, so an outside table solves the first problem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Stellenbosch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We went there in the spur of the moment. The decor, menus, crockery and the like are in desperate need of a make over, but the burgers are yummy... Really delicious.

It is served with chunky potato chips and the condiments are fresh and well presented.

The service was good and friendly.

Go here for the food not the decor and you will not be dissapointed.


Have the mexican burger.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 Ryneveld also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to 5 Ryneveld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5 Ryneveld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.