We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a royal stay in the Cape wine region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa to your Saves list
Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R310, Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for a royal stay in the Cape wine region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed for four nights (perfect length of stay to enjoy the wine region and to relax in your room/by the pool) in December in a deluxe lodge. The lodges are big and offer all the amenities you can wish for. The deluxe lodge does not offer views over the wine fields as do the luxury lodges, but considering the big price difference and the fact that you can enjoy the views from the general pool and Delaire restaurant, we would opt for the deluxe lodge again (except for the views they are exactly the same) and spend the money on wines and dinners. The private pool is not too small and is heated so it is not too cold- whilst the general pool, although the viewe are stunning, was not heated and therefore really cold to swim in but luckily there is jacuzzi as well. The bubbly with canapes brought to your room each evening is a wonderful idea. The restaurants are very good as well and they catered really well for my dietary requirements. The warm pastry basket at breakfast, differing each day, was another highlight. The hotel offers a great service and they arranged bikes and picknicks for us at Boschendal and Vergelegen estates, which we both highly recommend. Also make sure you make a booking at the Tasting Room at le Quartier Francais, it was voted best restaurant in Africa and the Middle East in 2011 and for under Eur 200 we had a five course dinner including wine pairing for two persons. The hotel also brought us in touch with a local tour operator who booked a hot air baloon flight for us over the winelands and we were lucky enough to have the right weather conditions to enjoy this. The Delaire Graff hotel is a really luxurious place from which to explore the wine region and relax at the same time and we would have no doubt to book again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    13
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
116
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

As we arrived at Delaire we were enchanted by the magnificent landscaping and architecture as well as the thoughtful and impressive art collection installed in both the public and private areas. Our lodge was beautifully designed with it's own private pool and a view looking out towards the vineyards.

The spa treatments were outstanding and the hotel even managed to arrange a yoga session on very short notice. So it came as something of a shock when breakfast arrived that first morning and the eggs were over salted and the pastries hard as a rock. The homemade granola left a bitter aftertaste.

This unfortunately was not a one off. Our party of ten which contained several younger children arrived first in the dining room at 7pm but by 9pm there was still no sign of the main course for the adults. At this point we simply gave up and went into town for dinner but clearly this was not how we had planned our Christmas eve! Even the pre courses we did receive were unappetising and overly complicated and even worse despite being warned on numerous occasions that our daughter was allergic to nuts the chef sent out one of her dishes with nuts. The harried restaurant manager did notice in time and pulled the dish away before she could eat it.

Delaire Graff has the makings of a great resort but it needs to make two fundamental changes: it needs to replace the chef at indochine with someone of a much higher calibre and it needs to require it's managers to be present. No management other then restaurant managers were present on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day. If none of their managers are prepared to work on the holidays then perhaps they should not take guests on those dates.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Had a truly spectacular stay!
Ordinary weather was unlucky but we barely noticed as we were so well looked after!
The canapes were a fabulous idea and I don't understand why more hotels don't do 'all inclusive' - felt so special!
The view is just breathtaking!

Both restaurants were amazing!
I thought the top restaurant would be less special because it didn't have the view but the food was some of the best I have ever had.

Loved the whole trip and would recommend it in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for canapes in your room on at least one night. feel very vip :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We have just spent two days relaxing in Delaire Graff - our second visit this year. It is a most magical place, one of the most beautiful we have ever stayed in. Sitting on the deck with our complimentary glass of champage and excellent canapes each evening, looking out over the 'Africa meets Tuscany' landscape is one of life's great (spiritual) experiences.

Staying in a Lodge with a view is not a cheap experience, but the levels of comfort and service are absolutely first rate.The front desk staff deserve a special mention for their wonderful helpfulness in all aspects of our stay where nothing was too much trouble for them.

We very much enjoyed dining in the Delaire restaurant - and found that the food and service were much improved since our February visit. Our excellent meal was also very good value, and we loved the 'house' wine. However, there is really room for improvement at breakfast (in Indochine) where service was exceptionally slow. We were not hugley impressed by the lunchtime menu there either. This restaurant does not have the right atmosphere or formula and I wonder if it should be given a fundemental re-think?

Overall, however, a stay at Delaire is undoubtedly one of the great treats in life and I only hope that we will be back before too long.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Overall we were very happy with the staff at reception, the housekeeping and the spa. However when we booked we asked if we could do a wine tour and if we could make a reservation for dinner on the Monday night of the 28th November. This was confirmed. When we arrived at the Wine lounge to start our wine tour, we were told that the cellars were undergoing a clean up. This was a normal routine. I think somebody could have ket us know beforehand. While chatting to the lovely Anita, we mentioned that we had reserved a table for Monday night, which completely surprised her. Which then surprised us as she explained that the restaurant was not open on Mondays. She apologised and all was OK.

I must also mention that the level of service at both restaurants was not great. We had to wait a long time for our food. We compared this with a dining experience at Tokara, where within 15 minutes of having placed our order, we received our food. This was on the Sunday when the restaurant was full. We would have expected better service and this tarnished our experience a bit.

I must compliment you on your staff at reception and the housekeeping staff. Lovely people who really could show your dining staff what service is all about.

Regards

Gary

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The Delaire Graff Estate is a wonderful achievement in design and hospitality......luxury done so simply with great attention to detail and comfort.

Room Tip: It would impossible not to have a great room at Delaire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

What a wonderful experience a night in one of these lodges is. A location to die for. Very well appointed (and provisioned) lodges with a great sense of space, style and comfort. Sitting on the private terrace watching the sun set enjoying a glass of the estate wine is a memorable experience. The hotel also has a great spa, good gym, and beautiful common areas with wonderful art and flowers from the estate to add to the sense of absolute luxury. A real treat.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa

Address: R310, Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Africa's Delaire Graff Estate is situated on the magnificent Helshoogte Mountain Pass linking the Cape's two leading wine districts, Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. Ten unique lodges each boast their own private heated pool, breathtaking views and comforts including LED flat screens TVs, iPads, bluetooth enabled docking station, wireless internet and the finest Egyptian cotton linen. The ten sumptuously decorated lodges are centred around a main lodge comprising of a private cinema, spa and the Asian influenced Indochine Restaurant while Delaire Graff Restaurant offers bistro chic cuisine. Delaire Graff Spa offers personalised luxurious treatments from Swiss Perfection, Aromatherapy Associates & Mamma Mio. For a more energizing experience the spa offers a fully equipped Techno gym and 22 metre heated infinity pool with Jacuzzi. With art personally selected by Laurence Graff and interiors designed by David Collins, the minimal number of lodges, paired with the extensive facilities offered to guests, Delaire Graff Lodges & Spa is designed to create the ultimate sense of luxury for the most discerning of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delaire Graff Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.