We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Coopmanhuis hotel is situated in one of the classic buildings of Stellenbosch. If you go there with your GPS, be aware that the address is listed as Church Street on their website, but our Garmin GPS listed it by its Afrikaans naam Kerkstraat. Moreover, getting there can be a bit tricky as the direction of the numerous one-way streets in the heart of Stellenbosch was shown by our GPS exactly opposite to what they actually are. Church Street/Kerkstraat is one of the main smaller tourist roads with several restaurants, galleries and gift shops. On street parking is limited and metered, and using valet parking is the best option when coming by car.
While the building is old, major attemps were made to bring the rooms to modern standards. However, in some cases (including our room) you may need to climb one flight of steep stairs to get to your room. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was huge. The breakfast buffet has plenty of options. The in-house restaurant (reservations can be required) was good, and the staff very friendly.
All in all a good base for exploring the Stellenbosch/Franschhoek area, if you like the charm of historic places.

Room Tip: If you have walking problems are at least do not well on steep staircases, ask for a room on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear tmk010,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

Would you be so kind as to post a review on our Helena’s Restaurant page as well?

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    54
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
154
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I had. Just arrived in the country and this was my first stop. Close to the airport in Capetown. Best service in my life. Charm galore. Well appointed room with large bathroom. They inundated me with kindness during my stay. Ran out to park my car. Ran out with an umbrella. Great breakfast, hot and buffet. They explained new foods to me. Quiet, clean, and in the center of old town. Love it. I am taking a circuitous route around country and will return several times.

Room Tip: Beats me. Mine was charming and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Garyarizona,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

Would you be so kind as to post a review on our Helena’s Restaurant page as well?

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My partner, Mary, and I decided to splurge on this trip, our first to South Africa, by finding and booking this lovely boutique hotel "on line." We loved what we saw at the hotel web site and we were not at all disappointed from the moment we walked in on Friday June 20th until we departed on Tuesday June 24th. Wonder, the doorman and general concierge, and Ilzebet, the General Manager, made Mary and I feel warm and welcome as if this was our home when we entered. Ilzebet even up-graded us during our check-in to a larger bedroom with a balcony, overlooking the swimming pool, for which we were very grateful. Although our stay was during the winter or "cold season," we had stunning, sunny weather with glorious blue skies for the entire time of our stay in this well-placed boutique hotel in the heart of Stellenbosch. The heated floor in the bathroom was especially appreciated by Mary and I when we would wake early in the morning to bathe and get ready for our day of wine touring in the Stellenbosch area. The bed mattress was firm and comfortable. the balcony was an ideal place to enjoy a "sun-downer" before heading out for dinner. All restauarnats were within easy walking distance from this charming boutique hotel. Breakfasts were a feast with every possible dish one could want all available either on the buffet table or through ordering off the menu with the very polite and efficient staff. A special touch is the table between the bar and the kitchen which always has cold water - with gas or without gas - for a quick drink during the day when going in or out of the hotel. The lobby area also has a comfortable and cozy living area with a fireplace where one can wait quietly for a taxi to the airport, as we did on our last day there. The Wifi internet service in this wonderful hotel was faster and better than anything we had had in our hotel in Cape Town, so that was also very pleasing to us, enabling us to send photos from our wine tours back home to the USA to our children, families and friends. we highly recommend staying here for the warm, friendly, charming staff, the quiet ambience, the delicious and filling breakfasts, the very carefully decorated and well done bedroom and bath in the rooms and the total package one gets when staying here for several nights, as we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool so you are in the back, the quiet side of this wonderfully pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear TomTerrific51,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The Coopmanhuijs is in a great position right in the centre of town. The bedroom was well equipped as was the bathroom. Good quality bed, bed-linen, carpet and towels.

Heated bathroom floor was especially good as it was cool enough while we there. Not huge rooms by Australian standards, but still big enough for a travelling couple with large suitcases.

Light sleepers may have a problem as external noise, filtering through the walls and ceiling, left us in no doubt that the rooms beside and above us were occupied. However, everything seemed to settle down by 10 pm and we were not greatly inconvenienced.

The in-house restaurant, Helena's, provided good quality meals, but with a limited menu for lunch and dinner. The acoustics were vey good and the tables well spaced. One minor complaint being low and uncomfortable chairs which did not match the table height very well at all.

The front desk and restaurant staff were friendly and very attentive and went out of their way to make sure we did not lack anything during our stay. We stayed at the Coopmanhuijs for five days and thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is not my first visit to this charming hotel, nor will it be my last! We spent a night on business and as always, the greeting by the staff made you feel right at home. The car was parked, the bags weer carried and we were shown our room. The great comfortable bed was covered in crisp linen and a generous bathroom with fluffy towels completed the picture.
Breakfast was a good spread and I although did have an issue, prompt attention by the owner resolved the issue to my satisfaction.
A really lovely way to spend time in the beautiful town, right in the heart of it all. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level are much quieter, although I have not had a bad room so far! Wifi is free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear ShanevanJ,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Perfectly located in central Stellenbosch, this beautiful and comfortable hotel has excellent staff who offer high quality personal service and make your stay easy. My room was impeccably clean, tastefully furnished with high quality complimentary toiletries and decent sized towels. The bed was great with pillows that added to the comfort and curtains that blacked out the room completely. So after a great night's sleep, I was further pleased by the high quality of the breakfast - I tried the Eggs Benedict and next day the Full English - perfectly cooked and well seasoned, a stark contrast to the identikit buffets that you usually get on business travel.
One small negative, the room that I had (number 14) shared a wall with the dining area, so was a little noisy after 7am, but it didn't detract from an otherwise fine hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a balcony, which is perfect for evening relaxing. Avoid room 14 unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Owner at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Ainsley W,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and sparkling clean. The staff could not be more helpful and gave us recommendations for everything from pharmacy to art gallery. Our room was (number 2) was quiet and lovely. I highly recommend Coopmanhuijs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear editha64,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a heated pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.