We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan Restaurant

Jordan Restaurant
jordan Wine Estate, Stellenbosch, South Africa
21 881 3612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 175 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: George Jardine from his Cape Town buisness has opened a new restraunt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have followed George's career and he got better with every kitchen he worked in!
He is very creative and his standards are Micheline star equivalent!
We dinned at his new restaurant last month with a big group (a charity dinner)
and everybody was impressed and just loved the food!
Will recommend it to everybody who is driving into the wine lands for an upmarket dinner!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    58
    21
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous location & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had been recommended this restaurant (thanks Nicky!) and were not disappointed. We had a seat in the window overlooking the wonderful views on a glorious day. The food was sublime and my only regret is that I was driving and could only have 1 glass of the excellent wine. The cheese room trip was memorable too! The service was friendly and informative. All in all a lovely way to spend a couple of hours!
Next time maybe someone more friendly will be on duty at the vineyard and we would do a wine tasting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

South Africa has been a culinary mind blower. Now we add Jordan Restaurant at Jordan Winery to the list of flawless dinning and wine experiences. Being from Miami we thought we have great restaurants but here they are better. Jordan's was off the charts with taste, presentation and the service by William was so caring. Then add in the super special view and you have a place that we will never forget. This is a must experience place.

Well at least we have Joes Stone Crabs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

As regular visitors from the UK we have had some very good experiences in the Western cape wine district over the years and Jordan more than compares with the best. Top notch food served by attentive staff in a delightful setting - it was a pity that I couldn't savour too much wine as the nominated driver.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

On our last day in SA we decided to stop at Jordan's for lunch. It was absolutely delightful. Especially the entree dish of mussels was very nice. As mains we chose beef and lamb. These were also prepared very good. For dessert...just make a trip to the cheese room combine this with a port. You will have no regrets.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Jordan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.