We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and friendly people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrique

Barrique
R310 at Vredenheim Estate | On Vredenheim Estate, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 881 3001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 176 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant Barrique opened at Vredenheim in 1998 and is an oasis of traditional cuisine in the heart of the Stellenbosch winelands. This venue is ideal for enjoying our a la carte menu in a Historic Cape Dutch setting surrounded by the Helderberg Mountains. We also specialise in small functions, wedding ceremonies and wedding receptions in the Cellar venue. En-route you will see zebra, gems buck, ostriches and also the pizza chimney smoke lazily above the trees, before you get to the rustic eatery with its indoor "rietdak". This is a friendly, family affair especially on Sundays with families enjoying our food and gardens.
Melkbosstrand, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Delicious food and friendly people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are having our wedding here in April next year and we couldn't be more excited!! The food is delicious- pizza, salad, oxtail, pork neck..even the little garlic rolls they give you before your meal is just amazing. Accompanied with very friendly owners and staff, and a lovely warm atmosphere, this place is a winner! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Oxtail Fantastic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

You enjoy Oxtail ? Then this is your place. Easily the best and the most consistant. Go hungary because these are man size portions. Not of course the only item on the menu but in my opinion just the best. Lots of other good choices but I always go back to the Oxtail. My wife chooses many different items all good. You also have the great pleasure of driving through paddocks of wild game enroute.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I were driving along the R310 and decided to explore Vredenheim Estate. We were starving and decided to try out Barrique as their menu seemed appealing to all our senses including our tummies. When we entered, we were really surprised as it felt like we stepped into a Moroccan meets South African cosy restaurant. Anyways the décor itself is amazing and I can go on and on about it, but more importantly the food was DELICIOUS!!!! We started off with sharing deep fried calamari strips and it was the most tender and perfectly spiced calamari I have ever eaten.

My boyfriend had an Italian rump, which they grill in olive oil and rosemary, which hands down would beat any steak house in the country. I had the line fish, which is also grilled in the pizza oven, so it becomes crispy on the outside and lovely and moist on the inside. Yummy! We finished off with sharing a mudcake pie, which has a gooey chocolate inside that oozes out when you cut into it, I will definitely have one or two of those little chocolate bombs again.

Overall, service was fantastic, food Awesome and this is definitely our little gem that we will keep close to our hearts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner at Barrique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Excellent food, excellent ambiance, good service. Had oxtail and their special pork belly combo. They even serve traditional dishes like Bobotie. :-)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mouth-watering & amazing value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Warm and charming atmosphere, lovely hosts and mouth-watering food. You can expect things like Oxtail and Bobotie on the menu. Or delicious rump made Italian style (roasted in the pizza oven with olive oil and rosemary) and roast lamb with pork belly. All meals very reasonably priced.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrique also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Barrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.