We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Place

Save Saved
You added Magnolia Place to your Saves list
Magnolia Place
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnolia Place
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Culemborg crescent | de Boord, Stellenbosch 7612, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 101 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Perugia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great quiet place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We did not know what to expect, but we had a nice surprise. A big, clean room with a shared kitchen in a nice house in a silent area of Stellenbosch. The owner was very nice and available. Great value for our money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
22
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Good location and spacious, comfortable room. It was a bit noisy with the breakfast area right outside my bedroom door but I was up early so it wasn't a huge issue. It is good value for money but I probably wouldn't stay more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Magnolia Place is a simple, but very nice guesthouse in a quiet neighborhood of Stellenbosch. Very helpful and hospitabel hosts. The rooms are quiet warm and a little bit old-fashioned, but the value for money is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We booked a room at Magnolia Place as we needed a place to spend the night after a wedding at a Wine Estate outside Stellenbosch. Magnolia Place is essentially a huge house with all the rooms adapted to be hired out. Coffee areas, fridges and some of the bathrooms are located in communal areas (our bathroom was in our room though). This is good clean accommodation and is very suitable to spend a night. I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic week away, but as a place to rest your head it is perfect. It is also extremely affordable so gives good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We spent two nights at Magnolia Place and it was what we hoped for, in all but one category: Very friendly and helpful staff, situated at walking distance from 'dorp street', a spaceous room with a classicly themed but still new-looking interior, comfortable beds (best beds of our trip, actually), overall very clean and the breakfast was cozy, made to order and served as a good time to talk to the staff for local information and directions.

Unfortunately during both nights the owner's dog started barking at the gates very early in the morning (somewhere between 3 and 5), which defeated the main purpose of our stay - a good night's rest. This was all probably just coincidental, so you should be fine on your next visit to Stellenbosch. I would definitely book a room at Magnolia's again next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely apartments in lush surroundings. Definitely the best place to stay in Stellenbosch. Very quiet and peaceful. Queen size very comfortable beds. Kitchen is well equipped. We stayed only 2nights as they were sold out, otherwise we could have stayed here and driven to capetown every day...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The accommodation at Magnolia Place was excellent. The location was perfect and the room we stayed in was very clean and really spacious.
I would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a 5 star stay in Stellenbosch

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnolia Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Place

Address: 11 Culemborg crescent | de Boord, Stellenbosch 7612, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Place 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Magnolia Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.